We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will visit again”
Review of Jupiter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jupiter Hotel
Ranked #63 of 139 Hotels in Portland
So Cal
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will visit again”
Reviewed 12 September 2007

OK so this hotel isn't a fancy smanchy, bell boy up your butt for a tip kinda place, but rather a laid back, just the basics, kinda do your own thing sorta place. It really isn't meant to be a place you spend a ton of time at on your vacation. It's more of a place to touch base and set up camp then go out and explore the amazing city and things that Portland has to offer. This is not to say that Doug Fir isn't amazing, because it does have excellent food, very friendly staff and a cool little fire pit outside to hang at. After dark it does get really crowded and a younger crowd seems to move in, my husband and I are in out mid 30's but we just walked down the street to another place. As far as the noise level I kept reading about? I was actually a little disappointed, I was expecting insane booming bands, crazy strobe lights and mosh pits or something I guess cause our first night there, I was like "what loud music?" The stage is down stairs, under ground! Seriously people, you can't hear the dang music if you tried. I wish we had actually gone to a show there, but we ran outta time.

The front desk was helpful enough as we called several weeks before to confirm our reservation and the young man jokingly told my husband that he had us down for 5 rooms, they both had a good laugh and he eventually did confirm our reservation. We also called from the train station to ask about the best public transpo to get there and he simply told us the easiest way was to take a taxi... fair enough, as we discovered Burnside bridge was under construction and closed so that was sound advice. At check out the young girl was very sweet and asked about our stay and where we were from. She asked if we needed a cab and gave us the thumbs up when we said we were just gonna take the bus and catch the MAX to the airport. She seemed genuinely interested in what we had to say.

The room was plain, bed on a low platform, small table and chairs, chalkboard paint on the door with chalk for drawing. An overpriced bottle of water that we didn't open and nice, clean bedding. The shower curtain was clean and had a cool design on it. They provided basic toiletries and yes the notorious condom, my husband's only complaint was that they didn't replace it the second night ;) Ice machine was kinda far, inside the covered patio area, but we found it fine and used it often. There was a tv and air conditioner but I don't think we used either, we were too busy exploring out and about. The wireless did seem painfully slow at times, especially over by the patio and Tattoo shop, but was there and free so roll with it.

They have a tiny ( I mean tiny!) shop that sells adult novelties, we checked it out, had a few laughs with the guy working there, he was very nice, the shop was actually cute in an adult kinda way. My husband got a massage across the street at Mana, he said it was "OK" nothing special. We visited Color Bomb Tattoo shop on-sight and ended up both getting worked on and the guys there are "A" plus professionals who are very, very nice and talented. Grendel's coffee house across the street has excellent java and bagels with hummas that are fabulous!

As far as location? We had no car and walked or took the bus or the MAX everywhere, and I mean everywhere with no problems at all, the bus stop is like 1 block down, the max is a few blocks over... we walked it once and took the bus over to the max a few times. It's central location makes it easy to get to the Pearl District as well as Alberta and just across the bridge is down town. We walked alot at night to and from the hotel from various locations and never had a problem at all with panhaddlers or the like (that would never be the case back in good ol So Cal)

Bottom line:
Good price for the area, great location, great food, nice people around the hotel and on-site shops. Not a place to visit with children or if you want "fancy". Yes we were some of the oldest people there, but there were older couples that fit in just fine, it's all about the mind set.

  • Liked — very walkable location
  • Disliked — wireless was slow
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mrskringle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    180
    101
    64
    67
See reviews for
40
209
53
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hartford, ct
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2007

We came into Portland with only a "Let's Go" USA book and we were happy with our stay. We were 2 couples and we had a nice, clean, funky room with 2 queens beds. It was on the small side but that didn't matter. The staff was very helpful and we were in walking distance to lots of shops, restaurants and bars. Overall a very positive experience. Oh ya, and free condoms and chalk to write on your door with....

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyzinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2007

We can honestly say this was one our worst hotel experiences ever. We travel a lot, domestically and internationally, and always try to sleuth out local, modern and independent establishments. From the hipper than thou, thouroughly unhelpful front desk staff to the teeny, stark, inefficient, paper-thin walled rooms, our Jupiter Hotel stay was one over-priced annoyance from start to finsh. No amount of their hipster nightlife scene or glossy web photos can redeem this rip-off.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
Thank FieldofHearts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Portland hotels

Cowtown, TX
Level Contributor
123 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

we needed a place to stay for 5 days and booked this based on Fodor's review. It has almost no furniture, zero closet (just a rack on the wall) so setting up for a several day stay was impossible. It is also a happening night spot and concert venue we discovered. the night we spent, the band and audience errupted from the hall and loudly played all over the parking lot just outside our room after midnite! we moved to another hotel asap. ps. the capper was that a Jupiter Hotel condom was on the nightstand. honest!

  • Liked — urban location
  • Disliked — noise and crowd of concert hall; funky room, no place for luggage or clothes
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2007

Rooms are small, stark and cheap. Not cool minimalist, bad IKEA. The bed is a hard, flat platform with the a/c unit looming over your feet. The TV is above that all the way at the ceiling. Nothing on walls, astroturf carpet, sheets smelled of smoke. The outdoor lounge rages on until 2am where the music stays blasting until just before 3am - then the leaf blower starts at 10am to clean it up. I lived above a nightclub in NYC and I could sleep better. Good band crash pad, but no comforts here.

  • Liked — $5 parking
  • Disliked — the accommoation
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank thegreendoughnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pippigirl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Pretty lame when the guy at the front desk makes you cry. That's mostly what I remember... poor directions for getting around, $7 for the garage(????), noise, noise, noise! At least they provide ear plugs in the room, and to top it all off no hot water! Both at night when I tried to take a bath and in the morning for a shower.
Having said all that, there were some nice perks, after the guy was so mean and made me cry, he realized what a turd he'd been, he brought me a coupon for free breakfast next door and the very cool bar/club/restaurant Doug Fir, which was also great for drinks at night and a stones throw from the hotel doors. Also the bed was insanely comfortable. Great linens, pillows, blankets, nice decoration for the small room. Good selection of cable channels as well. I guess I would say, they are trying with all they've got. It's fun, just don't go expecting superior service, and for nearly downtown Portland, it's still a good deal.

  • Liked — The fabulous bed
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pippigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2007

Ok this place is really cute and in a perfect location with cool shops, and easy to get around area. The front desk is a hit or a miss. Nice or hungover > who knows? But be warned unless you are ready to party till 2 this place is super noisy. They do give earplugs and condoms in each of the rooms. The best thing this hotel has going for them is Doug Fir. The food was so good we ate there 4 times. breakfast, lunch, dinner. Great music with a nice scene after 6. Portland was laid back, and the people were so nice.

  • Liked — Fun, & easy
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Luna38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Crystal Hotel
Crystal Hotel
#41 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#27 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Inn at the Convention Center
#70 of 139 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jupiter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jupiter Hotel

Property: Jupiter Hotel
Address: 800 E Burnside St, Portland, OR 97214-1221 (Formerly Travel Inn Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jupiter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Jupiter Hotel, a mid-century, renovated motor inn-turned-boutique hotel in the heart of Portland, minutes away from Downtown Portland, the Oregon Convention Center, the Pearl District and the Rose Garden Arena. A refreshingly affordable minimalist hotel for creative business nomads and urban explorers, the Jupiter Hotel offers 81 guestrooms, over 4,000 square feet of unique meeting and event space, an airy bamboo courtyard and outdoor fireplace seating for guests. Jupiter Hotel amenities include complimentary wireless internet, locally-roasted Water Avenue organic coffee every morning in the lobby, bikes for rent and Natura eco-friendly bath amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jupiter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jupiter Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing