We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LIKE THIS PLACE - again”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wyoming
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I LIKE THIS PLACE - again”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here last year and decided to stay again - and it was still great. I have read a few bad reviews and sometimes things just don't work out the way you want when traveling. And sure the Heathman has a few warts (like some rooms only have a view of some kind of wild looking dragon mural painted on the building next door), but on balance I think the Heathman is GREAT!

Comfortable, well appointed rooms. Prompt and pleasant staff. Great location. Great restaurant. And I think a good value.

I don't give out many 5 stars, but the Heathman deserves this one.

Cheue`

Room Tip: Nonstreet side doesn't have much of a view, but they are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheue444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Cheue,

Many thanks for your great review. It is wonderful to read feedback from our guests; we really appreciate your support and kind words. The Heathman prides itself on being unique boutique and your comments represented that wonderfully! We hope that you continue to make the Heathman a favorite destination while in Portland. We look very forward to welcoming you back and would be pleased to help you with your reservations and/or planning your trip. Feel free to contact us directly the next time you are coming to Portland!

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,208
    465
    189
    83
    36
See reviews for
330
823
110
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Great location. Perfect for a night at the concert hall, or a business trip. Very clean hotel.

Bed was adequate. Plenty of pillows, clean sheets. Pet friendly, although this was a business trip, so I didn't bring a pet.

Service was excellent. Restaurant and lounge areas were accessible and cozy.

Internet was slow. Acceptable for checking email, not fast enough for web surfing, definitely not for streaming.

Bathroom was small, but had plenty of luxury amenities such as quality soaps, lotion, vanity mirror.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Shane R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear you had some issues with your internet connection. We are working on a project to enhance our internet services as we speak. We realize that having a highly functioning internet service is as essential as having hot water in a hotel. On your next visit you should see an improvement in this area.

Kind regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa,OK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The Heathman Hotel was pretty much wonderful in every way. Perfect location, downtown but quiet. The service was so efficient, I phoned for more hangers and they were delivered in probably 3 minutes. Everyone was so friendy and helpful.The restaurant was excellent, including pleasant sidewalk tables.Would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoginiok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Yoginiok,

It is great to hear you got to enjoy a meal outside on the sidewalk patio and enjoyed the service. It is such a wonderful time of year in Portland. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portland.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro,North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

I have stayed at the Heathman quite a few times, most recently in July, 2012. There is simply nothing about the hotel itself or its quality service to complain about. Higher rooms, restaurant, bar - all are among the best you will find. Service is outstanding. Everything inside is first rate, and it is clear staff is proud of working there.
One warning which it pains me to make: The Heathman is very well located in central Portland and therefore suffers in some lower or front rooms from both traffic noise and in particular from early morning trash-truck pickup. This is the blight of big cities everywhere, no less in beautiful Portland.
This last stay my wife and I were given room 405, which is on the front corner of two busy streets and apparently the site of a symphony of trash trucks much of the night plus heavy traffic and siren noise. When I complained the next morning, staff could not have been more responsive in moving us to a higher room despite the hotel being almost full. I had previously stayed in higher rooms at the back of the hotel and had no such problem. So it would be wise to ask for a higher room and to the back of the hotel when making reservations.
I like the Heathman Hotel so much it bothers me to even mention the above problem, and you are not going to escape urban noise blight even in the other centrally located hotels in this or any other big city.
The Heathman is a suburb hotel in the old-style, grand manner and I with only that warning I can highly recommend it. You may find me in the library, enjoying a Martini and enjoying the most civil qualities the Heathman Hotel offers.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room at the back of the hotel as traffic noise, especially on trash--pickup days, can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank card
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Dear Card,

Thank you for providing your comments. I am sorry to hear you had any issues with noise. We do work on a regular basis with the sanitation service to get the pick ups done a little later in the mornings. I will have to revisit this and ensure that it is an acceptable time for our guests. I am happy that you found a room that worked for you and that you had a good stay and enjoyed our fabulous library. We will see you soon.

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I booked this hotel mostly because of its library and Books by your Bedside package. I loved the idea of maybe sleeping in the same bed as Kurt Vonnegut or another famous author! The service at the hotel was great: the staff were friendly and would stop for a chat in the hall or in the lobby. I was staying by myself, so I appreciated this friendliness. The hotel is pricey, so you aren't really getting the good service for free. The room was also smaller than I expected and the bathroom was tiny. I couldn't take a shower with the bathroom door open it was so small. I also didn't have any room around the sink to leave toiletries.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuthbert-the-cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Cuthbert-the-cat,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that the unique nature of the Heathman is attracting guests that really appreciate our special amenities and services. I hope that you were able to get up to our Library open house and have a glass of wine with our Librarian – if you weren’t able, we would love to welcome you back. We could also assist you with reservations and assure that we reserve a room for you that fits your needs, and budget, perfect. Feel free to contact us directly if your plans do bring you back to Portland. Again, thank you for the lovely review.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel is great - great service, great room, great restaurant, great location!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMTI1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear DMTI1988,

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time in Portland and at The Heathman – we’d look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

An early evening drive in horrible Portland traffic; we round the corner to the Heathman! We are greeted by a gentleman who gladly took our bags then proceeded to park our car! Checking in was very convenient with the desk person taking us directly to our room! Plush robes, huge bathrooms, comfortable beds and every detail a FINE hotel should have! Nothing missed here right down to ear plugs and eye shades. Wine hour was crazy busy; ran out of glassware! Dinner in the restaurant was fabulous! Great sweetbreads and pork cheeks! Service was a little slow! A late night cocktail in the bar was super! This was a true treat for us! Loved every minute, felt very spoiled! Thank you Heathman! Superb service in every way!

Room Tip: Symphony suite is a treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonChurchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear ShannonMichelle,

Your words are welcomed warmly here at the Heathman – we love to hear reviews like this! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and experience. We apologize that service was a bit slow in the restaurant and that we ran out of wine glasses during the Library event – it seems the busy season just keeps getting busier – we appreciate your understanding. Let us know next time you swing down to Portland, we’d look forward to helping you book another lovely stay here at the Heathman!

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing