We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mark Spencer Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Inn at Northrup Station(Portland)
US$219
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$206
US$181
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$241
US$218
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$236
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$251
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$389
US$377
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$230
US$206
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Dossier(Portland)
US$289
US$271
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$272
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,855)
Filter reviews
1,855 results
Traveller rating
1,076
570
130
50
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,076
570
130
50
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pearlpowell's booksafternoon cookiesgreat locationcontinental breakfastwine tastingwhole foodsespresso machinewine receptionhard boiled eggsnew york timessmall kitchenwalking distanceolder hotelfood cartstwo blocksyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,094 - 1,099 of 1,855 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Loved staying there. Great location. An older hotel with small rooms, but the charm and the relaxing library, and the breakfast, and cheese and wine in the evenings in the beautiful brick room make this hotel so worth the stay. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laynie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Our beautiful brick room is the Atrium, which was designed as a gathering place for our guests to relax and enjoy wine and cheese in the early evening, breakfast in the morning, or just a quiet place to visit with friends. The brick, from the early 1900's, was lovingly restored to showcase the beauty of that era. With the addition of a glass ceiling, we've brought old and new together. There will be many more surprises as we continue with renovations. Thank you for being our guest! We hope you will come again to see all the improvements that are taking place.

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We had an absolutely amazing time at the Mark Spencer. The staff was friendly and knowledgeable. Josh, the bellhop/concierge gave us a great list of areas to check out as well as got us in to a really nice bar that is unusually hard to get into, even on a Wednesday. The rooms were comfy and helped us feel as though we were at home. The bed was fantastically comfy. Would highly recommend to anyone that finds their way to Portland.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

We really appreciate when our guests take the time to review our hotel. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. My staff was extremely excited about their mention in your review. They actually shop, dine and visit the same attractions they refer our guests to. We love our city and are happy you do, as well.
It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed at The Mark Spencer on a friend's recommendation while travelling down to California this past Christmas. Check in was a breeze, on-site parking was very reasonable ($18). Front Desk staff were very helpful and gave lots of great advice on things to do in the neighborhood. Room was a bit dated, but king size bed was very comfortable. TV cabinet was in a kind of awkward place on the side of the bed, but the free wifi and my iPad made watching some Netflix before bed a great compromise. The 12pm check-out time gave us lots of time in the morning to explore Portland a bit more before leaving. We liked it so much that we stopped again on the way back to Vancouver (Canada) after Christmas. Called for a reservation and the friendly, helpful staff honored a discount coupon that had had expired on Dec 31 for a return stay. Everything was just as good the second time as the first - the bed was even softer - I literally sank into it. Will be my go-to place whenever I come to Portland!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samuel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us over the holidays. It's always a pleasure to welcome families to the hotel! Portland is a convenient destination on the I-5 corridor and a fun city to add to your travels. So happy to hear you found the bed to be comfortable. We explored many options before choosing these particular mattresses, sheets, etc. We get many comments on the comfort of the bed and softness of the linens. Thank you for your comments.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I think the condition of a room and its furniture says a lot about the hotel; while the Mark Spencer had a lot going for it, including the amenities (wine and cheese during Happy Hour) and the super location, I would have liked to have seen furniture in better condition and for there to have been less of a tired, worn-out feel to the rooms. I was in Portland for a conference, but my husband and daughter enjoyed the sights and the neighborhood. The staff at the reception were great, and never hesitated to provide excellent recommendations for food in the area.

Room Tip: I was stuck on the ground (lobby) floor in 118 which I don't recommend! Ask for something higher up.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravelertrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review of The Mark Spencer Hotel. We truly appreciate your feedback as it allows us to improve what we do. You and your family traveled a long way and I'm happy to hear you enjoyed Portland. So many fun things to do for families!
The room you occupied has not been renovated yet and, while here, I wish you could have seen some that have been completed. Everything has been carefully and thoughtfully designed with our guests in mind. The rooms are receiving a complete makeover, including new furnishings, kitchens, bathrooms, carpeting, lighting and artwork. In addition, corridors are being remodeled with new guestroom doors, carpeting and carefully chosen artwork, featuring a different art venue on each floor. We're also adding more insulation and sound proofing.
I hope if you are in Portland again, you will allow us to show you the continuous improvements that are taking place. Thank you so much for being our guest! It was our pleasure to host you and your family.
Safe travels!
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Located in a perfect location with a wonderful famly feel in the middle a very busy city, the Mark Spencer is the perfect place to spend an overnight or even more delightful would be a week of exploration. A bus will pick you up very near the hotel for a free ride to many exciting places free. A small fee will get you anywhere in the area- so much to see and do in Portland and this hotel is the perfect place to stay. the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, the bathrooms are great and the comfort of having a small kitchenette makes left overs and breakfast easy. The daily breakfast there is a delight- as is the free Wi-Fi. So much of this hotel is perfect I fear I have left something out. The parking is underground and secure for a small fee and the PEOPLE are TERRIFIC.... Going to Portland? Stay at the Mark Spencer for ease, comfort, location and that family feeling.

Room Tip: We particularly enjoy the corner rooms- we stayed in 407... reason- glass on two sides- beautiful sunrises.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twinkle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

It sounds as if your trip to Portland was a success! We do have a great location being right in the middle of the city and only one block from the Pearl District, Powell's Book Store and so many excellent dining choices. With short city blocks and easy to use public transportation, getting around is a breeze! I hope you found several places that are now your favorites.
We would love to have you "come home" and stay with us again. There's so much more of Portland to explore! It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

All the best,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews