We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Beach, California
1 review
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

I fell ill while staying at The Heathman and had to extend my stay as I was unable to travel. The staff at The Heathman were very accomodating and worked hard to ensure I was comfortable and had everything I needed while I recovered. They went above and beyond to ensure I was as comfortable at the hotel as I would be at home. The service was simply amazing.

Room Tip: The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Katherine K.,

How unfortunate to fall ill during a business trip in a new city! We are so glad we could help and aid in easing the uncomfort of being sick! I hope that you have been able to fully recover and will be able to visit us again, when you are well and able to travel.
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience and rest assured, we will be sharing this with all the staff to ensure they are awarded for their great service.

Thanks again and hope to welcome you back soon!
All the best,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,894 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    439
    176
    79
    36
See reviews for
315
796
106
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is in a good location downtown. It's nice to walk in and realize the employees in the lobby actually know who you are and that you belong there. The hotel is accessible since there is a lift in addition to the stairs to the lobby. The lobby itself could use some updated seating, but don't let it mislead you, the rooms are up to date. I've stayed in other well rated Portland hotels and kept moving on to the next after a few stays as quality declined. I'll still be going back to the Heathmand because it's still as good as the first time I stayed there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NotLostJustWandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear NotLostJustWandering,

Thank you for your kind commnents about The Heathman. We really appreciate you taking time to fill out a survey.

See you next time!

Best Regards,
JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sequim, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

This trip was a visit to see my daughter that lives in Portland. The Heathman has always made us feel at home and well cared for. This trip was no exception! I love the new remodel! It was Rose Festival parade week-end so I was anticipating a lot of chaos during parade time. I appreciated the Heathman keeping their guest well informed of times that it would be best to come and go more comfortably. I will always stay there if they will have me!

Room Tip: I was on the 8 th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Esther L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Esther L.,

We will always welcome you gladly! Happy belated birthday, we are so pleased we could be a part of the celebration and so glad that you enjoyed your time with us! Looking so forward to welcoming you back again soon!

All the best,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

The place was great. I loved the chaise longue - one of the most comfortable places to read I've ever found. A very comfortable bed (they offer three different mattress types). A fine bathroom. The restaurant appeared good, although I didn't eat there. I enjoyed the sidewalk tables, once for tea and once for a glass of wine. Great service in general. The only thing I didn't like was the way they handle the phone (once when I needed something no one answered and they couldn't give me driving directions when I called from my car, stuck because of closed roads on the day of an unexpected parade). I'll go back there next time I'm in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Mark W.,

Your review was great! Thank you! We are so glad to read such a positive and uplifting review! You visited during such a beautiful time of year, and it's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our outdoor dining options.
I do want to apologize for the service you received over the phone, I can understand that being very frustrating and we would never want that to be a memory you keep of the Heathman! We thank you for being so flexible and understanding the situation. We really appreciate your kindness!

Hoping to welcome you back again soon!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We arrived late in the evening, and the staff was helpful and accommodating. We had a late supper in the bar and enjoyed the ambiance and comfy seating. We stayed 4 nights and never encountered a problem. Our safe had been left locked open, and maintenance was up to fix it right away. All of the staff members were helpful and friendly.

Our room was in the corner on the seventh floor and on only one night did we ever hear any noise from an adjoining room, and even then it wasn't all that objectionable, just unusual up until then. We really enjoyed our stay and thought that the room was comfortable, spacious and well appointed.

The location was really good - you could walk easily to transportation or sights.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are preferable and away from the elevators and foot traffic.
See more room tips
Green Features: First hotel we've stayed in that really practiced the green initiatives listed on their brochures and in-room literature.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lrh103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear lrh103,

It sounds like you had a memorable and enjoyable trip to Portland - we are so pleased we could be a part of it! Even though you were extremely understanding about the noise, we thank you for being so kind and would be happy to help you book your next stay to ensure this doesn't occur again!
Thank you again for this great review and we hope it isn't long until we get to welcome you back!

Take care,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Had a nice enjoyable 2 night stay. People that work there for the most part of very friendly. The room was nice except the separate room with the toilet and the shower is so tiny you can't even move. I do like that they straighten up the room twice a day and bottled water is complimentary.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Patti M.,

Thank you for choosing the Heathman Portland on your most recent visit to the city. We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and hope that we can welcome you back again soon in the near future!

Thanks again!
All the best,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent a long time researching hotels before our trip to Portland and am so glad that we chose The Heathman. It is a lovely old hotel that is well situated for walking to many of the sights and stores that we wanted to go to, BUT probably the best part of the stay was the quality of service. Every staff member we interacted with was courteous, knowledgeable, and very helpful. They are extremely well trained but also genuinely nice. It is the first hotel that I have been to where every staff member in the lobby is prepared to answer any questions and help in guests in any way. Dan happened to be the person who checked us in, showed us to our rooms, and checked us out. He also gave us guidance on how to get where we wanted to go and suggested some sights to see. When I needed extra help, he went above and beyond to be of assistance.

As many have said the beds are extremely comfortable. I think the beds are in many ways symbolic of the attitude of the staff at the hotel. They go out of their way to make sure that your stay is comfortable and pleasant.

The accommodations are impeccable, and The Heathman is a very nice scale--not too large. The towels and toiletries are topnotch. The furniture in the rooms is well designed to make efficient use of the space. We had breakfast and lunch in the restaurant which were both very good (the lunch menu had a better selection than the breakfast menu). We enjoyed the free wine tasting in the lovely Library.

We stayed in a corner Executive King that provided plenty of space and had four windows. The bathroom proper was on the small side, but they was a large counter with a sink outside the bathroom which provided plenty of space for toiletries, etc.

The only negative things were the traffic noises (trucks late at night) and the less than robust wifi. I would love to stay there again, but might request a room in the back of the building to be away from the traffic.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room on an upper floor and in the rear. We w...
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciate the fact that it is an eco friendly hotel.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear AquaPar,

What can we say? This is a gorgeous review - thank you! The time you took to tell us your experience is extremely appreciated by us! I hope that we gave you the perfect location to enjoy all that Portland has to offer.
I'm glad you were able to deal with such helpful and knowledgeable staff! Dan, in particular is brilliant! We are encouraged by helpful praise and I'll be sure to share this with him!
I do want to apologize for the noise you experienced, and would recommend, that if you return, you contact us directly for booking. This way we can ensure the room is spot on and in a locale that is ideal for the purpose of you visit!

Again, thank you. We can't wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing