We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome!”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2011

the best hotel! reasonable, comfy beds & super clean!! delish breakfast, wine tasting all around super catering to every need.. so pleased!! lsdkfhnklsdjfksalJDFl/ksaJFkl;aSKELFlskaNFlksaFLkhsdkjfsjkdnhfjsADFlkhsdalkjfhslakhflsdaNHFlkhsdfhdkas;ljhfkljsahfkhaksdhfaksdhfak;.shf.kasdn

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daftcnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,680)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,341 - 1,347 of 1,680 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. The location was perfect - close to everything we wanted. The room was very comfortable. The only thing missing was a bedside table on both sides of the bed; there was one only on one side.

Loved the free parking for our hybrid! That was great!

The staff are exceptional, very helpful and knowledgeable! This is where we'll be staying on future trips.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountaindweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We loved our stay at the Mark Spencer. It was quiet, comfortable, staff was very helpful and patient - made an extra room available at the last minute. Afternoon tea and wine reception were very nice touches, as was good breakfast with fresh brewed local coffee. Proximity to Powell's books was a BIG plus. ALL staff deserve praise, but wanted to give a shout-out to Minako for managing the many changes to our reservation, and settling us in the best room for our needs.

Room Tip: An upper floor corner room provided us with a view without street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yaybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My husband and I have stayed at the Mark Spencer several times, and it's reliably excellent. At check-in, we were upgraded to a suite without even asking! The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a useful kitchenette. The hotel is conveniently located in the Pearl District, within walking distance of Powell's, the Pearl Bakery, Deschutes Brewery, Living Room Theater, and just up the hill from the train station. And the complimentary breakfast at the hotel is always a nice touch.

My only criticism is that the walls are a little thin, and you can sometimes hear the neighbors. But that's never been much of an issue, and all the perks more than make up for it. Overall, it's my first choice for staying in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrainReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife, teenage daughter and I stayed four nights at the Mark Spencer. We were very pleased with it, though the queen bed seemed a bit small. The first night, when we arrived around 8:00 pm, our junior suite was on the first floor, which we didn't really like, but they were happy to move us upstairs for subsequent nights. The suite was at a corner of the building so it good got cross ventilation. There was also a fair amount of noise from bar goers outside on Thursday and Friday night, but closing the windows effectively blocked the sound (it doesn't always).

Previous reviewers have mentioned how close the hotel is to Powell's and to transit. There's also a great Jewish deli across the street, and a branch of the famed Stumptown coffee that opens at 6 am every morning. The Pearl Bakery is only a couple of blocks away, the Portland Art Museum is also within easy walking distance. Though we had a car, one night we took the streetcar a short ride to NW 23rd Ave., Nob Hill.

The car business is a little tricky. The garage seems to have been scooped out of the building after it was built, it is small and tight, with steep ramps. You have to stop on the outbound ramp and go press a button to open the door on the way out. But with free hybrid parking we can't really complain.

Kudos to the hotel for finding a computer cord we'd lost in the first room, the computer would not have worked without it.

It has a (slightly pricy) washer and dryer, a good feature.

There are some (non-aggressive) street people and low cost residential hotels in the area. They're not a problem, but if you want a pristine urban environment look elsewhere.
All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Having a car in Portland, particularly downtown, can become quite expensive. We chose this hotel because we wanted to be able to experience downtown and all the people, places, activities, etc. There is something for everyone within walking distance of the hotel and it lies within the "free" area for public transportation. Since there were 4 of us we stayed in an executive suite--king bed in the bedroom and queen sleeper sofa in the living area. A Whole Foods Market is 2 blocks away and we made good use of the kitchenette for snacks, sandwiches, etc. The breakfast was good but the coffee machine is amazing. My two twenty year old sons could not pass the machine without mixing up a coffee house style drink. And then there are the cookies--freshly baked each evening. (Since we had missed them on our arrival they gave us a plate full to enjoy as we checked in and unpacked) There is also a wine tasting each evening from 5-6 each day and we met several people we would have never spoken to otherwise in the casual atmosphere of the library. The only complaint that I heard from my family was that the water pressure in the shower could have been stronger. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank logicmaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Awefully smelly, dirty carpet, yeh, ace hotel accross the street, damned.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
2  Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £101 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing