We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Love the Hotel”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #10 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Love the Hotel”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This hotel is located in a perfect spot near Powell's Books, Whole Foods, and many great places to eat, including Clyde Commons, one of the best places in Portland to eat. The staff are very professional, friendly and extremely helpful. The large room is equipped with a kitchen, including a stove with burners and an oven, and a full refrigerator, which is great for saving some money. Parking is located below the hotel, and with Portland's public transit you can park and not have to use your car. There are movie theaters a block away, and plenty of other entertainment options in the area.

The hotel has a beautiful lobby and dining area where they serve afternoon tea and cookies, a wine reception in the evening and continental breakfast in the morning. This hotel is a great value and I would stay here again in a heartbeat. It's been a quiet, peaceful stay and I am very impressed with this hotel.

Room Tip: I am in a king suite and am very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayhomehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    471
    105
    37
    27
See reviews for
272
559
135
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I took my granddaughter for five day trip to Portland. I chose the Mark Spencer because we were able to get two room with a kitchen for less than any of the other downtown hotels. The bedroom had two beds and was very comfortable. We didn't end up using the kitchen but it was complete enough that you could have cooked complete meals there. The hotel provided breakfast, afternoon tea and cookies and late afternoon wine and cheese (including cheese pizza.) The hotel is a little run down but is in the process of being renovated. It's right downtown and convienent to all public transportation. Unbeknowest to us, my granddaughter left her passport in the hotel room. As soon as the cleaning people found it the hotel called me and promptly mailed it to me.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Good location - close to shopping, restaurants.

Wine, breakfast, and latte machine are great features.

Beds very comfy and clean.

The not so great was the renovations and banging in the morning - we were on 1st floor (room 113).

Car was severely vandalized in outdoor parking lot overnight.

Though the hotel has a disclaimer on liability, Gus the GM, was very classy, and comped us on our room for the last night and parking without us asking.

I would definitely return, but ensure underground parking.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iso_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I have stayed in all sorts of hotels from 5 star to 2 star, and the Mark Spencer Hotel, Portland Oregon is definitely one of the top! Immaculately clean, great, friendly, helpful staff who truly made me feel taken care of and pampered. It is extremely well located in the heart of Portland's Pearl District, with access to some of Portland's best restaurants and nightspots located within either walking distance or a quick taxi ride or on one of Portland's exceptional mass transit, either light rail or bus. The hotel served a lovely continental breakfast every morning and a wine and appetizers from 5:30 to 6:30. Anything I asked of the staff was done quickly and very pleasantly. For instance, the full sized fridge in our suite was not operating correctly, I called the front desk, and within 15 minutes, someone came with a new one and installed it immediately!! I was there for 8 days and I have never felt more at home at any hour of the day or night. Incredibly comfortable beds with high thread count sheets, double glazed windows made the rooms extremely quiet. As you can tell by now, I can not say enough wonderful things about this remarkable, comfy hotel. Sincerely Yours, Peter A. Samuels

Room Tip: I made my reservations directly with the hotel over the phone, and was tremendously helped by the as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatherohmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Can't say enough good things about this hotel. I can only say that when a hotel is really well-run, as this one is, you don't notice it. It's like a well-oiled machine. Nothing goes wrong. But all of that takes planning and effort and management skills that you don't see. The Mark Spencer is like that. Everyone working there, from the front desk to housekeeping, was friendly without being phony. The front desk staff exuded intelligence and competence. I felt like I wanted to come back to the place every night, and felt welcomed. The breakfast buffet - which is complimentary - was fantastic without being overblown. Had everything you could ask for. I would come back here in a minute. What a bargain. However many stars this place has, it should get another one. And did I mention, it was very clean and steps away from all the fancy hotels in Pioneer Square that cost substantially more?

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

the best hotel! reasonable, comfy beds & super clean!! delish breakfast, wine tasting all around super catering to every need.. so pleased!! lsdkfhnklsdjfksalJDFl/ksaJFkl;aSKELFlskaNFlksaFLkhsdkjfsjkdnhfjsADFlkhsdalkjfhslakhflsdaNHFlkhsdfhdkas;ljhfkljsahfkhaksdhfaksdhfak;.shf.kasdn

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daftcnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. The location was perfect - close to everything we wanted. The room was very comfortable. The only thing missing was a bedside table on both sides of the bed; there was one only on one side.

Loved the free parking for our hybrid! That was great!

The staff are exceptional, very helpful and knowledgeable! This is where we'll be staying on future trips.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountaindweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,192 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing