We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Great location”
Reviewed 17 February 2011

great location to check out old town and the breweries. Room was just ok, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlegirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    484
    107
    38
    27
See reviews for
286
583
139
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Mark Spencer again this year. The hotel is very clean and quiet. Front desk is always very cordial. The afternoon wine tasting is a very nice perk. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are great. I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay when visiting Portland. It is within walking distance to all the great shopping and restaurants and even Whole Foods.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank princessdecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is a great downtown hotel, right in the pearl district close to everything. My wife and I had a great time! It started with the free wine and cheese in the hotel, then off to dinner at one of the many great resturants close by, then followed up with a movie. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and we had a very relaxing, good time. I can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cascadia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mark Spencer for five nights while attending a medical conference across the street at the Governor Hotel. The room is a small apartment, complete with full kitchen, nice living room, dining table with four chairs, big bedroom with comfortable bed, spacious dressing room, and adequate bathroom with plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Only problem was the aforementioned paper-thin walls, and ceilings, which was only a problem for one night, when a young child was racing back and forth in the room above, for a long time. Outside noise wasn't a problem in our courtyard-facing room The double-paned windows that open do a nice job of blocking noise.

The Mark Spencer is very conveniently located in downtown Portland, close to Powell's and a couple of great grocery stores, walking distance to all the fabulous restaurants in NW Portland. And the neighborhood is safe. And the price is extremely reasonable.

The Mark Spencer is definitely a good choice for anyone looking for a nice place, for not too much money, in a good location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2011

Never having stayed in Portland we had no idea where to stay, while not trying to break the bank. Seeing this hotel in a guidebook we stopped by to enquire and were pleasantly surprised by the warmth of the decor and pleasantness of the staff. All in an affordable price. Staff were knowledgeable of the area and provided a great resource to explore the city. Clean, quiet rooms. A location which made walking around downtown easy. Try Kenny and Zukes lunch deli across the street, fabulous food.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Go-wander-rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

My son and I stayed in the executive suite with separate bedroom for me for four nights. The bedroom very nice and private allowing freedom for son to venture out until wee hours and not disturb the sleeping mom. The kitchenette came in handy ,though not really needed because of the generous fare in the lobby. The subtantial breakfast and afternoon tea kept us well fed. Location is perfect- everything within walking distance. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly (Thank you Lena, best employee ever!) We will be staying here again- frequently as Portland is our new favorite! Mark Spencer Hotel is perfect in every possibly way. Wonderful stay!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindasuehoofnagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

We used their name your price option on the advice of someone here and put in $69 for a basic room. They accepted the bid and we were happy. Parking is $18/night but it is in a secure parking garage. They have pet friendly rooms ($15 fee). Their location is great; we were in town for a concert at the Crystal Ballroom which was only about a 2 block walk from the hotel. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Room was clean and bed was comfortable (no sore backs or necks). We had a room on the street side and the noise didn't bother us a bit. I suppose that could change during the summer if one had the window open and you weren't used to sleeping with street noise. The room had a small upright refrigerator, stovetop, microwave, and toaster. Am sure they provide a coffee maker as well. They also provide dishes and utensils, and table and chairs. The room also has an ironing board and iron as well as a blow dryer. Breakfast is provided in the morning (we didn't partake so can't comment on it), and checkout time is noon (very nice!). Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarlaDazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,207 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing