We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Portland Downtown
Ranked #37 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Really nice”
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great location, and comfortable beds in an excellent room. High marks for the outstanding breakfasts at the Bistro Restaurant in the main building. The buffet is wonderful, and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. Really enjoyed our stay here, and highly recommend. Try the orange cake on the pastry tray when you go through the buffet. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Book the executive tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I was happy to read you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff. I will share your comments about our buffet and the orange cake with our chef. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    997
    439
    165
    75
See reviews for
353
543
101
1,173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leaburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Very disappointing stay. Check-in was ok, but after struggling with mis-behaving elevators and rolling our bags down a stark and dark hallway to our room, we were beginning to wonder. Then we entered our microscopic room and VERY tiny bathroom, and discovered that in order to connect to the internet, we would need to have our Honors card number and password. Well, I had forgotten to bring either one with me and did not look forward to the prospect of heading back down to the lobby and stand in line again. Even with that hassle, I am not sure whether I had the status level to qualify for what is now free in most hotels. Why is it that we should be paying top dollar for a small room, and then be asked to pay for internet access, plus $32.00/day (!!!) for parking? As I recall, breakfast used to be included as well, but no longer. There are better deals elsewhere in downtown Portland. Try one of them next time. We will.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in Portland, I appreciate your honest input. At our hotel, we like to provide a positive experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and meet guest expectation.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

Main building Room was Small, with one double bed, cramped bathroom & had to call for hot water to be turned on!
We only stayed two nights on this trip, no real complaints just a little disappointing overall.
Resteraunt area was being newly carpeted so there was no breakfast buffet but we were told we could pop across the road to the "Other part of the Hilton" to use their buffet (we didn't bother) & when we returned in the evening we wanted after dinner drinks; we found the bar was closed due to the new carpet being laid & again we were referred across the road (again we didn't bother), The Nice view from our 19th floor room was a Positive & so was the friendly staff. Not bad but just not great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Leshadanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed the view from your room and our staff. I do apologize that our carpet replacement spoiled your dining experience with us. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with was again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Executive Tower which is a separate building from the Hilton Portland. Parking is not free. Internet service comes with a fee except under certain conditions; we didn't use it. The rooms were nice and very clean. It is in a very convenient location with public transit nearby. We might stay there again or somewhere else nearby when we go back to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like2Ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our fellow travelers. We hope you have another opportunity to visit us again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated in downtown core which is great for shopping walking to pubs and resturants. We opted for an upgrade to the executive tower from previous reviews we chose the better option but thinking that an upgrade gave us some view of the city we were given a room facing the enclosed gravel courtyard. When i inquired as to the room selection was offered to move us to the other location across the street. Having been on vacation for past 10 days and staying at the Hilton's other properties Garden Inn/Homewood suites it is unbelievable that The Hilton charges 10.00 per IP address within the room!! ! ( having been a gold member for 2 years until now this was free service) Went to use the business centre which again charges you for use , printing and other business functions where their other properties provide this as a complementary service. Difficult to comprehend the charges across your various properties!! The room itself was a large comfortable well appointed double bed room. Very clean. The staff were very helpful and attentive but other then location would opt for another Hilton property due to the upselling of Internet and business office. also parking garage next to Hilton charges $22.00/night versus $32.00 opt for the parking garage!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelesutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed our location and staff. We have a variety of views depending on your room location and I apologize that you did not enjoy yours. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Portland again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights July-August and had no complaints. Really surprised reading other reviews about small rooms and bathrooms. We had what I thought was a standard room and found both rooms spacious. House keeping was excellent and were willing to fit in with our schedule. The concierge was very helpful. Check in very quick and efficient. Excellent location. Would reccommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaclovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff. I will share your experience with them. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The location is very convenient. Close to train station (was coming in from Seattle) and the MAX (was leaving by air the next day). Room was nothing special, and lacked a fridge. Ate at the Heathman's across the street, which I can recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tkpkrdvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Portland Downtown

Property: Hilton Portland Downtown
Address: 921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204-1124 (Formerly Hilton Portland & Executive Tower)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#37 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Portland Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Portland Downtown has been transformed into a modern newly redesigned hotel, conveniently located in the heart of downtown with spacious guest rooms and executive level amenities. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown’s business district, exclusive tax-free shopping, authentic restaurants and exciting entertainment venues.* HopCity Tavern & Market - our new restaurant concept featuring a modern American gastro-pub cuisine and a grab and go market featuring Stumptown coffee and grab and go snacks and sandwiches * UPS business center - staffed Mon-Fri and a 24-hour computer/internet access connectivity center * Wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage * Concierge desk * Complimentary 24-hour fitness room with an indoor waveless lap pool * Computer/internet kiosk available in lobby * ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portland And Executive Tower
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland Executive Hotel
Portland Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing