We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you like luxury? The Heathman is for you!”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My 7 year old daughter & I enjoyed an end of summer getaway at The Heathman. It was fabulous - our double queen room was perfectly appointed. Happy hour dining in the lounge was great, and the staff offered off the menu kid friendly options. We loved the live music from 7-9, even though our bedtime was closer to 8:30. Breakfast was great - bunny pancakes & smoked salmon hash. Loaner umbrellas and all around great customer service made us feel special.

When we come back for a visit, I will plan more time for the library & art collection tours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Autumn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,562 - 1,568 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Best place we have ever stayed in Portland. Great old school charm that has been tastefully updated all the while keeping the character. The staff was very welcoming and not stuffy. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable and are actually quiet (even facing Broadway Street). Of course this place has valet parking which is great, but because of their location you might find street parking on the same block.

Then there is the food. You will not go wrong in this white linen establishment, whether breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The food and service quality is very high, and the price reasonable. Also late night dessert or drinks in the jazz room will not disappoint (try the port flight with 10, 20, 30, and 40 year old tawny).

Already booking our next trip here!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BlueC0llar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear BlueC0llar,

Thank you for choosing the Heathman Hotel on your recent visit to Portland. We enjoyed having you and are looking forward to your return. Your comments concerning our property, service and food are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the team. We are delighted that your expectations were exceeded. We hope that you decided to make The Heathman your home away from home!

Thank you

Best Regards,


Jamicia Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at this hotel recently with my wife. It is a fabulous hotel, with everything you would expect of a high quality hotel and more.

On our many trips to USA and beyond, this place would make it into our top 10 with ease

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCMWirral_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The room was not only immaculate, but sparkling with beautiful furniture. The best part was the French press coffee pot and the fabulous tin of ground coffee, including real cream. Enjoyed it as I got dressed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank change101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear change101,

We appreciate your encouraging response concerning your stay with us. It was delightful to have you, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations’, service, and restaurant. The fresh ground coffee from Portland Roasting is one of the amenities that we are proud to offer.

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, we look forward to your next visit.


Sincerely,

Jamicia Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Comfy, upscale, great location. Hotel staff could not have been nicer and were very helpful. Definitely will stay again. Rooms & bathrooms are smallish - it's an old building - but very comfortable and nicely furnished. Breakfast in the dining room was exceptional. This is a well-run hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 wonderful nights in this charming, old hotel. A holdover from a bygone era, The Heathman is a refreshing escape from the more modern "cookie cutter" hotels that we are used to staying in. In fact, the ambiance is reminiscent of some of the small hotels we stayed in in Europe. As befitting of its age, the rooms are somewhat small and the bathroom bordered on being tiny. However, the accommodations were quite comfortable and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room is set up with a French press coffee maker which we used daily to make delicious cups of coffee and the nightly turn down service was a welcome touch. The hotel is centrally located and within walking or streetcar distance to most of the downtown attractions. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Portland!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank xNYcabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear xNYcabby,

Thank you for choosing The Heathman Hotel on your visit to Portland. At the Heathman we proudly embrace our unique character, and historic ambiance. It is wonderful to see that you enjoyed our genre of hotels. On your next visit if you desire to experience a room with more counter space, please contact us directly and we will be glad to make sure you get into a room that will suite your needs. Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it.


Kind Regards,

Jamicia Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The Heathman Hotel is very nice and clean, and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is in a very convenient location close to shopping and restaurants all within walking distance. Hotel service was great and staff is very friendly and helpful. Even though we arrived early our room was ready for check-in, that was a big bonus. The only thing that I wasn't impressed with was the hotel's restaurant. We had dinner one night and breakfast another day and both times the service was lacking and the food served was average and overpriced. Having said that, we also made reservation for afternoon high tea which was excellent and I can highly recommend just for the experience alone. When I made reservations I wish I would have thought about asking for a room with a little more daylight or a view. The suite we had (Symphony) was like a dark dungeon and we had to have lights on all day. Overall it was a great stay and I would stay in the hotel again but would skip the their restaurant and ask for a suite with more daylight/view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with natural daylight/view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 146 in Portland
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 146 in Portland
1,458 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £132 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city’s most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel’s library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA’s coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland’s premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing