We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Earplugs supplied, for a reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Earplugs supplied, for a reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed at the Heathman for 4 nights in April. It's a lovely old hotel and my business partner was impressed I had booked the place and got the rate I did.

The lobby is intimate and check-in was fast. Despite it being an older building I rarely waited long for an elevator in the lobby or on my floor.

The rooms are nice, well appointed and comfy. They are not big by any description, but not "fall on the bed as soon as you walk in" small.

I liked the bar and happy hour food and beer prices, and they have one of the nicest restaurants in the downtown area. Breakfast was great one morning, though I have my doubts the smoked salmon hash was really smoked salmon. Think it was just salmon.

All in all, very, very nice. But ...

The supplied earplugs are for a reason. The walls are very thin, made worse by those cursed adjoining room doors. I could make out even a normal conversation when people moved in next to me. Thankfully they weren't a touring Motley Crue tribute band. Why do hotels not, at least, ensure those doors are soundproofed and bottom gaps filled?

I was in 514, middle of the floorplate, facing the street. WiFi was TERRIBLE. Consistently terrible and of no use. I had to go down the hall to the elevator lobby to get coverage. The staff reset the routers on the floor but that made no difference. It's free, which is great, but in this case you get what you are not paying for. Wifi was fine in the lobby and restaurant/bar.

I did not use valet parking because it was not at all clear how that would shake out. The front door is at a corner on one of downtown's busiest streets and there was usually a car or two there. Where would you stop to get valet'd?

There is secure public parking across the street, but they nail your budget butt even for parking after six and leaving before 8 the next morning.

Room Tip: Don't count on wifi working for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Canuck169,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. It is always wonderful to hear such great comments about the Restaurant. I am sorry to hear that some of our services feel short of expectations but we are appreciative of your perspective. Being a centrally located, downtown Hotel, we do experience some added noise. I apologize that your time spent with us was a disrupted one. We would look forward to welcoming you back and giving you a tour of some different room types, so that we can find the one that suits best. Additionally, if we have the pleasure of welcoming you back, we would be happy to help with our valet services. That is one busy corner to manage, but our front door staff is great at welcoming you in and assisting with your automobile. Thank you for bringing this review to our attention, if you plan to come back to the Heathman please feel free to contact me personally – I would welcome the chance to personally ensure your stay is perfect.

Sincerely,
Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,944 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    454
    184
    80
    36
See reviews for
323
815
108
450
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD and NYC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

The staff are fantastic and go out of their way to be helpful. The hotel is historic and charming. Wifi is free (and appreciated). Their is live jazz some nights. We ate room service which was restaurant food and delicious: a new menu arrives under your door daily.
There is valet overnight parking for $29 but apparently a garage nearby is $15/night (or so). They were upfront about it.
Location is walkable to many great restaurants and it is next to a performing arts theater.

Only drawback is smaller rooms, great for couples, less great for couples with a toddler. The bathroom is tiny. It's just that it has the bones of an older hotel but otherwise very clean and updated. That is the only reason it's 4 instead of 5 stars. If it was just us as a couple it gets 5 stars because of the ambiance, location and superb service from valet to the restaurant to the front desk staff. They also are kind enough to check in your car seat so it doesn't take up space in the hotel room which helped.
One note was our room wasn't cleaned by 4pm one day after a long day out. That seems like a staffing issue but may have just been on the one day. Maybe a no show or they are chronically understaffed but it was the only day that happened.
Great place if you are a planning a trip to Portland. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: You could ask if any rooms have larger bathrooms. It was tight for two people trying to get ready.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlennBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear GlennBaltimore,

I am so happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us! We appreciate your kind reviews and point of view. We take pride in providing top class service and it is always so nice to see that reflected in our guest reviews.
The Heathman is a unique historic property and we strive to evoke the era that the hotel was created, as we are one of the few remaining properties in Portland from this time. As you noted, a few of the bathroom sizes are a bit smaller than their modern equivalents. We would look forward to welcoming you back and giving you a tour of some different room types, so that we can find the one that suits best. Thank you for bringing this review to our attention, if you plan to come back to the Heathman please feel free to contact me personally – I would welcome the chance to personally ensure your stay is perfect.

Sincerely,
Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Downtown Portland is beautiful. Great sites to see, shops, restaurants. parks etc. The Heathman Hotel is so classy and beautiful. The suites are breath taking and ellegant, very comfortable beds. We can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Angela A,

I am so happy to hear that you had such a lovely stay with us! We appreciate your kind reviews and point of view. We take pride in providing top class service and it is always so nice to see that reflected in our guest reviews. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review – we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Sincerely,
Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

The good news is that this is a well located, solid hotel with a great staff, wonderful restaurant and good beds. The bad news is that the rooms were redecorated in a kind of dark, drab furniture that is disconcerting. The amenities are mostly very good, but the basic internet connection provided for free is very, very slow. The fitness facility is extremely basic lacking mats and heavier weights; for a modest $10 guests may go to the Hilton across the street.

The restaurant is terrific in terms of food though the decor is uninspired. The wait staff in the restaurant was wonderful.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a king suite on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your review following your stay with us. It is always wonderful to hear such great comments about the staff, both at the Hotel and in the Restaurant. I am sorry to hear that some of our services fell short of expectations but we appreciate your perspective. Our design and eclectic furnishings throughout each guest room and the public spaces detail a variety of genres. With that said every space is different and we apologize that your room was not quite to your taste. We would look forward to welcoming you back and giving you a tour of some different room types, so that we can find the one that suits best. When you come back to the Heathman please feel free to contact me – I would welcome the chance to personally ensure your stay is perfect.

Best,

Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I had booked my weekended with The Nines orginally for my Bday weekend. I called the NInes to see if I could upgrade and they were overbooked and rude. In tears I called the Heathman and explained I needed an upscale place for my birthday and how terrible I was treated by the Nines. The Heathman was exceptional. The conceierge emailed my twice before I even got there to assure me everything would be taken care of-eventhough I booked within 24 hours!
I was greated by Andre the bellman who was a breath of fresh air, fun and even told us places to go out. Kirsten at the front desk was an angel! Making sure we had an extra bed, joking with us and even carried our bags. Each day I would look for Kirsten and Andre as they treated us like VIP Guests. I will be coming back to this hotel when I visit Portland as that was the best service I have ever recieved from a hotel and I am an event planner and have stayed in thousands of hotels! I had a terific bday weekend and it was all because of the service provided by Kirsten and Andre.Thank you both of you for making my birthday weekend mermorable and perfect. You make the Heathman an upskale hotel! XOXO

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Kelli J,

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Our front door and personal concierge staff are always eager to assist, and I am so glad you experienced some of their fine service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you have further Birthday celebrations here at The Heathman. Thank you again for submitting this review and glad we helped make your weekend away one not to forget!

Sincerely,
Krissy S.
Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Sure, I could have banked 5000 points at the place across the street, but when you have an opportunity to stay in a beautiful historic hotel like the Heathman, you just have to do it.
Outstanding locaion right downtown.

There is nothing that the chains do better than the Heathman. Super freindly attentive staff, outstanding decor, and the amenities you need. FREE internet, clean comfortable room (with the option to choose the type of bed you want...too cool). I didn't use them, but there is a fitness center, restaraunt and business center. I did take advantage of the free wine tasting in the library....nice touch.

The one thing I feared about staying in a 1920's hotel is noise, but turned out to be a non issue because they have sealed the original windows behind a set of modern windows. I can barely hear the street as I sit here on the 8th floor.

I paid the same rate that I was quoted across the street BUT...the Heathman included Valet Parking. That was at least a $30 savings.

Love it. Will stay again when I come back to Portland.

Room Tip: ask for a rate that includes Valet Parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R&G-Opine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear R&G-Opine,

I am so happy to hear you had such a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. Hopefully next time you stay with us you can try our restaurant. It is one of the best in the city. It is nice to hear how much you enjoyed the staff and the "art of sleep" menu. We do take great pride in providing the best service and it is nice to see you are enjoying it. Also, we do partner with some major airlines; in fact currently we are running a promotion for double airline mileage if you book a qualifying rate.
We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Best Regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

My partner and I were forced from our home overnight due to a remodel project and decided to stay downtown at The Heathman. Wow! From the minute we checked in till we left, everyone said hello and was genuinely friendly. We truly felt like guests in our own city. The room was comfortable and the bed...amazing. We had a pre-dinner drink by the fire while the jazz musician set up. Then dinner at the restuarant was excellent as usual. I can always count on the Sweetbreads!
Staying at the Heathman was a great idea, we got to walk around the city after dinner and see it as a tourist. It is close to everything and you get a real sense of the vibrancy of Portland.
Our kudos to the Heathman team, if we had to stay another night due to the remodel, well, it might be worth it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhmpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Dear jhmpdx,

I am so glad you chose The Heathman Hotel as your home away from home during your remodel project. It is nice to hear that you had such a great time and got to enjoy the city in a new way. We do have a fantastic city and having a staycation is a great way to explore the city while getting pampered. I hope the remodel project went well and you are settled back into your home. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Warm Regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#18 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing