We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to land in city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
286 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice place to land in city center”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

Staff very nice. Rooms spacious and clean. Bathtub drain did not close properly. Staff said they would get right on it, but this was when we were leaving so don't know if it got fixed. Nice cont breakfast and wine/cheese hour.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zialucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    458
    99
    35
    25
See reviews for
256
530
129
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We were in Portland for one night and found this nice old hotel with a great price compared to others nearby. When checking in, I asked for an upgrade and for a small amount more the nice lady at the front desk gave us a wonderful corner room with a king bed and a great view on one of the upper floors. The only drawback was the water pressure of the shower being on a higher floor but the hotel is being updated so this problem will hopefully be resolved. The room was warm in appearance and the mattress was very comfortable. The hotel is in walking distance to pretty much everything in the heart of downtown Portland. It was raining hard when we had to leave the hotel to walk to a theater down the street and the front desk was gracious and helpful in giving us a complimentary umbrella. :) The continental breakfast the next morning was very good with a variety of choices; only suggestion there would be a waffle maker.

Room Tip: Corner suites/rooms have a great view! Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glorifyhim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

The hotel was a delightful getaway with a perfect location (a block away from Powell's bookstore), a gregarious staff, well furnished rooms (the kitchenette was great) and yummy chocolates! Hotel parking was convenient; however, we were able to explore the quaint little shops and galleries of downtown Portland by walking. There were many restaurants and brew pubs nearby and down town malls and shops were an easy walk away. The staff and hotel were in the process of renovation, but service, meals, and general attention to guests was superb. A definite destination for our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We travel frequently and overall do not spend much time in our hotel room. Even so, we look for quality, cleanliness and quiet in a hotel. This was a pleasant surprise. Easy access to all that Portland has to offer, great staff (very helpful!), kitchenette also super helpful (lots of restaurant leftovers to heat up), and I loved the bed. I like that they use a duvet cover that is washed/pressed for each stay - ie super comfy, cozy and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable - and this is where I get picky - because I don't usually sleep well in hotel beds. We are already planning our next stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upn0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

The location is great, right in the core and withing walking distance to everything. We had no issues with noise. The rooms are like small bachelor apartments, with a kitchen, sofa, table, and are comfortable and clean. We had stayed there twice and once was over New Year's even and the hotel gave us a bottle of champagne on the house! We enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tortitabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dahlia, WA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed here before years ago and were suprised this time by all the updates. It was nice back then but even nicer now...the staff was very helpful when I had to change our reservations a few times due to our schedule. Would come back over and over again...would recommend it highly to anyone wanting to stay in a nice mid priced hotel. They have super specials too!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

We've been coming to the Mark Spencer for many years. It gets better each time. We usually do this with a Portland Perks deal, which gives you free parking, free breakfast, a coupon book. Right now (Nov 1 to December) they are offering $50 cash for staying for 2 nights or more. But we'd stay anyway - rates are very competitive, beds comfortable, rooms quiet, and amenities can't be beat: a complimentary wine reception every evening with cookies and pizza, a more than ample continental breakfast, extra service, great location, etc., etc. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not next to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olympia_Deb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,726 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing