We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”
Review of Dossier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dossier
Ranked #23 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I think the best part about the hotel is the central location - everything is easily accessible by foot to the food carts right outside your door, local restaurants, main shopping district and the countless little boutiques to explore. We had such a great time here. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed the 'happy hour' drinks/ snacks every night.

The rooms were nicely furnished and being SPG Platinum, we were upgraded to a corner room which had stellar views over the city.

Two negative things I should perhaps mention - the parking valet prices were exorbitant so we quickly arranged our own parking after the first night (which was very easy). Another thing, we felt that the restaurant staff were a bit too casual during breakfast times. On our first day, there was literally no one in the restaurant. We had to wait 5 mins before the chef came out of the kitchen to get someone to serve us. Also, I didn't appreciate being called 'darls' by someone who is a lot younger than me.

Apart from this, we loved Portland and we look forward to coming back one day soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mister7Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    317
    72
    33
    21
See reviews for
155
350
50
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I love the Westin! This hotel has a perfect location in the center of everything. Walking to coffee in the morning, shopping throughout the day and dining at night makes this hotel a perfect location in the city. Even close to a grocer -World Market - and the best book store - Powells.

The rooms are extremely clean, up to date with wonderful bedding, safe for personal items and large bathroom with a rain shower. You don't get a lot of bathroom amenities, but they have a long list of "frequently forgotten items" that they are willing to provide to you complimentarily. The tv is not exciting, but not a big issue for me. Carry your own connections for charging your iPhone, because the iHome in the room is for older model phones.

Staff is very friendly and happy at all hours.

New lobby/restaurant remodel is wonderful and modern, but still provides a classic atmosphere.

I can't wait until my next visit!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EGrunwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Dossier, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thrilled to be the favorite, and working diligently to stay that way. I am thrilled to see that take full advantage of our great location and all that Portland has to offer. We are in the middle now of a $30K upgrade for out Television Offerings, and should be completed by the end of February. Also wanted to share that we are working on updating the I-homes in our guest room to insure they take the new I Phone 5’s. We will also be keeping a stash of adapters until we get them all swapped out. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We are honored to be the favorite, and hope that you enjoy some of the coming upgrades.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I would definitely stay here again.

The front desk staff, Teresa in particular, was very friendly and accommodating, although they do get very busy since they double as the concierge desk as well.

Even the double-duty valet/bell desk helpfully suggested a parking option that was a block away which, at $25 overnight, saved us $12 over the $37 valet charge.

The lounge area adjacent to the reception desk was comfortable, cozy, and served very good cocktails (too good!) ;)

Room #610 was clean and comfortable and the blackout drapes allowed us to sleep in 12 hours :) The spacious bathroom had separate areas for the shower and the tub.

The best part about this hotel is it's convenient location within walking distance of many of the city's charms, including Powell's City of Books and the shopping district. Voodoo Doughnuts, Stumptown Coffee, and the Lan Su Chinese Garden were a longer, but still a comfortable enjoyable walk.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dexina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed as part of a sporting trip in December with a group. The hotel is really well located in downtown Portland - with easy walks to shops and other attractions. The rooms are clean and spacious and the on-site dining options are very good and well priced. Service was generally good although one female bar staff person came to work with an attitude one night and took it out on customers which we hadn't seen at all in the property. We had plans to go out on a couple of occasions but ended up being happy staying at the property. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel (as most Westin hotels) has the best location in downtown Portland.....no surprise. The restaurant is The Daily Grill.....awesome but typical of the chain's commitment to high quality. What could possibly set this hotel apart from the rest? In a word......SERVICE! Granted, most Westin hotels have been trained to deliver high levels of service------but this team, clearly has a leader who LIVES his commitment to service & models the behaviors that his team can emulate to deliver STELLAR service!
When we checked in we were dragging from a long day of weather related delays. The General Manager, Matt Tronsdall, happened to be getting in the elevator with us. He didn't "announce" that he was a manager----as a matter of fact we didn't even notice that he was a hotel employee. In an unobtrusive way he acknowledged that we looked like we'd had a rough travel day. When we told him a little about our day, he grabbed some bottled water for us, asked what he could do to make our stay more enjoyable & extended himself in a way that few GMs do-----by simply being sensitive to how his guests were enjoying their stay. He eventually, after subsequent encounters, offered his card & invited us to notify him if there was any way he could improve our stay. The entire team is service oriented & deserves acknowledgement from Westin's Corporate headquarters.........but this GM proves that it all "rolls downhill!" Good or less-than-desirable behaviors all begin at the top! I wish more people in a leadership capacity understood how important their role is like this guy!!! Thanks Westin---Keep up the impressive service Matt!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jeanann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I have stayed at the Westin many times on business but that was several years ago. My husband and I recently stayed there near the Christmas holidays. I was pleasantly surprised by the changes they made at the hotel. There is a nice lobby sitting area and bar which was great for pre-dinner drinks. The location is also great within the downtown Portland area. The rooms are as you would expect from a Westin - which means very good. My only comment is that I think charging for internet services is ridiculous. I know a lot of hotels in the US do this but I find it ridiculous.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon-Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed here one night and everyone from the Bell Hop to Room Service was pleasant to deal with. The rooms are larger than a usual hotel room, the beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms were huge. Always gotta love the shower-head that comes down from the ceiling!

The hotel is very close to a ton of restaurants and nightlife.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audifanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 143 in Portland
1,382 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 143 in Portland
1,411 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 143 in Portland
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dossier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dossier

Property: Dossier
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly Westin Portland)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dossier, Portland’s leading edge of thoughtfulness, elegance, and grace. A place where the enduring comforts of refined hospitality are elevated to something delightfully modern and altogether new. From the staff that discreetly serves you, to the bed you’ll sleep soundly upon, every experience here is designed to be surprising, rewarding, and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dossier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing