We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, room, and ammenities!”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect location, room, and ammenities!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Mark Spencer was the perfect choice for our trip to Portland. It's 2 blocks from the Max train line from the airport, and on the edge of the Pearl District and a block from the 8th Wonder of the World: Powell's Books.

Our room (#114) was spotless and well equipped with a mini kitchen and a big comfy king bed, along with a walk in closet. The AC worked well, and the flat screen tv was a nice touch. There was a nightly wine tasting reception in the lobby, as well as a continental breakfast buffet. (bagels, toast, yogurt, pastries, coffee, etc.) The hotel is also very pet friendly, too! Yay!

This might be our go-to place in Portland from now on!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    470
    105
    37
    27
See reviews for
272
556
135
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2012

It's not obvious on all hotel booking sites that this one has a kitchen and living room in most (or maybe all?) rooms. Kitchen includes stove top, oven, and large fridge/freezer. If you're looking for something downtown near some great bars, this is a good choice too. Close to Henry's Tavern and Deschutes Brewery Public House, among other things. Very friendly staff, comfortable bed. Only negatives are slight noise from the neighboring rooms, and the shower water temp is not consistent (keeps getting hotter and colder).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Great place to stay in Portland. Staff was helpful and cheerful. Just make sure to ask about reserving a parking space. Breakfast was on the light side. We ate across the street at Kenny and Zuke's deli for a bigger breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Clean; good mattresses; quiet AC; convenient location; reasonably priced; friendly staff; free breakfast. It also has a garage (extra $$), refrigerator, kitchen. It’s a very well maintained hotel.

Room Tip: There are different rooms in the hotel. I had a king execuitive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed only one night but I wish we stayed longer. Older building but well kept and great friendly staff. AC worked well, windows opened for fresh air, not to noisy and I'm a light sleeper. Most hotels charge for parking in Portland area but at least there's is reasonable at $18 a day. Not to mention the free breakfast and wifi. They recommended the perfect place for drinks and dinner right down the street. Overall very cute and cozy home feeling place. Would defininetly stay here again without a doubt! We stayed for $139 a night and had a queen size suite. Not bad for pearl district.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audra L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed four nights here, and were very happy we picked this hotel. Our room was adequate and included a kitchenette and a king bed. Other rooms in the hallway were bigger with sitting areas. The main things we liked about the hotel were the lobby, complimentary services and location. When we were actually in the hotel and not sleeping, we spent our time in the lobby enjoying the classical music and the coffee, espresso and tea that was available all day long. Breakfast was continental, but substantial (little fruit, however). In the afternoon there are cookies, and in the evening there is free wine and cheese. The hotel was peaceful and quiet, despite being full. It was a good place to relax after walking all over the city. And the rates are very reasonable compared to other hotels in the area.
An added bonus, every morning one gets a free New York Times delivered to their room (Not USA Today, thank goodness). We enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsrose10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

This was the second time we have stayed in this hotel, and both rooms were quite different. Beds are excellent, kitchen and bathrooms quite dated but clean. Location is excellent, one block from Powells Books, and easy walking distance to food carts, downtown shops and free tram lines. Good complementary breakfast, afternoon tea and wine hour included and parkade is small but well priced for downtown. Love their espresso/chai tea latte machine that is available 24 hours, and the staff are all great and friendly. Although some areas of the hotel are dated,older hallway carpets, etc. it is part of the retro charm of this older building in the trendy Pearl district. We will stay there again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,188 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing