We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown Portland hotel”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and loved it. We stayed overnight before taking our daughter to visit Lewis and Clark College the next day. We were given an upgraded room with no extra cost. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was very clean and spacious and tastefully decorated. It had an amazing shower we all loved. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the morning before heading out. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Hi Jack,

Thanks so much for sending your review to TripAdvisor, and thanks also for completing our own Comment Card. Your feedback is important to the employees.

Our location, spotless rooms and employees with the desire to make every guest feel important and welcome are reasons why so many of our guests return.

I hope the visit to Lewis and Clark College was a success.

Please feel free to let us know if there's anything we can do for you or your family here at the hotel.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you again....Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,588)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,588 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

This 109 year old building started out as a hotel, became low-income apartments in the 1960's and now is back to being a hotel. As a result there is a variety of rooms, not only in size but given there is also a renovation taking place a choice between updated and older style rooms. We stayed in a unit which was basically a one bedroom apartment with a complete kitchenette, living/dining room w/TV and good sized bedroom also with a TV. Obviously one of the "older style" rooms it had a 1970's feel to it, but very clean, good quality furniture and high quality bedding. Just across the hall were two units being updated and we were able to see how they are totally remodeling the rooms, exposing brick walls, adding beautiful ceilings, etc. The location is just a short walk to the Pearl District with all it's shops, brew pubs, restaurants, a Whole Foods, etc. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Rates include a mini-breakfast (hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels, yogurt, etc) and an afternoon glass of Oregon wine. In short, a great place to stay in a great location.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6 (top) floor and therefore no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Hello friends from Seattle,

Thanks for coming from Seattle and choosing to stay with us, and for submitting your 4-Star Review to TripAdvisor.

One best feature is that we're old. Our hotel is unique and rooms are all different. We're taking steps to embark on a major renovation this fall and while the rooms will become current, our great service and value won't change.

Matching all that with our exceptional value - all reasons many of our guests choose to make the hotel their favorite in Portland.

Thanks again for replying...hope to see you soon. Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have visited Portland a half a dozen times in the past couple years, we like to try new places to get to know. This property is conveniently located in the heart of downtown - don't even need a car. Very easy walk to Powell's Book Store, a bunch of food pods, and access to transportation and boutique shops. Staff was very friendly and helpful during our 2-night stay with them. The room was large (with kitchenette which had character) and was clean. Breakfast was buffet style and they had an awesome coffee machine perfect for late night caffeine boost or an afternoon hot chocolate - yum! Recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VWrulesChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Greetings friends from Vancouver,

Thanks for submitting your review to TripAdvisor. I share all comments with our employees and it's rewarding for them to hear first-hand from our guests. We think they're exceptional, but what really counts is the opinion of our guests and I'm glad to know we met your expectations. Our reputation for spotless rooms, ideal location and stellar employees brings guests back again and again.

Not sure if you had a chance to visit our new restaurant neighbor: Cheryl's on 12th. They have a well-priced, appealing menu and will soon partner with us to offer Room Service. We will continue to offer fresh-baked pizza for after-hours room delivery, along with our continental breakfast and 24-hour gourmet coffee.

Next time you’re planning to be here, be sure to ask for a room that’s in a quiet location. Or just give me a ring. I’m always happy to assist with reservation and details.

Hope you have a great summer in beautiful Vancouver, but come back to see us soon! Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I stayed here overnight while my daughter was scoping out Lewis & Clark College. I really liked staying here, and think it's an especially good value. The staff was super helpful and obliging. My room was very pleasantly and conveniently arranged. (Not newly appointed, but the lighting was good and the room's spaces and furnishings were wisely planned. The bed was very comfy. Clean. Unexpectedly, there was a miniscule full kitchen, which I had no use for, but made the room ridiculously cheap compared to the norm.)

My only quibble about my room was, being fairly near the elevator and stairs, it was a little noisy in the morning. Not terrible - I've had much worse hall noise - but not ideal. (It turned out to be good in a way, since I failed to set my phone alarm properly and otherwise would have overslept).

Food: Continental breakfast choices are not abundant but adequate - and happily they are not all sugary. Small (i.e., not too guilt-inducing), unusually yummy cookies and coffee/tea were available in the afternoon. Good wine and some appetizers in early evening. Many restaurants in walking distance.

Transportation: The hotel is 2 short blocks from Powell's Bookstore and 3-4 from the red (airport) and blue light rail lines. And a 10-15 min. walk from the free Lewis & Clark shuttle service stop - we didn't need a taxi or rental car at all for our visit to Portland and L&C.

Didn't visit the exercise facilities. Portland has an unusually pleasant downtown for folks on foot - very clean and lots of inviting shops (even a Macy's and a Nordstrom's, which are in walking distance of the hotel).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AletaK_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Hi Altea,

Thanks so much for the 5-Star Rating and for taking time to send in your detailed review.

We are fortunate to have prestigious educational neighbors such as Lewis and Clark and Reed; along with Portland State University, University of Portland; Community Colleges and an array of other educational institutions here in Portland. I hope your daughter's visit to Lewis and Clark resulted in a successful outcome.

Your comments about the room furnishings are well-noted. We are taking steps towards a major renovation commencing late this fall that will bring the rooms current; included will be updated kitchenettes.

You're correct about walking in Portland. Little need for exercise when you're steps away from major attractions that allow one to comfortably walk - whether for 5 minutes or 5 hours, as there's an endless array of places to visit in the Pearl District, along with Whole Foods, Powell's Books along with an array of assortments downtown.

Please let me know if there's anything we can do for you here at the hotel. Hope to see you again....Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

This hotel was great. Within walking distance to so many things; Powells Bookstore, Whole Foods, The Living Room movie theater.

The hotel itself was very clean, comfortable and homey. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKJ_Spokane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2013

Dear MKJ,

Greetings and thank you very much for sending in your review to TripAdvisor, and for the 5-Star Rating! I share all comments with the employees and they appreciate hearing first-hand from our guests. We think our employees are among the most talented here in Portland and it's reviews such as yours that affirm we're doing it right.

Your comments about our comfort and location are well-noted. Being a few steps away from Powell's, Whole Foods and the Pearl District, our price value and our exceptional employees are reasons that so many of our guests choose to return.

Thanks again for taking time to comment...come back soon! Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Recently stayed at the Mark Spencer Hotel in Portland OR for the third time. It has been updated since our last visit. We took two granddaughters this time and they loved it and told everyone about it. Shared a junior suite and had no complaints with the rooms. The hotel included a nice breakfast and evening wine. Very nice! Granddaughters liked the late afternoon cookies and tea, and were even given Easter candy as we went on the holiday weekend. Every staff member we met was helpful and pleasant. Also, the hotel has a very convenient location to Powell's Books, where we spent quite a bit of time, as well as close to other spots downtown we wanted to visit. Overall, a very good experience and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCR61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Greetings friends from Port Townsend,

Wow - thanks so much for sending in your review to TripAdvisor and for the 5-star rating! It's sincerely appreciated. I share all comments with the employees and it's rewarding for them to hear from you first-hand.

So glad to know your granddaughters enjoyed the stay. It sounds like they had a good Easter. You mentioned our location: It really is ideal for any downtown or West End visit. The Pearl District which has been partly responsible for putting Portland on the map is a great neighbor. It's a playground among itself and I'm sure combined with Powell's, brought hours of adventure for your family.

Not sure if you had a chance to check our new restaurant neighbor around the corner: Cheryl's on 12th. If not, you might want to add it to your list next time. Great menu, good prices and if you'd like something to go for the family they have an array from which to choose.

Thanks for staying with us again; we sincerely appreciate your loyalty. Please don't hesitate to contact me personally if there's anything we can do for you or your family here at the hotel. Have a great summer in your beautiful neck of the woods and we hope to see you again soon......Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2013 and was very impressed with this hotel. We got a good price on Expedia (around $100 per night from memory) and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a king suite! The bed was extremely comfortable and the staff at the front desk were super friendly and helpful. Good location downtown- not right amongst the shopping district etc but a short enough walk. Would happily stay here again in future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJF90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Hi Alyssa,

Thanks so much for sending in your review to Trip Advisor and for redeeming a 4-Star review!

Glad you found Expedia helpful with your reservation. Please don't hesitate to contact us anytime you'd like to stay and we'll be sure you have the best possible rate.

I think we have an exceptional group of employees here. They're dedicated to making your stay the best possible. Our rooms are spotless, our amenities are plentiful and if you're looking for the Pearl District, we're just a couple of blocks away.

Thanks again for staying with us and hope to see you again....Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,240 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £110 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing