We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location, great service and "nice digs"”
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
279 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
“Great central location, great service and "nice digs"”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had a great visit to Portland partly because of the Westin is a great hotel and because Portland is a great town.

The Westin is located right in the city's center. Everything is within easy walking distance. The staff was friendly, helpful and solicitous. The rooms are a good size for a city hotel, clean and well appointed.

Love that "Heavenly Bed"!!

Even our dog says "Thanks" for contributing to a great weekend in Portland!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Msk6261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    310
    71
    31
    18
See reviews for
151
341
50
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel on 12/7, and checkout out 12/8. I wish I could give a 2.5 star rating as it would be a more accurate reflection of my experience.

Cons:

1) There is no gift shop. The purpose of gift shops isn't really to buy trinkets. It's for people who forgot to pack necessities, such as OTC medicines. This is my chief complaint about this hotel. If you are going to call yourself a 4 star hotel, then offer the amenities guests expect from a quality 4 star hotel. I used to travel extensively for work, and have never stayed at a 3 star or higher rated hotel that didn't have a gift shop. This was a huge deal for me, because I had a throbbing sinus headache bordering on migraine status, and desperately needed pain reliever. I asked for the gift shop location when the pain first started early evening. It was then that I learned the hotel didn't have one. I googled for the location of the nearest pharmacy. According to google, the nearest pharmacy to The Westin, was almost half a mile away. I was in Portland visiting my mentally and physically disabled adult daughter. The weather is very cold, too cold for her to walk that far and I couldn't very well leave her alone. I tried to bear through it the best I could. I didn't sleep that night, just tossed and turned, groaning in agony. By 5am, I called the front desk, begging for Tylenol, aspirin, anything. The response I received was a callous, "No." That's it. That's all she said. "No." in a tone that made me feel like I was annoying her.

2) Room service has a 22% gratuity charge, on top of the $2.95 delivery charge. I don't know if this is a new Portland thing, or unique to this hotel. All the other hotels I've stayed in (mostly in Washington State, a few times in Montana and Oregon some years back), had an 18% gratuity charge. When the room service attendant brought our food Saturday evening, I see on the bill, the tip portion is not crossed out. I asked him to verify gratuity is already included. His icy response was, "......I get a percentage." I felt bad, like I had done something wrong by asking, so I gave him additional money. In retrospect, I wish I hadn't done that, but what's done is done.

3) I'll lump the rest here. Everything in this hotel is more expensive, even compared to other 4 star hotels. Besides the 22% gratuity for room service, movie rentals (even for movies that have been out a lone time) are $15.95 per movie. Other hotels charge between $7.95 to $10.95. The TV was around 32 to 38 inches and the picture quality was mediocre making the exorbitant cost even less worth it. In room WiFi is $12.95 per 24 hours. Don't expect fast loading pages and you'll have to hit RESEND more than a few times when Skypeing. I wasn't sure where the entrance to the parking garage was located (I circled the block several times), so I ended up parking in the garage of a church about 5 blocks away. The church attendant told me parking is free if I get my ticket validated at any of the local businesses. When I tried to get my ticket validated at the front desk upon check in, the receptionist responded with, "We don't do that." Wow. Just Wow. Bezos, the CEO of Amazon, once said that short term greed is not the way to gain customer loyalty. This brand could learn a thing or two from him.

Pros:

1) The food is not fancy, but decent and the helpings are generous. My daughter thoroughly enjoyed the carrot cake which is more than enough for three people to share.

2) The quality of the hotel interior is nice. The bathroom is amazing, definitely the highlight of our stay. The shower is huge, has a rainfall shower head (LOVE those) and a separate attachment to get all those hard to reach areas. While they don't have pain reliever, the front desk does offer toothbrushes and toothpaste for those who forgot them. The workout room is spacious, clean, and has a good variety of accessories. There is an in hotel lounge and dining room, very well kept with friendly staff.

3) Upon checkout, the receptionist asked me how my stay was. I told her what happened when I called for pain reliever. She told me there was a Rite Aid just around the block. I told her that would have been nice to know, rather than hear, "No." on the phone. She was very empathetic, and comped the movie and internet rental. That was really nice of her, as I never suggested nor expected her to do this.

Overall, I rate my experience as average, not the best, not the worst. That said, I expect better from a 4 star hotel. While Rite Aid is around the corner, I still feel a quality hotel should have common OTC medicines available for guests. If a guest wakes up at 2am with a headache, intense heartburn, hacking cough, etc. they should be able to get what they need from the hotel. Otherwise, they will likely remember this and stay somewhere else. I certainly will the next time I'm in Portland.

Room Tip: Not worth full price. Do priceline's name your own price. Otherwise stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Camlin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to offer some insight into your stay at my hotel. It sounds as though there were many missed opportunities with your stay. Given the nature of our hotel, and the limited space, we do not offer a gift shop, but as you mentioned carry quite a few items that a traveler might need. We in most typical situations do not give OTC medications due to some liabilities, however there were many other ways we could have handled the situation up to and including going to the Rite Aid on your behalf. I actually reviewed this experience with my operations team just this morning based on the review you posted on Yelp.com to insure that future guests do not have the same experience. I will say that I was stunned when I Googled pharmacies that you were correct in that the Rite Aid and Target of which both are just steps from the hotel were not listed. I would certainly welcome a chance to discuss this with you further and can be reached at matt.tronsdal@westin.com if you wish. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service lapses you experienced. Given that we are a four star hotel, I do expect much more from our team and your review provided an excellent opportunity to review our service standards. It was encouraging that there was an attempt to recover as you were departing, but that may have fallen a bit short as well. Again, thank you for the gift of your feedback and time, and most of all to work to evolve and grow our service offerings. I do hope to have the opportunity to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Great shopping and restaurants close to the hotel. Also all the food trucks are just a block away. Very cozy bar area with a wonderful fireplace which was nice since we stayed during a really cold spell for Portland. Staff is very friendly and efficient. Bathroom is is very luxurious and the bed was super comfy. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annettefo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is extremely well appointed, well located, and the staff extraordinarily friendly although not always available. We had a double room. The 'heavenly' beds must only be referencing queen and king as the double bed was definitely for the peasant class. The bath linens were bright white, clean and paper thin. These minor enhancements are the hold backs from a 5 star rating, but enough to drop to a 3. Thanksgiving day happened to be beautiful so we forgo the time to partake in regular thanksgiving activities, to enjoy the outdoor scenery of Portlandia. Friday was more normal, so back to traditional Thanksgiving events.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 55LoneStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I loved the location and how intimate this hotel is..Service fantastic, bed amazing...really loved to small lobby bar for a martini with friends..Can walk anywhere in downtown from here. Starbucks coffee in room very nice... But really, It's all about the Heavelny Bed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katy600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Westin Portland for a concert that we were seeing at the Rose Garden. The hotel was very easy too find off the freeway and we were greeted by friendly staff. The location was walking distance to all the shops, food trucks and wonderful restaurants. Our room was clean and had tasteful artwork and decorations. When we walked in we had a little box of chocolates and a towel bunny on our bed- how did they know my favorite animal?? The bed was 'heavenly' and enjoyed the over-sized tile shower. We had cocktails in the lounge- a cucumber moscow mule which was refreshing after a long day of shopping. Overall, we had a wonderful experience at the Westin Portland and would recommend to anyone looking for a comfortable, classy place to stay in a perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The Westin Portland is a centrally located hotel for anything you may wish to do in Portland. We had no trouble with our check in. Kord at the curb helped us with our car and luggage, he did a great job. Front desk staff was great as was the bar staff, Keith the bartender did a great job.

Our room was standard fare for a Westin, clean comfortable but a little small. The only bad thing I would say about the hotel was the water noise from the rooms above and around ours. You could hear the toilet flush, the sink run and the shower. Other than that I do not have anything else to say. If you are looking for a nice hotel in Portland I recommend the Westin.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela-and-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,360 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,001 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing