We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lodging 1st class hotel”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great lodging 1st class hotel”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We have stayed at the Heathman over 60 times over the past several years and it remains our favorite northwest lodging away from home. Quiet elegance in a relaxed and non pretentious atmosphere. Fine food, great lounge, superior service.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,973 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,206
    460
    188
    83
    36
See reviews for
330
821
110
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilwaco, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I am always impressed with the level of professional customer courtesy and service from valet parking, check-in, room service, concierge and restaurant. I hold other hotels to the customer service standards of the Heathman.
Centrally located in downtown Portland, walking distance to great shopping and food. Public transportation is easily accessed.

Room Tip: 10th floor on a tempurpedic bed - delightful! The sparkly lights of broadway were lovely and the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sonya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Sonya L,

We can't thank you enough for the wonderful review you've shared! On top of being so gracious in the write up of your experience, we really appreciate you making mention of our location and accessibility. We are looking so forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Take care,
~Krissy S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room had great accommodations. It was quiet at night so you could sleep. The library with all the signed books is a must to visit. Breakfast was preferred. Staff provided cheerful friendly service. Hotel is a great location. Close to the Portland Museum, other attractions, great restaurants, and shopping all within walking distance. Close is various public transportation, too.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Kris006,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your experience of the Heathman Portland. Although we are a city center hotel, we strive to accommodate those that need a restful night sleep, and we are glad you found our hotel a sanctuary in the right location!
Thank you, too, for mentioning the Library. We hope you joined for the open hours with free wine tasting!
It's a pleasure to hear that your restaurant experience was top notch, as one of the finest hotel restaurants in the city, breakfast is a high priority!

Thank you again and hoping to welcome you back again soon!
~Krissy S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Celebrating Christmas at The Heathman was a great choice for my husband and I.

1. Check-in was very smooth. We were disappointed that the restaurant at the hotel did not save a few reservations for guests for the Christmas Dinner. It would have been nice if the front desk mentioned that we needed reservations when we booked. However, the concierge did recommend a couple of other restaurants in the area to try instead.

2. The room was a little on the small side, as others have mentioned in previous reviews, but it was very clean. (I can be a little OCD about that haha.) We were able to clear some space in the room to add a couple of Christmas decorations that we brought from home, which made the room extra cozy. Since we were only at the hotel for a few nights we didn't mind a smaller space. I love that they added new windows to the inside of the room to keep the old one on the outside for looks. The bedding was very comfortable and fresh.

3. Valet Service could be a little frustrating at times, but I understand that they were very busy. Sometimes we had do a few laps around the hotel before we could pull into the front, and sometimes the wait was a little long but overall the guys were great!

4. The location of this hotel cannot be beat. You are steps from Pioneer Square which was very nicely decorated for the season.

5. We booked on a package that included room service, so that was definitely a special treat for us! The menu had a nice selection and the food was amazing. I also liked that the room had a French Press to make fresh coffee as well as bottle openers and wine glasses.

The Heathman was a great choice for us to celebrate Christmas away from home and I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Portland for a few nights. I believe we got a good value for the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 697jamieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Jamie H,

Thank you for the review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday celebration at the Heathman Portland. I have to apologize for the situation with the Restaurant, we will note that for next year, as we agree, that would be helpful. I'm glad to hear that you were able to find a lovely meal regardless.
We also appreciate your understanding about the comments made about room size. As you know, we are a historic property that aims to produce an accommodating atmosphere without taking away from the grandeur of the history of the building.
We do experience some of the busiest times for our valet team, during the holidays, due to the high volume of tea reservations and locals joining us for mealtime. It is nice that you were so understanding and willing to work with our team.
It sounds like everything worked out great for your seasonal trip and we can't thank you enough for choosing the Heathman. Please join us again soon, we'd be lucky to have you return!
Yours sincerely,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon City, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Great service. Great room. Great bed. Great food. Great piano bar. Truly a high class establishment. We stayed at the Heathman the night before the Portland Rose Parade. We set up our chairs about 200" from the entrance of the Heathman and parked across the street. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcavener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a wonderful time we had at The Heathman this past New Years Eve which is our anniversary. Our corner suite was beautiful. The room was on the small size but comfortable. We enjoyed the valet parking and the doormen were great. We had a wonderful dinner and loved walking downtown Portland where we happened on a flashmob in Pioneer Square. Best Anniversary so far!

Room Tip: Older building so you seem to hear every noise but we didn't mind. If this would bother you prob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Lori D,

It is always nice to share special moments with our guests. We are glad that you decided to visit us for your Anniversary/New Year’s Eve celebration.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.

Happy Anniversary!

JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Heathman has been a favorite of ours. When we visit Portland, we stay downtown at the Heathman. It is so walkably convenient to arts, parks, the river, restaurants of every description, shopping, and everything that makes Portland…well, Portland.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Dear Jackmac31406,

Thank you for naming us your "favorite" hotel in Portland. Your opinion is greatly appreciated.

See you again soon!

JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing