We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, as Always”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely, as Always”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The Heathman Hotel in downtown Portland is beautifully situated between three of the major components of the Portland Center for the Performing Arts. It actually has second-level, indoor access to the Schnitzer Concert Hall next door, and is just across the street from two of the smaller performance locations. The hotel is nicely furnished, well-maintained, and luxurious-feeling. Our rooms have always been bright, clean, very comfortable and with nice amenities and views.

Our latest stay, last week, was for the usual reason: We were attending a performance and we live just far enough out of town that a long drive home after a big meal, a bottle of wine, and an enjoyable performance might make an unwise drive.

Once again, the Heathman came through for us. Reasonably priced (for what you get), the only down-side is the valet parking. No complaint about the service, but the $30+ charge for one night seems a little high. Still it IS nice to leave your car at the curb and collect it there again in the morning.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter, but even lower floor rooms have good sound-proofing. Look on their web site for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    478
    196
    83
    38
See reviews for
342
851
115
478
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

This was our second trip to Portland, and our second stay at the Heathman. Both trips were excellent and a large part of that had to do with the Heathman hotel. The room was large and the view was beautiful, with one window looking down SW Broadway and anther window looking down Salmon, at night, with the city lite up, it reminded my wife and I of a view that we loved in Edinburgh. The bed was also very comfortable, with most, if not all, of the rooms there is a choice of the type of pillow top preferred for your bed. The service was also top notch. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, and always a smile to be found. If you are a 'foody', then Portland is for you, and the Heathman restaurant is no slouch in this department. The food was incredible, from the pulled pork biscuits and gravy for breakfast, to the duck breast for dinner; a royal would be more than pleased with a meal at Heathman. In closing, I would like to thank everyone at the Heathman for two great getaways.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the corner rooms, allowing us views down SW Broadway and Salmon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Joshua44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Surprised my husband with a trip to Portland. We've stayed at the Heathman before so I decided to book again, but upgrade to a suite. The room was beautiful and very well appointed. We just love this hotel. From check-in to the balloons and card that were delivered to the room. What a treat! We also received a welcome back card thanking us for our return stay. The little attention to detail is special. The room has a nice selection of snacks, the mini bar has a good selection and you will love the loose tea and French press coffee service included in the room. There is nighttime turn down service where they provide you with complimentary bottled waters, eye masks and earplugs. The room also has 2 nice robes and slippers to make your stay even more comfortable. They really have thought of everything.
On Saturday evening they have live jazz in the salon where you can enjoy an after dinner drink or a fabulous dessert while relaxing in front of the fire. The library is really a nice little respite where you can enjoy a cup of coffee or tea and take in a few chapters of a fine work.
If you are in Portland, the Heathman is an excellent choice and is located right in the middle of it all. You won't be disappointed!!

Room Tip: We have stayed on both sides, the street and the back. Both were equally as comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kandjOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear kandjOregon,

We appreciate your encouraging response concerning your stay with us. It was delightful to have you, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations’, service, and restaurant. The balloons and card at arrival is a special touch that the concierges really enjoy doing for our guests on any special occasion. Thank you communicating that you enjoyed as well.

We can't wait until your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Jamicia Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevensville, MI
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Heathman very much! The downtown location is great, service was excellent and the restaurant was superb. Only downside was, altho our room was beautiful and well-appointed, it was tiny. Two people couldn't pass between the end of the king bed and dresser because the space was so narrow. The bathroom was the smallest we've ever seen in an upscale hotel and was definitely only for one person, and even then, if you're a large person, it's hard to move.

Green Features: This hotel, as with most places in Portland, does their best to be very green!
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear SusanV2013,

Thank you for choosing The Heathman Hotel, Portland Oregon on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Portland.

Your comments about your stay with us were greatly appreciated. We were relieved to hear that you were still able to enjoy yourself regardless of the quaint room accommodations. One of the very few opportunities we face is the room size due to us being a historically preserved structure. On your next visit, we would be glad to speak with you directly so that we can ensure you get the right room for your comfort.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best regards,

Jamicia Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cerrito, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed at the Heathman for a conference and found it to be comfortable, well-maintained, and extremely well-located. The staff were friendly and helpful, though I didn't have any big needs beyond check-in, check-out and luggage storage. I recommend checking out the hotel library is you get a chance, nearly all volumes are signed by the authors (who have also stayed in the hotel) and it's open for borrowing!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel. Great room and restaurant. Will stay here every time I have business in Portland. The location is perfect, walking distance to everything. The room had everything I needed, including a French press, which blows away those little hotel coffee makers.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear Keith A ,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a survey, your opinion is greatly appreciated. We are glad that your stay met your standards on all levels. We hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards

Jamicia Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana, Usa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Great room, much attention to detail. Staff was immediately ready to make sure my stay was pleasant. Whenever I had an issue they were helpful and responsive. Only wish they had a freezer in the room fridge. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: It seems that each room is designed and laid out a little differently. Communicate your needs upfron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TreeTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Dear TreeTraveler1,

Thank you for staying with us, we enjoyed having you. It was comforting to hear that you excpetations were exceeded. Thank you for your kind remarks.

We look forward to your next visit.

Jamicia Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 142 in Portland
2,101 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#21 of 142 in Portland
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing