We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality rooms and amenities, disappointed in customer service.”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality rooms and amenities, disappointed in customer service.”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We went to Portland for a special occasion and called The Heathman - and spoke with Conley Phelps (a concierge at the hotel) who helped us select rooms and assured us of a good stay. When we checked in, each of our rooms was handed an envelope indicating that we would be receiving complimentary continental breakfast each day of our stay. We are members of IPrefer and IPrefer members get upgrades based on availability. When we spoke with the hotel upon making reservations, we indicated that we booked just the rooms we were hoping for and wouldn't need an upgrade. We didn't know that breakfast would be included, but we thought perhaps that was offered in place of the room upgrade. In any event, we made it a point of eating breakfast at the hotel every morning since we had the complimentary breakfast. We asked the front desk if we could order a full breakfast from their menu, and they indicated that we could and we would receive a credit based on the cost of the continental breakfast (I.e. partial credit). They said that the credit would be posted to the final bill upon checkout. We saw our final bill and didn't think the breakfast credit had been deducted, but the checkout lady said they had - so we left it at that. Upon returning home, we checked each of our breakfast tabs and found that nothing had, in fact, been deducted. We called hotel and they promised to issue the credits. The hotel did issue some of the credits, but in the end, they had still not issued over $100.00 of the credits. We have called the hotel numerous times and each time they assure us that it will be taken care of. The final time we called, they promised the manager would look into it and call us back. When they did call back, they indicated they would not issue any more credit because we were never supposed to get the free breakfast in the first place. A quality establishment would not give you a letter indicating you will receive free breakfast, then later say, "We won't actually give you those free breakfasts because you weren't supposed to get them in the first place." If they made a mistake in offering it, and we ate breakfast there EACH morning relying on that offer, a quality hotel would FULLY honor it because the mistake was theirs in letting us know that we had a promotion and then failing to fully honor it. We certainly would not return if we make a subsequent trip to Portland. Conley, who had arranged everything for us, was no longer working at The Heathman when we arrived. So if it was her intent to offer us the free breakfasts, the word must not have gotten passed on to whoever took over her position with the hotel.

Regarding the hotel, the rooms were well furnished and they had high quality shampoos and conditioners. They provide freshly roasted coffee in the morning - which was very good. If it were not for our poor experience with their customer service, we would have been happy to stay there again in the future.

Room Tip: High floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SSJ83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear SSJ83,
I am sorry to hear about the issues you had with the breakfast credits. I would love the chance to discuss this matter with you further. Please contact me at your earliest convenience and I am sure we can get this resolved right away.
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. I am happy to hear that you did enjoy the hotel and your guest room; I am sorry this misunderstanding with the credits overshadowed the rest of your stay. I hope to hear from you soon.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
503-241-4100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    460
    188
    83
    36
See reviews for
330
821
110
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

The Heathman is one of my usual hotels in Portland. The hotel is quaint and has good service. The gym is small, but serviceable. I have always been a bit surprised by the complimentary ear plugs on the night stand. Unfortunately, this stay, I found out why they are handed out. The noise from my neighbors was extremely disruptive (and I am a heavy sleeper).

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank YGlobalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear YGlobalTraveler,
It is great to hear you enjoy the hotel and service so much. I am sorry to hear about the noisy neighbors you had on your last visit. Please feel free to contact the front desk if this occurs on your next stay, we will do our best to ensure that you are able to rest while you are here. We want every guest to leave here well rested. Please contact me if you would like to discuss this matter further. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
Best regards,
Linda Reagan
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
larkspur
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Heathman is all about service and understated style. The rooms are well appointed, the staff is knowledgeable and friendly, and the hotel is convenient to all the major attractions of downtown Portland. Even the wine tasting is a class act. (It's conducted on the mezzanine on weekday afternoons, the wines are good to excellent, and the atmosphere is luxurious.)

The restaurant is excellent, and there's also a good bar menu, if your choice runs to a light pre-theatre dinner. In fact, if part of your trip includes an event at Schnitzer Hall or the Performing Arts Center - they're both right next door - this is the location for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank widelenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Widelenser,
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and restaurant so much. Thank you for taking the time to send your comments. I will be sure and share your feedback with the staff. I hope to see you again next time you visit Portland.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

The Heathman has the perfect location next to the Arlene Schnitzer Concert Hall as well as other downtown Portland museums and shopping. Our room was comfortable (on the smallish size, but hey- this is an historic hotel) and well appointed. The rooms and windows were very well insulated- we didn't hear any hallway or street noise at all. I loved the drapes which blocked out the light so well that I was able to sleep-in in the morning. The Heathman is all about comfort: turn-down service and robes, complimentary bottled water, French-press coffee and L'Occitane bathroom amenities, fabulous beds. The Wi-Fi and TV worked fine. We dined out at a great Japanese restaurant across the street but had breakfast in the hotel the next morning. I suggest the fresh fruit platter which was amazing. All in all, a very positive experience for our anniversary weekend in Portland. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Of all the Portland hotels I've stayed at, this one is the BEST.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong here, but we had a room on the 8th floor facing Broadway and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Marsha E,
First let me say Happy Anniversary, I am so excited that you decided to spend your special occasion with us. Thank you for the kind comments about our hotel. Glad to hear you were able to experience so much of our hotel and Portland. You did mention that your room was a bit small. I wanted to let you know that we have several different room configurations here and many different sizes of rooms. Next time you are coming to Portland, please feel free to contact me and we can discuss room options. I know I can find you one that will be just perfect for your needs. I hope to see you soon.
Warm regards,
Linda Reagan
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The service was top notch. When we arrived, we found that our toilet wasn't flushing and they sent someone up right away to fix it. We had no issues after that. The turndown service was extra nice in providing water bottles for both of us each night. I loved that they had room-darkening drapes. They worked so well I couldn't tell if it was night or day, so it was perfect for taking naps and sleeping in. Everyone was very helpful and you can't beat staying in a place that has a chocolatier in the lobby where you can drink liquid chocolate! Take advantage of the valet service, as it was nearly impossible to find parking close to the hotel.

Green Features: I like the little tips throughout the room on how to help the hotel be environmentally friendly and the separate baskets for trash and recycling in the room.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear AnonymousBean,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We really appreciate the feedback. I am sorry to hear you had an issue when you arrived, but happy to hear it was addressed right away. It sounds like you were able to relax and get pampered a bit. That is our goal for every guest, so I am thrilled to hear about your experience. Oh and yes, the drinking chocolate is heaven. We hope to see you in the near future.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2013

In planning a road trip to Portland with my 10 year old, I could have booked a room at one of the major hotel chains, but I was hoping for something a little more special. The Heathman knows how to do special.

From the initial greeting to the turn down service, everything about our visit was top notch. We stayed in the gorgeous Oregon Symphony Suite - imagine the delight on my son's face when he saw the Murphy bed and robe and slippers just for him - I loved the artwork and the tempur-pedic bed that literally embraced me (note to self for the next mattress purchase).

The service was terrific including recommendations for activities and dining. The only thing I'd change would be more kid-friendly dinner options on the menu. We ended up going out to eat, but did come back for a dessert and live jazz in the lounge. A perfect end to the day.

The Heathman is now my favorite Portland hotel. Can't wait to visit with my husband!

Room Tip: Check out the different mattress options for your bed on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Dear Lisa D,

Thank you for your kind comments. I am so happy that we could be a part of your special weekend. We look forward to having you and your husband as our guest in the near future.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Heathman. The staff members were warm, friendly, and welcoming. The doorman, Dante, let us take a photo with him (great uniforms). Zoe helped us get settled in our room, and Michael referred us to an amazing, very authentic Italian restaurant within walking distance and made our reservation. The staff are clearly proud of the hotel and were eager to share its history with us. We went to the theatre nearby for a musical and then slept well in our very comfortable beds.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear Mishibell,

It sounds like you had a wonderful weekend. I am so glad we could be a part of making that happen. Thank you for taking the time to mention the employees that gave you such great personalized service. I will make sure they see this and commend them for their great service. The employees are truly proud to work here and we are truly proud to have them representing us. We can’t wait to have you as our guest in the near future.

Best wishes,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing