We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to experience all Portland has to offer”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Hot Springs, Arkansas
1 review
“Perfect place to experience all Portland has to offer”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

First time visitor to Portland. From receiving a complimentary phone call prior to arrival, friendly employees, walking distance to great food in the Pearl District, Powell's Books, easy access to MAX train with connection to airport-- my time at Mark Spencer could not have been more positive.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank bildad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    463
    101
    35
    26
See reviews for
262
542
133
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littlerock, WA
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Great location and awesome staff. We enjoyed our stay and will come back. It is close to Powell books and not too far of a walk to the river and not to far from 23rd street in the other direction, so it is easy to explore the whole city on foot. Rooms were clean and nice and very reasonably priced. We had cookies and wine in the afternoon and they called for reservations at the nearby Andina restaurant which has fantastic food. They have a great breakfast bar too in the morning. Our friends drove their Preis car and they gave us free parking!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevLittlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We visited because of a LivingSocial special, and found it in the middle of renovations, but still very nice. The rooms had new furniture, but still had some dated fixtures and carpets. Hallways are still a little shabby and dated. They did, however, make up for it with coffee / cookies in the afternoon, a free espresso machine in the lobby to use, wine and snacks in the evening, a small but pretty good continental b'fast in the morning. The roof garden is supposed to be opening sometime this summer, and that should be very nice. Great location to all of downtown, and just couple blocks from the Transit Train. Very good service, and nice lobby. They do need more tables for breakfast, as we had to eat on our laps. Overall, a good experience, and we'll probably be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aark2947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Secret
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2011

This is a beautiful historic hotel located conveniently in the downtown area. The staff are welcoming and friendly and give top-notch service. The free breakfast offered every morning was great and the coffee/latte machine was an added bonus. It was also very nice to enjoy the free local wine offered every early evening as well. If I am ever back in the Portland area I will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melise7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2011

complementary breakfast and wine happy hour were two of the initial draws. They didn't disappoint. The room was clean, large enough for 3 of us to spread out and every room had a fridge and stove. The service was very friendly and efficient - one only had to ask and the staff were more than happy to do our bidding. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klangenmaier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My husband and I went to Portland for a quick weekend getaway over Memorial Day weekend. We made reservations using Priceline and wanted a downtown hotel so we could walk or take the streetcar everywhere. This was our first stay at the Mark Spencer and we'll definitely return. We've stayed at the Residence Inn and the Benson before and loved those experiences as well, but for a reasonably priced stay, the Mark Spencer beats them both. They serve a continental breakfast, there's a great coffee machine that makes mochas and caramel lattes available 24/7, plus there's an afternoon tea and a wine and munchies at around 5:00. Each unit has a little kitchen (no oven), full-sized refrigerator, four burner stove top, microwave, and cabinets stocked with cookware so bring your own food if you want to save a few dollars. Or shop at one of the two Safeways downtown. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom has retained many of its retro features and is therefore small by today's standards, but has plenty of hot water in the shower (no tub). Rooms are fastidiously clean. The hotel is located up the street from Powell's Bookstore and close to the streetcar.

Room Tip: Ask the desk for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HopeMacManus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great friendly staff. Self parking. Streetcar right outside. Easy walk to downtown shops, restaurants, etc. Hotel is a little dated but the owners are in the process of renovating it. Nice big room. Wine and cheese in the evening. Continental breakfast in the morning. We used "Groupon" promotion and got a great rate with Free parking! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing