We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and wonderful service!”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We so enjoyed our stay at Heathman! The staff is very helpful and always trying to do anything that might improve your stay. We enjoyed the complimentary wine in the library that is filled with books signed by authors who have stayed at the Heathman. Very clever! We hope to come back soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear NanNorth,

Your review was very gratifying and inspiring to read. I will make sure to pass it on to the team. Thank you for taking time to give us your opinion.

See you again soon!

All the best,

JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,253 - 1,259 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

The staff arranged a last minute business luncheon without a hitch. All of our service check-in, restaurant,bar and check out were efficient and friendly. Would definitely return for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Millie B,

Anticipating your needs with little notice was wonderful and we enjoyed servicing your party. Please do not hesitate to ask if you ever need additional assistance.

We are anticipating your next visit!

Best Regards,

JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The service provided at the Heathman Hotel was wonderful! Everyone we interacted with was friendly, professional, and helpful, and the attention to detail was excellent. The hotel was beautiful and quiet - - we had a room right next to the elevators and never heard any noise. We also did not hear any road noise thanks to the double windows and good insulation. We were surprised at how quiet the room was. The free evening jazz (flamenco guitar duo) was wonderful and was set in a beautiful room with teak walls and comfortable sitting areas. The hotel is located in a great area for walking all over Portland, with easy access to the Pearl District, the waterfront, downtown sites, and more. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsquared2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Zsquared2014,

We hope that you stay with us again the next time you are feeling like a splurge.
We are glad that you were able to enjoy so many of the things that we have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to submit a survey with so many accolades.

Hope to see you next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

What can I say. It is as good as the other reviews say. The staff makes the stay. They really are here to make your stay perfect. They made sure our bed was super comfortable with a temperpedic mattress. The library is beautiful. We had a great visit wish we could come back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jammingdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Jammingde,

Thank you for your kind words. It is very encouraging when the team members read reviews such as this. We all work very hard to ensure guests feel a warm welcome when they come into our home. We hope the Heathman can become your home away from home too.

See you soon!

Kind Words
JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Most of our travel is mid-level stuff. Occasionally we break out and live way beyond our means. This time it was five nights in The Heathman. Okay, the bathroom was an adventure in planned manoeuvres and where to put all the pillows? But we were not disappointed - not at all. The service was great, the rooms large and comfortable in the extreme, the in-room extras charming and quite able to elevate the mood whatever. Food excellent. But for us the real differentiator was the Library of signed first additions opened each evening, with a glass of fine local wine. We stayed for an hour discussing all things cultural with the charming young curator and getting further insights into the friendly city that is Portland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Ken G,

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that your stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed the library. We are honored to be able to offer this amenity to our guests and are very proud of our collection.

We hope that you stay with us again the next time you are feeling like a splurge.

Best Regards,
JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We travel quite a bit and I have to say our experience was better than any we have had. From the check in process to the little things like chocolates and Voss water delivered to our room, everything was amazing. We were upgraded to a larger king room with a feather bed and it was so comfortable. We had breakfast two mornings and I have to say the salmon hash was amazing. Dinner was also incredible. I would definitely stay there again! Thank you!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank coachsaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear coachsaca,

What a review - what can we say! It sounds like everything was just right for your visit to Portland! Plus, we are so pleased you were able to experience our Salmon Hash as it is one of the finest in the city! Next time you're in town, we hope you join us again!

Thank you so much, again, for taking the time to write this brilliant review!
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The good:

-Very central location
-Charming historic hotel
-Friendly Staff
-Room nicely decorated

The not as good:

-Bathroom was extremely small. Extremely small for a nice hotel. I'd say it is smaller than hotel bathrooms even in Europe, where rooms are smaller.
-Pillows were extremely flat and not comfortable. The hotel quickly provided an additional pillow, though even that was lacking.

Overall, I'd stay here again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank EP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear EP99,

What a review! We loved the way you organized your experience! Thanks for sharing! Although we do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences during your stay we want to thank you for your flexibility and understanding. We never wish an uncomfortable stay on anyone and we thank you for making us aware of these issues! All that said, we hope you do come back and visit us again soon. On your return stay we hope you contact us directly to book your room and if ever there is an issue during your visit we hope you feel comfortable and welcome to let any staff member know!

Thank you again. We really appreciate it!
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,440 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 144 in Portland
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £123 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city’s most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel’s library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA’s coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland’s premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing