We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy hotel, clueless staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
“Cosy hotel, clueless staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

We booked the hotel and paid the full payment through our travel agency in Singapore. The hotel is conveniently located and was cosy enough for winter. The staff were, however, rather clueless. When we checked in, they didn’t have our names on the guest list first of all. Then, they didn’t honour the hotel voucher issued by Singaporean travel agency. Only the manager who came in in the afternoons knew about the hotel arrangement, the other staff knew nothing. The manager assured us everything was fine. The on the day we checked out, the counter staff told us to settle the payment for the hotel stay. As we had a flight to catch, we made the payment and tried getting a refund through the travel agency when we got back.

And yes, we got the refund. But due to the difference in the exchange rates, we were shortchanged. We went through 3 long months before we got back the difference. Such a pain!

But we did like the breakfast the hotel provided.

  • Liked — Breakfast, location
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank KrisMcSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    458
    99
    35
    25
See reviews for
256
528
129
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2008

The room was very large, with kitchen facilities that are useful for long stays. The front desk staff was very unprofessional, but they are not trained for service jobs. Apparently, much of the staff stays in the hotel while working as actors in Portland. However, they get the job done. The rooms are badly outdated, but the window air conditioner worked well, and the hotel was quiet. The "hostel" across the street was a bit frightening. It seems to attract some undesirables to the neighborhood, and it didn't really look like good things were going on in the rooms. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is just south of the beginning of the Pearl District, which is highly gentrified, and alternately off-putting/admirable because of that quality. South of the hotel is the business district, and the tourist sights to the west are easily accessible by public transportation nearby to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duct_tape_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2008

This hotel is in a good location but the accommodations are shabby, the website misrepresents the rooms and the staff is either incompetent or rude. The rooms are seriously shabby. The beds are not comfortable. The foldout couch bed is so uncomfortable that my 23 year old son would have slept on the floor but for the dirty carpet. Despite the representation on their website that rooms are air conditioned, we were put in a room without an air conditioner. Because of unusually warm weather, we had to open the windows to sleep at night. Unfortunately, patrons of the bar across the street were screaming and setting off car alarms when the bar closed down at 3 a.m. When we complained to the staff, we were told that there were no other rooms we could move to. The staff person offered a $20 per night discount for the last two nights of our stay, but at checkout that had been reduced to a $10 discount on one night. When I mentioned that the hotel website should not represent that the rooms are air conditioned when they are not, the staff person told me that our room is the only room in the hotel that is not air conditioned. That is not true - my mother came on this trip with us and when she checked in, she was put in a room without air conditioning too. Luckily, she was able to get a different room as she is 75 years old.

One of the staff members basically mocked me to my face when I expressed polite displeasure at the situation. I was taken aback as were the others traveling with me.

Considering that my sister got a rate of $84 per night on Priceline at the Westin - a beautiful hotel just 4 blocks away with air conditioning - there is no reason to pay $160 per night, sleep poorly and be treated badly.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank travelsfar21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2008

We stayed two nights at The Mark Spencer Hotel in downtown Portland. The location is excellent. Everything is within walking distance. We found the hotel nice and clean, and the service excellent. The downstairs lobby and breakfast area were especially charming. Our room was adequate, not as big as your typical motel room, but then this was supposed to be a "European-style" hotel. One nice feature was that it included a small kitchen. The downside to that was the hum of the refrigerator at night. Another nice feature was getting the New York Times delivered to our door in the morning. The breakfast was OK, the breakfast area pleasant, but the amount of seating somewhat limited. Overall, though, we liked our stay there and would definitely come back.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — not having a bathtub
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank bibiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2008

We had a wonderful three night stay at this Hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. We especially enjoyed the fact that we could easily walk to the Portland Center Stage and to many interesting places to dine. I will certainly recommend the Mark Spencer to anyone going to Portland.

  • Liked — the close proximity to theatre
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2007

The room was clean and the hotel offered complimentary Continental breakfast and daily afternoon tea and cookies. The room actually came with a full service kitchen which my husband and I did not need but it was still great that it was there. The location was within walking distance of many restaurants and also very close to the streetcar line. Included in the rate is a daily copy of the New York Times. If you love books, you will love that this hotel is only one block away from Powell's Books, a huge used and new bookstore. There is also a Buffalo Exchange within walking distance of the hotel. I don't know about you but I love vintage clothing. Portland is a beautiful city - a gem for people who love to be outdoors. Enjoy the International Rose Test Garden (free admission), the Japanese Gardens, the Classical Chinese Garden, and the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry. We took the submarine tour there.

  • Liked — the quietness
  • Disliked — that it did not include a hot breakfast in the rate
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachmama79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2007

Older hotel that needs serious updating. Hallways were dark and dingy and need carpet replaced. We stayed in a studio room that also needed updating. Everything was just really dark. Bathroom seemed to have been upgraded with new shower/toilet/sink. TINY little shelf over sink that makes it hard to get ready. Bed was really hard and room was very noisy with people next door or in hallways. Kitchenette was ok but the cutting board hadn't been cleaned in a long time as there were remains of many old foods. Staff was overall pretty good. We did request they call a cab for an early morning appointment we had but they failed to do that and we were late. They were helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants and entertainment. All pictures that I saw online were very deceiving compared to the actual place. I would probably not stay there again but I guess it is a good value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs renovations
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bulldog4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,725 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing