We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
187 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2007

Saw the comments about this being an older hotel and while there were a few things I would change, I had a great stay for two nites in July. $111 on Travelocity which was pretty reasonable. The location is perfect, 1 min to Powell's, 5 min walk to most restaurants in the Pearl District, 20 min or so to NW 21st which was a cool neighborhood, close to buses. I too was surprised that there were no signs stating you should put your towells on the floor if you needed new ones. The water pressure could have been a little better, but it wasn't bad and while I just used the fridge for some water and leftover baked goods, that kitchen area could come in handy. The computer was a little slow but served the purpose for a quick check on email, front desk was nice, appreciated the OJ in the morning. I'd stay again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    456
    99
    35
    25
See reviews for
254
524
129
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2007

We've stayed here several times over the last few years. The location is excellent. It is right in the heart of the Pearl District and within a block or two of Powells. The outside of the hotel looks like a typical older city building. The inside of the lobby is very nice and the staff is excellent. They're all dressed in suites/skirts/etc. They are very helpful when it comes to getting directions, taxis, reservations, ideas on where to go and what to do. The rooms are pretty average. They look a little old and could use some updating, but nothing that isn't acceptable (see my review of the Queen Anne in Seattle). The stairwells have very small risers so they can be tricky to go up and down, but if you're not an elevator fan, this is the way to go. The breakfast is pretty average for a continental breakfast. But since you get a kitchenette in your room, it works great. Bring eggs and bacon or something similar and you'll have a complete breakfast. The rooms have full sized fridges so you can stock up on those good Oregon/Portland micro-brews. You have silverware, plates, a few pots and pans, dish soap and a sponge, and paper towels provided for you. You also have a full sized oven and stove top. With a pretty large TV, you have all the comforts of home. The parking isn't too bad. I drive a medium sized truck and so I park in the surface lot. They have underground parking as well, but I haven't ventured down there. The surface lot isn't huge, but big enough to get a medium sized truck into. You wouldn't want to be coming and going from it though. Its just too tricky to get in and out of. But if you're coming to walk around town, you're set. Just park it and leave it. The only downside to this place is that they are still insisting on charging for their Wi-Fi. The city now has free Wi-Fi and the Mark Spencer is within the coverage area. We haven't tried the freebie yet, but I would assume it is pretty well used up (e.g. probably not enough addresses available for everyone in the coverage area). We will certainly be back here and as long as things don't take a turn for the worse, we'll always stay here.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BoiseBronco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

This centrally-located, downtown Portland hotel has comfortable suites and rooms with kitchens - a good place to park if you need to spend at least a week waiting for that interview, your new apartment/condo/house/etc.. They offer a nice breakfast that's included in the room rate.
However, we were dismayed by the internet access charge (wifi @ $8/24hrs, $35/week)
Also, our 'green' request to not refresh towels and bed linens unless we placed them on the floor was honored only for one day!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — lack of communication in understanding guest needs
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank scallop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2007

Friendly staff, continental breakfast of fruit and bagels and cereals. Nice location to Pearl District and free Internet. Rooms are older and basic but clean. Enclosed parking structure which cost $16 a night which seemed high to me. Overall nice time.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lizwood71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2007

This was my fifth or sixth stay at this hotel. Had standard room with comfortable large bed and table, armchair; kitchenette area with refrigerator, stove, etc., small bathroom with tub/shower and good sink. Room was clean, well kept up. Front desk personnel all very friendly, competent and helpful. Included in room price, breakfast with juice, cereal choice, bagels, toast, various muffins and pastries and fresh fruit, as well as excellent coffee and tea, was very good. Afternoon coffee/tea and cookies 3-5 pm a nice touch. (When I walked in with 7-year old grandson at 2:35 for a short stop before going out again and asking about cookies, young lady at front desk went behind scenes to come with the tray to have grandson help himself to a couple of cookies, a most gracious touch.)Computer in small lobby was available to hotel guests on a first-come, first-serve basis, a rather pleasant convenience, which nobody abused by hogging. Location of hotel is splendid: two blocks to Burnside St. buslines and remarkable Powell's bookshop, top Portland seafood restaurant Jake's Crawfish is just around corner, short walk to many downtown shops, library, museums, concert halls, etc., also Pearl district. 10-12 minutes' walk (or a short cab ride) to Portland's Union Station and Greyhound station. Since I have a medical situation that requires me to lie down in early afternoon I asked that care be taken to service my room early each day, which was always done. This comfortable existence and pleasant atmosphere cost me $76 per day (weekly rate, which is a 30% reduction from the daily rate quoted on internet) plus the usual 12.5% hotel tax. Local calls are 50c, 800 calls are free.
I have already booked my next stay for August and highly recommend this hotel to all except the traveler who is only satisfied with luxury accommodations.

  • Liked — Comfort, convenience to public transportation, and outstanding value for money spent
  • Disliked — Nothing special.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank melvinsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton Wa.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2007

Just returned from a busy weekend trip to Portland, where we stayed overnight at the Mark Spencer hotel. Found the room to be very clean, relatively quiet [until 4:30 am., when our next-door neighbor decided to take a shower, with all the trimmings], and reasonably priced. We were treated well by the people at the front desk. A room was available at 3:30 pm., on the 3rd floor, overlooking Stark St.. Most of our visit to Portland was by foot, streetcar [very convenient, as it runs on 10th and 11th Avenues, on either side of the hotel], and bus. The Portland Big Deal pkg., was how we booked the room, along with tickets to the Portland Art Museum included. It cost $99 for the room, [double occupancy], $44 for the museum tickets and tax was $12.38. Happy with the stay, we returned home. A shock occurred when we checked our bank balance the next day. We had been charged an extra $25.00! Called to straighten it out, and the matter was resolved. Apparently, there is a sort of "incidentals" charge of $25 which is applied at check-in, which comes off when the bill is paid at check-out (if you haven't used things like the phone etc.) This was my only negative experience there. The afternoon tea, coffee and cookies were a welcome touch, and hit the spot. Breakfast was also fine, by me. The hotel staff were friendly, the lobby was pleasant, and worth another visit. Location is hard to beat, being central to the downtown area, the Pearl district, Cultural district, Old Town and Chinatown. And it is only 2 blocks from Powell's Bookstore! Great for travellers coming in by train, as we did. You can be car-free.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank Hubqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2006

We arrived at the Mark Spencer to find that they had overbooked the hotel and would be putting us up in a corporate housing "apartment" in the next building over.

We realized going into it that the Mark Spencer was not a fancy hotel, however, we don't mind the small rooms and old charm of historic hotels. The pictures online looked good. Nothing fancy, but good. The corporate housing was a major, major step down from what the hotel interior shots looked like.

The corporate housing apartment had industrial carpet and stark white walls, two chairs and a small TV. The bed had bad linnens and a polyester bedspread that looked like it was out of a hotel room from the 80's. The bathroom was small and had a tiny shower with plastic shower bed and plastic shower liner as a curtain. Crappy towels. It made no attempt to be welcoming, charming or even just comfortable. It was a room you wanted to leave as soon as you walked in.

Needless to say, we got a full refund and went somewhere else. We felt like it was an absolute bait and switch, going from a decent property to something semi-scary.

I did some research on Expedia.com and found winter rates during the weekend at the Mark Spencer average about $110. You can stay downtown at the Mariott for $20 more/night and its gorgeous and newly remodled. I recommend paying the $20. I will absolutely never book there again. Regardless of if I actually got to stay in the real hotel the next time.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank rstlne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 139 in Portland
2,720 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
1,154 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 139 in Portland
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing