We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable staff!”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
NJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unbeatable staff!”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went round and round as to where to stay in Portland and finally settled on The Heathman Hotel because of the recommendation of a friend. We could not have been happier. While most hotels have fantastic rooms, comfortable beds and many other treats for the traveler what The Heathman offers is personable staff that are always at the ready to help. From the front desk to the housekeeping staff, everyone was friendly, looked us in the eye and always offered to help. It made us feel not only welcome but also as though we were staying with friends. We get to travel often and have never stayed in a place we liked more than this hotel~

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fdurdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,245
    477
    196
    83
    38
See reviews for
341
849
115
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

My book club visits the Heathman once a year in the fall for one night. We all live in the Portland area, so use the Heathman as our "staycation" home base for a luxurious experience and a wonderful meal downtown, topped off with the amazing Heathman brunch on Sunday. We *love* visiting the Heathman, and will continue to do so every year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Another amazing stay at the Heathman. They get it right every time. Love the staff and the hotel itself is never a disappointment. The Heathman is the perfect location to experience outstanding restaurants and extraordinary shopping!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

So I took her to the heathman. We had a great time. Took in a blazers game court side and then came back to the room for fine dining and bedtime. She didn't miss her mama one bit! The staff helped out by bringing us anything our heart desired and I especially recommend the in room coffee with the French press arrangement. Awesome!

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank richard a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapolei, Hawaii, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at the Heathman for 2 nights to visit our son attending college. The stay was exceptional ! The hotel has a 4 star rating but it was a serious 5 star experience. The attention to details is something I have not experienced at an hotel in YEARS. The rooms are very comfortable and what sets everything apart is the incredible friendliness of the staff and the attentiveness to details that is evident throughout the hotel. JOB WELL DONE !!

Room Tip: Try the restaurant. It is a gem ! ( nothing close to what you would expect a typical hotel restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean-claude D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Jean-claude D,

It brought us joy to read your pleasant commentary about your last stay with us! Our goal is to exceed expectations on every level of service. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience. It would be a pleasure to have the opportunity to service you on your next visit to Portland.

Best Regards,

JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at the Heathman recently for just one night on business. I was upgraded to a nicer room for no reason and the bed was VERY comfortable. The room was a great size and the restaurant/bar area were great! Nice relaxing atmosphere after having traveled to Portland that evening. The staff was very pleasant and available at any time of day. I can not say one negative thing about this hotel! I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Sara C,

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us on your business trip. We were excited to be able to offer you an upgrade when you arrived. It is always a pleasure to exceed guest expectations on every level of service. We look forward to your return.

Thanks again!

JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This place is simply luxury with the best staff of almost any hotel. From the moment we checked in the staff members were friendly, efficient, and helpful. The restaurant and bar are lovely and room service is quite good. Oh... and the room I had.... perfect. It's rare for me to rave about a hotel but this one deserves it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Stuartca,

We appreciate your encouraging response concerning your stay with us. It was delightful to have you, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations’, service, and restaurant. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay.

We can't wait until your next visit!

Sincerely,

JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 142 in Portland
2,097 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 142 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing