We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitsch, quirky and totally Portland”
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
Ranked #63 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kitsch, quirky and totally Portland”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Really lovely hotel - quite cool and alternative. Chalkboards on the doors so you can leave messages was a nice touch! Staff were extremely helpful and there's free coffee in the morning. Agree with others comments that it can be a bit loud - there was a wedding while I was there and it didn't quieten down till past 1am, but the hotel graciously provided earplugs! Good location, some fantastic restaurants nearby. Would stay again, but probably only if I was on holiday and didn't have to work the next day!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KF1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear KF1980,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Jupiter Hotel. I'm very glad to hear you appreciated our chalkboard doors -- they're always a hit. I sincerely hope you do come back and stay with us again, on a holiday or otherwise. For a more restful stay, I might suggest a room on our quieter, "chill" courtyard side of the property, for those nights you'd like to rest your weary head before 1am. Thank you again for staying with us -- we'll keep the coffee ready for you.

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Jupiter Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    181
    101
    64
    67
See reviews for
40
209
53
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

I wish I could review this spot twice. Here's why. If you're coming here to rest & sleep is important, run away quickly!!! This is a party spot & the "quiet" rooms are booming loud until 3 a.m. Now, if you're in Portland for a great time, vacation & you're partying & used to being up until 3 a.m. You'll never find a cooler spot to stay! This hotel rocks!!!! If you're not needing good nightly rest. As for the rest though, the bed was amazing. I'm in 200 rooms a year from Best Westerns to Westin's. The Jupiter Hotel has the most comfortable beds of any hotel I've ever stayed in! The bathrooms are great size & functional.

If I were rating the Jupiter just on a cool place & not needing sleep, 5 stars. If you need to sleep, 0 stars. I love the Jupiter!!! And plan to stay there any time I don't need a good nights quiet sleep, because it's just awesome!! I actually stayed in 2 different rooms in 2 nights, both beds amazing!!! Just loud.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank D28martin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear D28martin05,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Jupiter Hotel, and for the absolutely reasonable review. I'm glad you love and endorse our hotel so heartily, and appreciate so fully our beds -- we do take pride in them. While it's true we are an unusually active property, we do aim to accommodate all of guests, partiers and business travelers alike. Just in case you ever decide to stay with us AND attempt your hand at slumber, might I suggest a room on our quieter, "chill" side of the property. While still every bit the Jupiter experience, staying on the chill side hedges your bets to get the best of both worlds.

Thanks again for staying with us at Jupiter Hotel.

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Jupiter Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Spent a food centric weekend in PDX and the Jupiter made for a perfect home base. Hitting Le Pigeon, Pok Pok and many others during the trip. The front desk staff was exceptional and the room & property were clean and very comfortable...Cabs into downtown were cheap so getting around was a breeze. Jeri & Jed at the front desk were amazing and made us feel right at home... even when we asked for exceptions to things they found the most polite way of saying NFW! See you again soon...Cheers!

Room Tip: diner at Le Pigeon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGeorgetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear MrGeorgetown,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Jupiter Hotel. I'm glad you had a wonderful experience with our hotel, front desk staff, and our fine city in general. From your list of eateries, it sounds like you did your Portland research prior to staying with us, making you precisely the type of guests our staff love serving the most -- even if they have to say NFW on occasion.

Thanks again for staying with us at Jupiter Hotel.

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Jupiter Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Loved this hotel. It has a very good bar & live music venue right smack in the middle of it called the Doug Fir. This was the highlight of the stay as we were in Portland with the intention of staying up late and enjoying a couple of cocktails anyway. The breakfast was also very nice so would even recommend for that reason alone.

Rooms were creatively appointed, modern and comfortable. They even encourage you to draw on their chalk-board doors and submit your drawing to their blog. I really got a sense of the Portland style staying here.

Location is great, they have covered secure parking and it's easy walking distance to a few good spots.

One word of warning though. The bar has a large outdoor patio and is very popular - even on a Monday night when we stayed there so it's quite noisy and quiet hours start at 2:30am. I'd suggest going with the flow and hanging out with the crowd. It was a good time.

Room Tip: There are rooms further away from the bar courtyard - so if you'd like a quiet night in I'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toofones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Toofones,

Thank you so much for staying with us at Jupiter Hotel. I am thrilled to hear you had such a remarkable experience and that you made the most of the amenities we provide -- I hope you adorned our chalkboard doors with your own work of art. Keep us in mind for all your future stays, and we'll make sure we keep the good times flowin'.

Thank you again for staying with us at Jupiter Hotel.

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Jupiter Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I first stayed at the Jupiter back in 2004, which means I am a repeat customer - and which shows how happy I am with the place. Adjacent to the Doug Fir Restaurant / Lounge /Night Club, the Jupiter is most everything an independent 'boutique' hotel should be - hip, funky, adjacent to great night life, eclectic guests, friendly, hip, and young staff. Yes, I said 'hip' twice in that last sentence, because it fits. The rooms have been remodeled to European standards,right down to the bedding and the Voss bottled water. The chalkboard door and bucket of chalk in each room adds a nice, whimsical touch, as does the discrete basket of items for use by guests. Staff were polite, friendly, and very knowledgeable about area attractions (check out nearby Rum Club, Noble Rot, and Base Camp Brewing). The parking for guests under the hotel is secure (keyed entry). Yes, the rooms facing the courtyard will be noisy, especially on Friday or Saturday nights, or whenever there is a band playing - but the beds are so luxurious that I never have trouble sleeping at the Jupiter. Adjacent to a wonderful place (Doug Fir) for breakfast, lunch, happy hour, supper, and a romantic evening of drinking or dancing - what could be better? I know I'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for 'chill side' rooms, which are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Barbara S,

Thank you so much for your return business and for taking the time to share such a detailed experience. I am glad that 10 years later we are still impressing you and delivering the vibe and service we promise. I hope to have you stay with us for the next 10 years.

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is an old motel, reinvigorated with lots of funky murals, really comfy beds in the retro part of town about 15 mins scenic walk to centre of Portland. Safe, flat walk over the Burnside bridge. This part of town has good cafes and restaurants. Clubs and bars and tends to have the 20-30s congregating for cocktails after work. The Jupiter is good value, spotlessly clean and well located.

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side especially if you are staying on a FRI/SAT night as can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Violetmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Violetmags,

Thank you for staying with us at the Jupiter and for taking the time to help us know how we are doing as a hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our vibe; the good location doesn't hurt either. Come back and stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

hotel is nice and clean has an hip style in a central location especially close to conference centre but it is too noisy in night, there is a bar near you can hear loud music and people's loud chat, would be problematic if you want a quiet stay

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neonch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aljupiter, General Manager at Jupiter Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Dear neonch,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am sorry that the noise was a bit of an issue for you, however next time you stay with us the chill side of the property should be more suited to your needs.

Sincerely,

Zach Miller
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 140 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Inn at the Convention Center
#71 of 140 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Property: Jupiter Hotel
Address: 800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214-1221 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jupiter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jupiter Hotel, a mid-century, renovated motor inn-turned-boutique hotel in the heart of Portland, minutes away from Downtown Portland, the Oregon Convention Center, the Pearl District and the Rose Garden Arena. A refreshingly affordable minimalist hotel for creative business nomads and urban explorers, the Jupiter Hotel offers 81 guestrooms, over 4,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space, an airy bamboo courtyard and outdoor fireplace seating for guests. Jupiter Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless internet, locally-roasted Water Avenue organic coffee every morning in the lobby, bikes for rent and Natura eco-friendly bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing