We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in the heart of Portland”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great friendly staff. Self parking. Streetcar right outside. Easy walk to downtown shops, restaurants, etc. Hotel is a little dated but the owners are in the process of renovating it. Nice big room. Wine and cheese in the evening. Continental breakfast in the morning. We used "Groupon" promotion and got a great rate with Free parking! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,550)
There are newer reviews for Mark Spencer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,253 - 1,259 of 1,550 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

We stayed for a long weekend and paid $398 inc taxes and pet fees. Our room was very dark (we got a basic room) but quiet. The kitchenette was dated and the fridge noisy and required unplugging.

The staff were excellent and genuinely friendly. Complimentary breakfast and internet included. Breakfast was straightforward continental, though the coffee from the machine was surprisingly well brewed.

Room Tip: Push the price down directly with the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manu_sarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Great little place to stay in a terrific location. Near the downtown and Jakes Famous Crawfish. The Junior suite was specious and allowed for lots of room for work and relaxation. The front desk staff are accommodating and helped us park our car. Parking rate for downtown was reasonable ($18/night) and secure.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terrance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed at the Mark Spencer on both ends of our week in the Portland area. The first 3 days we had a queen suite. The bedroom area was very small for a queen bed but the den space had a sofabed which worked for our adult son. All in all, it worked out. Our last night in Portland was just my husband and me in a king room. Lovely space. The Mark Spencer is perfectly located for Powell's bookstore, Clyde Common and other bars and restaurants, Mostly, the staff was professional and very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask if Lena is working
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbychoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

If you are looking to stay at The Mark Spencer Hotel, go to their website and put an offer with your own price. They got back to be really quickly with a counter offer, which was still a great deal. I stayed in their corporate apartments (located around the block from the hotel). The room was spacious and clean. I could still take advantage of their continental breakfast, afternoon tea an cookies, and wine tasting in the evening. Of course, I was too busy seeing all of Portland to properly take advantage of it. But, what a deal!

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not on the courtyard
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP2132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

I stayed at The Mark Spencer Hotel for a training seminar and enjoyed it. The room was comfortable, although lighting and desk could be improved. Internet access was free and reasonable for my needs, and rate was good. Location is fabulous - close to great food (restaurant and Whole Foods), books (Powells) and the biggest second music store around. Renovations promise even better value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichieH2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I recently spent several nights at the Mark Spencer Hotel. They had several pluses and minuses, it just depends what you're looking for in a hotel. Pluses: Great location. You're next to a lot of great restaurants, as well as Powell's bookstore. It's easy to get around downtown. They also have a concierge outside for part of the day that is extremely helpful and the staff was really nice. There's a wine hour from 5-6pm and free breakfast... both big pluses!

What I didn't like was how thin the walls were. I could hear everyone walking by and the music outside. I was also by the elevator and could hear that every time it opened and closed. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper so it didn't bother me too much, but if you're a light sleeper you may need earplugs. The bed wasn't that great either. It would have been really uncomfortable had there been 2 people sleeping on it. The middle was much softer than the edges... maybe its time to replace them...

Again, it just depends on what you are looking for. If you're a heavy sleeper and don't mind the beds this may be a great hotel for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,232 reviews
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £122 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing