We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very handy to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #105 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very handy to airport”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and the end of our America/Canada trip. The first time we were downstairs and the second time upstairs, the stairs are not a problem at all as some people have complained and they do have disabled units downstairs. The rooms are well appointed and very clean and the airconditioner was lovely and cool during hot weather. Both reception and housekeeping staff are helpful and courteous and the breakfast was very enjoyable. The only negative was the Saturday night we were there, they were full and the hot water wasn't hot enough. We informed the staff and they said it had been fixed that morning but perhaps it hadn't been rectified.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 82Janey_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to review your stay with The Rodeway Inn. We are glad we could provide you great stays both times you stayed with us. It is true we had water heater problems the night of your stay and they had been rectified. We had to replace the pump and it was discovered in the evening of your stay and we had it repaired Saturday morning. We take every compliant seriously and do everything in our power to rectify complaints immediately. This hotel is great for guests who need a bed and shower for an early morning or late flight out of PDX. We are close to the airport without the noise of airline traffic. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    69
    55
    32
    37
See reviews for
67
64
37
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

For one of the cheapest rooms in the city, the Rodeway Inn hit all the high points: Courteous staff, clean rooms, little noise. The pool was also clean, too, and the shower was clean and had great water pressure. The only issue I saw was the lack of elevator. The motel doesn't have many third-floor rooms but my girlfriend and I got one, and it was a bear to haul all of our travel gear up two flights of stairs (not that I didn't need the exercise).

For the record, we stayed in a queen room, and the commute to downtown was about 15-20 minutes and was easier to handle traveling the non-highway route.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Thank you fro reviewing our stay with us. Our Rodeway Inn is a great price point for a room with a comfy bed and a hot shower. Our staff does pride itself on making customer service being a top priority and understand the importance of an impressive. It is annoying being an exterior property ad outside properties do not have elevators. Please feel free to contact the front desk and see if we can accommodate a lower floor for your convenience We have a great transit system right behind the hotel and it only costs five dollars to get downtown and back without the hassle of driving. We have easy to read and understand map at the front desk. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Very disappointed at this place's managerial system. I booked through Expedia asked for a room that would accommodate 3 people with 3 beds, so Expedia charge me 1 room with two beds and one extra rollaway bed. What happened was that when we arrived at the Rodeway Inn the front dest staff told me that they never have rollaway, and addressed that it's Expedia's fault, so I was forced to pay for an extra room besides the one we reserved.
To compound the discrepancy, at time of checking out next day I found that Expedia had already charged my card the price for the room with 3 beds. So we talked to the assistant manager of Rodeway Inn and at the same time called Expedia described to them the problem, the result was that, the Rodeway Inn assistant manager promised to talk to their manager (who was undergoing family issue and was not there that day) and call us back asap to resolve the issue.
Anyway, Rodeway Inn never call us back, and when we called them like the 3rd time, the front desk receptionist said to us offensively "do you know anything about hospitality? you've stayed the room already, nothing we can do, it's Expedia's fault, Expedia is the 3rd party, nothing to do with us!" So we asked him back "so, Expedia has nothing to do with you, can you tell me that Rodeway Inn is not receiving any revenue from Expedia upon this transaction at all? Expedia may be the 3rd party, but it's the extension of Rodeway Inn.......!" one common sense immediately silence the front dest staff, and so he connect us to the manager, who claimed was not informed regarding this matter at all...............!
Well, what happened at the end was that Expedia and Rodeway Inn tried to avoid their own responsibilities by blaming one another, and I ended up paying for an extra room and the rollaway bed that never exist in the first place..............
The funny thing is that I wasn't really looking for refund or anything, it may be a surprise to Expedia and Rodeway Inn that, all I looked for was their acknowledgment of the issue, make improvement in avoidance of similar problems, and perhaps a sincere apology......!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iam285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I would like to apologize for the miscommunication between the third party used, the hotel and the hotel staff again. I would like to remind anyone who books their stays through a third party reservation system to please reach out to the hotel to confirm your stay needs and make sure the hotel can provide the amenities you require. We are an exterior corridor hotel and as such we do have or offer roll away beds. The hotel and its staff will always go out of its way to provide the best customer service possible to every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a low-end room: two flights of stairs to upstairs rooms, extreme highway noise in the parking lot, and a pool surrounded by asphalt. The entire time we were at the pool, there was loud constant noise from the carpets being cleaned in all of the rooms. Not peaceful in the least! This hotel shares the lot with a Quality Inn. Rodeway Inn guests are told "The continental breakfast is for Quality Inn guests only" which serves to reinforce the low-end nature of this motel. These rooms need a huge overhaul - the sink had a large black hole in it - and so the relatively high price wasn't, I felt, justified. The Best Western nearby looked like a better choice. TAll of these airport-area hotels are really only a place to hang your hat for a day/night after/before flying in/out, but in this day and age these Rodeway Inns, as part of the larger Quality line, are an embarassment to this company. One woman at the desk - red hair - was very capable and friendly. Fitness room has 2 machines,but a good TV and an attached restroom, which is always nice. And a nice selection of places to eat nearby (NOT on Sandy Blvd, though) So, two stars instead of one.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NHMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for choosing to review your stay with The Rodeway Inn. I have reviewed all of your concerns and would like to reassure you we will look at making this Rodeway Inn one of the best. We are consistently upgrading rooms and upgrading our amenities. It is true we did take the opportunity to have all the carpets cleaned in the rooms for cleanliness because we believe a clean room is part of a great stay. Rodeway does not provide breakfast as one of their brand standards because it enables guests to pay a lower price point. Rodeway provides a clean, simple room for half the price of the continental breakfast hotels in the area. We understand how this feels to Rodeway guests but we try to make up for it with a clean, comfortable room and great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Porpoise, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Yes, there is a large Trip Advisor sign under the Rodeway sign that says BREAKFAST. The staff said that only applied to the other motel at the same location. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Room was clean. There is no elevator and outside stairs had some clutter. Pay a few dollars more for better place. Convenient to light rail to town and airport. They do have a shuttle that runs every half hour to the airport. On our day of departure shuttle van was in need of repair so I had to use MAX rail.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor when making reservation. Pick another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapePorpoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. It is unfortunate that The Rodeway Inn does not offer breakfast with their brand standards. I understand the reasoning behind it with guests wanting a lower priced hotel that provides clean, comfortable rooms but it still does not make you feel better. I want to let you that the rooms on the Rodeway Inn are clean, comfortable and have been upgraded with high definition television. We try to make up for it with great customer service, It is true the shuttle van did need to go in for repairs at the worst possible time but who doesn't experience car trouble at the worst possible time. We are right behind the light rail system and it only takes 15 minutes to go downtown on this system.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

What's the use in writing anything about this hotel... their attitude is 'we only want to make money... service? What's that? Oh... u should probably stay at the Quality Inn & Suites.'
I will say, they are close to the airport, and that is the only good thing.
The receptionist was sullen looking and laughably unfriendly... I asked about the fridge we had requested upon our booking, she told me they just don't have any... they do have an ice machine though.
I am so bewildered by the insolence
and useless attitude of some of these hospitality workers these days. Unfortunately you are seeing more and more of them being hired as the hotels want to cut costs. This is just not a good place to stay overall. No HEllo and no goodbye... just blank stares. Unbelievable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molopomaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
I am the new GM and would like to apologize that you felt you were treated this way. The hotel staff is undergoing brand new training standards and we intend on rectifying this careless attitude. It is feel this way about a lot of customer service people I come across myself. You have my word our customer service skills are and will continue to improve. I would also like to apologize for the third party agency not informing you that Rodeway Inns do not provide Microwaves and fridges in these rooms. Please make sure to call the hotel upon making a reservation with third party agency and verify we can provide the amenities you are looking for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

For your standard overnight before an early flight stay. We dropped the rental car off and took the rental car shuttle to the airport. Then we took the Rodeway Inn shuttle to the hotel. It was really nice to see a young woman as shuttle driver instead of a middle-aged man. The room was clean, secure enough, and they were able to provide a corkscrew for our bottle of two buck chuck. It ain't the 4 Seasons, but it's better than a poke in the eye.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beekysky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Thank you for your great review. I love your analogies about the shuttle and hotel. The hotel is great for someone who needs a room with a bed and a shower whole waiting for a flight in or out of the PDX airport. We are close to airport without the hassle of airport noise and airport traffic. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#96 of 142 in Portland
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#92 of 142 in Portland
38 reviews
2.8 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
0.1 mi away
Best Western Pony Soldier Inn - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Portland Airport

Property: Rodeway Inn Portland Airport
Address: 9727 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4226 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing