We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Ranked #37 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel - good location”
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Nice clean rooms - what you would expect from a Hilton. Good location in downtown - easy to walk to all the local areas such as Pearl district and Pioneer Square. Watch out for parking - in the end it was easier to do valet parking - but they certainly make you pay for it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerfrombristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    988
    431
    163
    74
See reviews for
348
539
100
1,144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Clean hotel, great location, standard upscale business type of hotel. We were in the Executive Tower and our only complaint was our very loud neighbours (throughout the day). The hotel did attempt to send a security guard to tell them to keep it down when we informed them. It was just an unfortunate unruly group. Otherwise, the linens were fresh, bathrooms clean, and elevators nice and quick. Self parking for $22 was not bad either. Loved the walking distance to most of the shopping. The Pearl district was a little bit further but still easily reachable by foot.

One thing that consistently frustrates me (not only at the Hilton) is that it seems the more expensive or "luxurious" the hotel, the less likely they are to give complimentary wi-fi. In this day and age, I think it is absolute larceny to expect people to pay upwards of $10/day for wi-fi usage. Meanwhile, run of the mill $79 motels will give it free.

Room Tip: Executive Tower seems newer and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oiler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Great location, and comfortable beds in an excellent room. High marks for the outstanding breakfasts at the Bistro Restaurant in the main building. The buffet is wonderful, and the staff is very accommodating and friendly. Really enjoyed our stay here, and highly recommend. Try the orange cake on the pastry tray when you go through the buffet. Fantastic!

Room Tip: Book the executive tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I was happy to read you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff. I will share your comments about our buffet and the orange cake with our chef. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leaburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Very disappointing stay. Check-in was ok, but after struggling with mis-behaving elevators and rolling our bags down a stark and dark hallway to our room, we were beginning to wonder. Then we entered our microscopic room and VERY tiny bathroom, and discovered that in order to connect to the internet, we would need to have our Honors card number and password. Well, I had forgotten to bring either one with me and did not look forward to the prospect of heading back down to the lobby and stand in line again. Even with that hassle, I am not sure whether I had the status level to qualify for what is now free in most hotels. Why is it that we should be paying top dollar for a small room, and then be asked to pay for internet access, plus $32.00/day (!!!) for parking? As I recall, breakfast used to be included as well, but no longer. There are better deals elsewhere in downtown Portland. Try one of them next time. We will.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us in Portland, I appreciate your honest input. At our hotel, we like to provide a positive experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and meet guest expectation.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

Main building Room was Small, with one double bed, cramped bathroom & had to call for hot water to be turned on!
We only stayed two nights on this trip, no real complaints just a little disappointing overall.
Resteraunt area was being newly carpeted so there was no breakfast buffet but we were told we could pop across the road to the "Other part of the Hilton" to use their buffet (we didn't bother) & when we returned in the evening we wanted after dinner drinks; we found the bar was closed due to the new carpet being laid & again we were referred across the road (again we didn't bother), The Nice view from our 19th floor room was a Positive & so was the friendly staff. Not bad but just not great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Leshadanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed the view from your room and our staff. I do apologize that our carpet replacement spoiled your dining experience with us. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with was again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed at the Hilton Executive Tower which is a separate building from the Hilton Portland. Parking is not free. Internet service comes with a fee except under certain conditions; we didn't use it. The rooms were nice and very clean. It is in a very convenient location with public transit nearby. We might stay there again or somewhere else nearby when we go back to Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank like2Ctheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our fellow travelers. We hope you have another opportunity to visit us again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

The hotel is situated in downtown core which is great for shopping walking to pubs and resturants. We opted for an upgrade to the executive tower from previous reviews we chose the better option but thinking that an upgrade gave us some view of the city we were given a room facing the enclosed gravel courtyard. When i inquired as to the room selection was offered to move us to the other location across the street. Having been on vacation for past 10 days and staying at the Hilton's other properties Garden Inn/Homewood suites it is unbelievable that The Hilton charges 10.00 per IP address within the room!! ! ( having been a gold member for 2 years until now this was free service) Went to use the business centre which again charges you for use , printing and other business functions where their other properties provide this as a complementary service. Difficult to comprehend the charges across your various properties!! The room itself was a large comfortable well appointed double bed room. Very clean. The staff were very helpful and attentive but other then location would opt for another Hilton property due to the upselling of Internet and business office. also parking garage next to Hilton charges $22.00/night versus $32.00 opt for the parking garage!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michelesutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read you enjoyed our location and staff. We have a variety of views depending on your room location and I apologize that you did not enjoy yours. We hope you have another opportunity to visit Portland again soon.

Take care,
Anthony Rico
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 139 in Portland
1,154 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
1,932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 139 in Portland
880 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Portland & Executive Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Property: Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Address: 921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#37 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Portland & Executive Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 782
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Portland & Executive Tower has been transformed into a modern newly redesigned hotel, conveniently located in the heart of downtown, comprises of two buildings: the landmark Hilton Portland and the upscale Executive Tower with spacious guest rooms and executive level amenities. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown’s business district, exclusive tax-free shopping, authentic restaurants and exciting entertainment venues.* HopCity Tavern & Market - our new restaurant concept featuring a modern American gastro-pub cuisine and a grab and go market featuring Stumptown coffee and grab and go snacks and sandwiches * UPS business center - staffed Mon-Fri and a 24-hour computer/internet access connectivity center * Wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience. The Executive Tower, soon to be renamed The Duniway Hotel with its own unique boutique flair showcases: * Newly opened Jackrabbit Restaurant by celebrity chef Chris Cosentino * Concierge desk * Complimentary 24-hour fitness room with an indoor waveless lap pool * Computer/internet kiosk available in lobby * Wired and wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Portland & Executive Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portland And Executive Tower
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland Executive Hotel
Portland Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing