We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Well where do I start we had 2 hectic days in New York before arriving at the Mark Spencer so were pretty tired.Check in easy and painless gave last name and keys handed over straight away we stayed in room 406 as we opened the door we saw the biggest most comfortable looking bed ever with loads of pillows and gorgeous soft sheets,a bottle of Prosseco and Chocolates on the side(thank you Laura) big Tv on the wall,lovely bathroom there is a fridge,microwave,sink and kitchen utensils for you to use but as Portland has hundreds of fantastic bars and restaurants I don't think anyone would want to cook in there room.We stayed for three nights and each day when we came back to the hotel the room was perfectly cleaned top to bottom thank you house keeping all in all we had a superb stay and will definitely come back and will not hesitate to recommend the hotel to others.
Many thanks Neal and Tracy
P.s we stayed 27th,28th Feb and 1st March

Room Tip: Room 406 was lovely and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Doddy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Wow! Thank you so much for your review. You just described one of our beautifully renovated rooms which we are very proud of! We are extremely happy with the decor and comfort these rooms offer and are glad you felt the same.
The energy of the city will draw you in and before you know it, it's time to leave. We have many repeat visitors coming back to see the places they didn't have time for on their previous visit. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Portland and The Mark Spencer Hotel.
Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again soon.

Safe travels!
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    451
    98
    35
    26
See reviews for
240
514
128
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evanston
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Our experience at the Mark Spencer was close to perfect. I like particularly hard beds and they found another acceptable room for us. The rooms were quiet, clean, airy, and comfortable. The location was perfect. The breakfasts, which were included, were plentiful. Best of all, the service the staff provided was outstanding.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
What a nice review! Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel.
The Mark Spencer is extremely proud of the service we deliver. The entire staff is grateful for your kind words and happy to hear they've made your stay an enjoyable experience.
Thank you for being our guest. It was our pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
411 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

For travelers like us this place has it all. Brilliant location; upbeat helpful staff; remarkable amenities; and a price one can't beat. Actually it was a deal for the M. S. we saw on some "deal" email that reminded us we have been talking about how we need to get back to wonderful Portland, so we booked.

Both Portland and the M. S. seemed better than ever. Comfy, roomy, small suite; best thread-count sheets we've experienced in a domestic hotel; gratis wine reception at 5 each evening (Waterbrook, no less, from Walla Walla, one of the premier WA appellations); pleasant continental breakfast with no bogus waffles et. al.; and we got half-price parking in the basement @$9 a night. I know not why, but greatly appreciated the bargain. They offer both underground and outside "lot" parking. If you have a large vehicle or aren't a confident driver in tight places, you may wish to opt for the lot. The pillars and corners under the building are all padded, and I expect they get bumped from time to time, but in and out privileges and an elevator to the hotel lobby is a steal even at the regular $18 price. There's always coffee in the lobby, and cookies, as well, it seemed.

On the edge of the Pearl District near Powell's Book Store, Whole Foods, and Portland Center Stage Theatre, one can walk just about anywhere from here, but additionally a street car runs directly in front, and the TriMet runs a few blocks up.

If we can get in here, we'll never stay anywhere else in Portland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkykomishBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
I'm so glad you found your way back to Portland! I would have liked to welcome you back in person.
When traveling, most guests appreciate the comfort of the bedding. We receive many comments on the luxurious sheets and pillow-top mattresses. It's something nice to look forward to after a long day of sight seeing!
I'm happy you were able to join us for our complimentary wine reception in the evening. We feature a wide selection of Oregon and Washington wines for our guests to experience. It's a nice way to start your evening out on the town!
It was truly our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm Regards,
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This is about the 5th time I have stayed here in the last 20 years. I enjoy it every time. We had a junior suite so 2 separate rooms. I slept on the hide-a-bed, not exactly comfortable, but I like the privacy. Our room was on the 6th floor facing west so we had a lot of morning light and a building view. There was a kitchen, but no microwave, a coffee maker but no coffee. I unplugged the noisy refrigerator at night. Great location a block from Powell's and the Pearl District and a nice walk through downtown to the river.Had a good dinner at Andina. A very adequate breakfast, nice wine tasting and jazz in the evening. Easily available coffee and self serve espresso machine in the lobby area. Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. I look forward to going back.

Room Tip: I asked for a room with lots of light, high up so we could see out the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
I'm so happy you were able to visit during the Portland Jazz Festival and enjoyed the live music in the lobby. Portland has many wonderful festivals throughout the year that I hope you'll return to attend some of your favorites!
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We appreciate each one as it allows us the opportunity to improve our service and to thank you once again for being our guest!
We look forward to seeing you again for your 6th stay at The Mark Spencer Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

While we enjoyed the somewhat quirky, historic ambience, we were disappointed. We had an Executive King room for one night. When we checked in we were told we had to pay $18 for valet parking, but there was no valet service available. We still had to still pay the $18, park and unload the car ourselves. No discount was offered and the receptionist was not helpful at all for first time Portland visitors. The bathroom was incredibly small with no shelf space. The bed was hard. Although nicely, centrally located, there was no view. The room was musty smelling. When I checked out and was asked about our stay, I said the room was musky smelling. I was told by the receptionist that they were renovating the rooms and I could have asked for a newly renovated room if they were available. She did not offer a discount. We had planned to leave our car in their parking lot and walk around the Pearl District. That was, in fact, why we booked this hotel - because it was within walking distance of the places we wanted to visit. But, we were told we had to have our car out of their lot by 1:00 PM. So, really, there was no point in staying there. With no view and no opportunity to leave our car there, we might as well have stayed at a nicer hotel further out. Again, the receptionist did not offer any advice on what do do with our car. The staff were not entirely rude, they just were not at all helpful. We left frustrated.

Room Tip: Apparently you need to ask for one of the recently remodeled rooms to avoid the musky smell. Be fore...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CateredCrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
I would like to offer my apologies for any miscommunication you experienced while a guest in our hotel. While we do offer extrememly reasonable parking fees for downtown Portland, it is self-park with no valet. This does offer you the freedom to come and go as you please, but if this was not told to you at check-in, I apologize for any inconvenience this caused you.
We had hoped you would enjoy your corner suite as this particular room offers the best view of the city. While most of our downtown hotels have city views, it can be an enjoyable way to see the city as well as entertaining.
It is disappointing to me that we failed to make your stay with us an enjoyable experience. I would love the opportunity to earn your business again. I think you'll find the many improvements to our rooms and public spaces to your liking.
It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we do hope to see you again!
Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Love the quirky rooms, always unusual. Sometimes loud from the street, sometimes no view. Perfect location - across from Kenny and Jukes, a block from Powells, the Brewers Building, Whole Foods, and on the tram line.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you for your time in reviewing The Mark Spencer Hotel. With the many renovations that are taking place, I believe you will always be pleasantly surprised each time you return.
Our location is perfect for all the places you mentioned which are some of our favorites, too. Kenny and Zukes even had a feature on The Food Network!
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay in Portland. We look forward to having you as our guest once again!

Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

The Mark Spencer Hotel is our #1 choice for our frequent visits to Portland. This hotel reflects the true nature of the city - friendly, warm, and inviting. The hotel is undergoing extensive renovations at this time but it does not interfere with our enjoyment during our stay. The new rooms are beautiful, contemporary and spacious. The complimentary breakfast meets our needs perfectly, since we do not want an expensive, full-service, heavy meal in the morning...just a grab, eat and go operation. The coffee/tea service is available all day and night and is almost as good as the coffee shop down the road, and it's all free. We love the afternoon tea service too, but try to limit ourselves to one cookie...good luck with that. This time, we availed ourselves of the complimentary pre-dinner wine service and got to meet the general manager, Pam, who was extraordinarily nice, a true reflection of the hotel and the people we've met...the reason we keep coming back. This hotel is perfectly situated for those who wish to use public transportation, like we do, although they do have a garage here. We stopped renting a car years ago, except for maybe a day trip to Mt. Hood or the beach. This hotel is located on the border between Downtown and the Pearl District so we can easily walk almost everywhere and occasionally take the streetcar right back to the hotel. We decided to move to Portland because of the warm, friendly, welcoming people and the ease of getting around town. We have always stayed at the Mark Spencer and now we will recommend this hotel to our family and friends who come to visit us.

Room Tip: The old rooms are outdated but comfortable, however the renovated rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. We always love to hear how much our guests enjoy visiting Portland. Everything you mentioned is why we love it too! Many of our guests have decided that Portland is where they want to be with award winning restaurants, museums, festivals, brewpubs, theatre and tax-free shopping! Not many of our guests rent a car when visiting Portland as they find getting around the city easy and extremely walkable.
It was so nice visiting with you both. I look forward to seeing you again when Portland becomes your home. Please be sure to stop by the hotel to say "hello".

Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing