We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Heathman Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sentinel(Portland)
US$402
US$207
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$161
US$114
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
US$172
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Best Western Inn At The Meadows(Portland)(Great Value!)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$235
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$391
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$236
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$191
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$348
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,295)
Filter reviews
2,295 results
Traveller rating
1,388
531
227
96
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,388
531
227
96
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench presssymphony suitehistoric hotelturn down serviceroom servicevalet parkingrooms are smallmini barwonderful hotelheart of downtownthe location is perfectstreet noisecorner roompioneer squarevisit portlandthe pearlfew blocks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,419 - 1,424 of 2,295 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent a long time researching hotels before our trip to Portland and am so glad that we chose The Heathman. It is a lovely old hotel that is well situated for walking to many of the sights and stores that we wanted to go to, BUT probably the best part of the stay was the quality of service. Every staff member we interacted with was courteous, knowledgeable, and very helpful. They are extremely well trained but also genuinely nice. It is the first hotel that I have been to where every staff member in the lobby is prepared to answer any questions and help in guests in any way. Dan happened to be the person who checked us in, showed us to our rooms, and checked us out. He also gave us guidance on how to get where we wanted to go and suggested some sights to see. When I needed extra help, he went above and beyond to be of assistance.

As many have said the beds are extremely comfortable. I think the beds are in many ways symbolic of the attitude of the staff at the hotel. They go out of their way to make sure that your stay is comfortable and pleasant.

The accommodations are impeccable, and The Heathman is a very nice scale--not too large. The towels and toiletries are topnotch. The furniture in the rooms is well designed to make efficient use of the space. We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant which were both very good (the lunch menu had a better selection than the breakfast menu). We enjoyed the free wine tasting in the lovely Library.

We stayed in a corner Executive King that provided plenty of space and had four windows. The bathroom proper was on the small side, but they was a large counter with a sink outside the bathroom which provided plenty of space for toiletries, etc.

The only negative things were the traffic noises (trucks late at night) and the less than robust wifi. I would love to stay there again, but might request a room in the back of the building to be away from the traffic.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room on an upper floor and in the rear. We were able to get a lower rate using our American Express card which gave us the fourth night free.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AquaPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear AquaPar,

What can we say? This is a gorgeous review - thank you! The time you took to tell us your experience is extremely appreciated by us! I hope that we gave you the perfect location to enjoy all that Portland has to offer.
I'm glad you were able to deal with such helpful and knowledgeable staff! Dan, in particular is brilliant! We are encouraged by helpful praise and I'll be sure to share this with him!
I do want to apologize for the noise you experienced, and would recommend, that if you return, you contact us directly for booking. This way we can ensure the room is spot on and in a locale that is ideal for the purpose of you visit!

Again, thank you. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The library at the Heathman Hotel in Portland OR is reason enough to make this hotel a base of operations when visiting Portland. The volume of books signed by authors who have stayed at the hotel will impress anyone, along with the helpfulness of the librarian Rachel R. The wine reception Monday-Thursday is awesome. This is a must for book lovers!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear ttjohnny,

We are so lucky to live in a city that thrives off reading and books! Our Library holds quite the collection and we are so glad you were able to enjoy it! Rachel is an ideal Librarian and she strives to connect readers with the perfect pick to read while they are staying with us!
It sounds like this amenity was perfect for your stay, and thank you for taking the time to tell us about it! Can't wait to welcome you back again soon, both to the hotel and to the Heathman Library!

All the best,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Had another great stay at this hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated and well maintained. I liked the bed quality with a great mattress that had the right softness by still overall firm enough.
Service in the hotel is top, quick and efficiency check in and check out. Staff very attentive and helpful.
The hotel is located in central Portland which makes the downtown area easy to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gzbike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear gzbike,

So glad we could welcome you back to the Heathman Portland! It sounds like you had another wonderful stay! Glad you could take advantage of our city center location and that our staff was available and helpful for your stay. Looking forward to seeing you the next time your swing through Portland!

All the best,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed four nights at the Heathman. The hotel has an old world charm. The rooms are well done and nicely furnished. The staff is very helpful. We asked to be moved to a room facing the street which is much lighter. The staff kindly moved us while we were out sightseeing the next morning . My only complaint is that the knowledge of the front desk regarding the city and its sights is below standard. The men at the front door are much better informed. Overall a very satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are much brighter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PeterFNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear PeterFNyc,

We can't thank you enough for taking the time to review your experience of the Heathman Portland. We appreciate the hint about the rooms facing Broadway, it is true that those facing the main road do get more direct light, so if that's a key for your trip, those are the rooms to request!
I do have to apologize that the front desk wasn't more helpful regarding the city layout. We have had an abundance of new hires, but that is no excuse. I am glad to hear that the front door staff were able to assist you. We will continue to work with our new hires to ensure they are well versed in city sightseeing and the know-how to get around! Thank you for the comment.
We hope that we get to welcome you back again soon!

Thanks again,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Heathman Hotel is one of the finest hotels in Portland. Its restaurant is excellent for dinner and breakfast. Rooms are comfortable and updated. Bathrooms are very nice. Lots of good restaurants and coffee shops nearby. Their customer service is above and beyond.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear GaryW,

This is a brilliant review - thank you! It is so nice to see such words written about our establishment! I sure hope you enjoyed your stay in Portland.
We strive to deliver the utmost in guest satisfaction and it sounds like we did our job well during your stay! We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews