We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel and Location”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. Great room and restaurant. Will stay here every time I have business in Portland. The location is perfect, walking distance to everything. The room had everything I needed, including a French press, which blows away those little hotel coffee makers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Keith A ,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a survey, your opinion is greatly appreciated. We are glad that your stay met your standards on all levels. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Jamicia Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    460
    188
    83
    36
See reviews for
330
821
110
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great room, much attention to detail. Staff was immediately ready to make sure my stay was pleasant. Whenever I had an issue they were helpful and responsive. Only wish they had a freezer in the room fridge. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: It seems that each room is designed and laid out a little differently. Communicate your needs upfron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear TreeTraveler1,

Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed having you. It was comforting to hear that you excpetations were exceeded. Thank you for your kind remarks.

We look forward to your next visit.

Jamicia Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at The Heathman many times, and I always get excited as I arrive. It kind of feels like coming home. The welcome is always warm and helpful. I love the spacious well thought out rooms. Some reviews here say the bathrooms are small but I'd say compact, with a nook with a large sink and plenty of counter space, plus a smaller sink near the shower etc. the shower is great, and the Occitane products including vegetable soap are scrumptious. Arriving late and tired, they expedited my room service dinner without me having to ask. And that French press coffee pot with local coffee seals the deal: there's no place like The Heathman.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank annmariehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 26 October 2013

My visit at the Heathman Hotel was an excellant experierence during the fall of 2013. I wish the Hotel was closer to Oklahoma City, OK. The employees were knowledgeable, friendly and willing to assist. The bathroom was too small.


  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This was my second stay at this ideally situated hotel, but this time during a very wet and windy last two days of the wettest September on record. What a perfect place to weather the storm. or anything. My room was beautiful and luxurious but also cozy and restful. It was all impeccably maintained by gracious, friendly and unobtrusive housekeeping staffers, who made me feel even more comfortable, welcome and safe. Everything was plush, inviting and comfortable and very quiet and serene, even in my street facing room. The luxurious bathroom and toiletries added to the overall beautiful ambiance and to a wonderful stay,
as did the french coffee press and fresh ground coffee provided to start my mornings.

The restaurant downstairs is a must. Treat yourself at either breakfast (belgium waffle to die for-- not what you would normally expect!) or dinner. Again, in beautiful surroundings with attentive service -- seated in a banquette by the window where you can appreciate the ambiance inside as well as the outdoor activity in the center of downtown Portland. And if you are going to a concert or symphony, like I did that Monday night of my stay, regardless of the wind and rain, you are right next door! Finding the featured soloist at an adjoining table the next morning at breakfast, just added to my perfect and wonderful two night stay.

Did I mention I can hardly wait to return again and for more than two nights.

Room Tip: King rooms face the front and have best outlooks, so worth the price, even for a solo traveler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

My 7 year old daughter & I enjoyed an end of summer getaway at The Heathman. It was fabulous - our double queen room was perfectly appointed. Happy hour dining in the lounge was great, and the staff offered off the menu kid friendly options. We loved the live music from 7-9, even though our bedtime was closer to 8:30. Breakfast was great - bunny pancakes & smoked salmon hash. Loaner umbrellas and all around great customer service made us feel special.

When we come back for a visit, I will plan more time for the library & art collection tours.

Green Features: Exceptional green program - the temperature settings adjust upon leaving the room. Kudos to The Heathman for establishing themselves as leaders in this aspect of hospitality.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autumn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hood River, OR
Level Contributor
149 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Best place we have ever stayed in Portland. Great old school charm that has been tastefully updated all the while keeping the character. The staff was very welcoming and not stuffy. The rooms are well-appointed and comfortable and are actually quiet (even facing Broadway Street). Of course this place has valet parking which is great, but because of their location you might find street parking on the same block.

Then there is the food. You will not go wrong in this white linen establishment, whether breakfast, lunch, or dinner. The food and service quality is very high, and the price reasonable. Also late night dessert or drinks in the jazz room will not disappoint (try the port flight with 10, 20, 30, and 40 year old tawny).

Already booking our next trip here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BlueC0llar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear BlueC0llar,

Thank you for choosing the Heathman Hotel on your recent visit to Portland. We enjoyed having you and are looking forward to your return. Your comments concerning our property, service and food are greatly appreciated and will be passed on to the team. We are delighted that your expectations were exceeded. We hope that you decided to make The Heathman your home away from home!

Thank you

Best Regards,


Jamicia Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing