We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice downtown spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Astoria, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice downtown spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The room we had was a king bed, the bed was comfy, and the bathroom was very big with a great shower head. We had drinks at the bar and Terry was a great server! We ended up eating dinner too and I highly recommend the chicken pot pie!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rmac1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    287
    65
    22
    14
See reviews for
138
311
44
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

The Westin Portland,is a sweet hotel in a good central location. It's nice that it isn't too large, it has more of a boutique hotel feeling. My room was smallish, with no great view, but I was happy enough. I would be happy enough to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApricotHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
330 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The locations of this hotel is very, very good.

You are close to everything. The Nines is still my first choice but this is a close second.

The staff are very professional.

Of course the Heavnely bed is always a winner.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamarugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

No complains, it seems that this property was recently managed or renovated. Practically almost everything looks brand new. Excellent location in downtown. Westin standards in service. Breakfasts can be better.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdl_traveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

We've stayed at this hotel several times and always stay here when in Portland. The rooms are nicely laid out and we've always managed to get a room on the top floor. The hotel is very small by Westin standards but the staff are efficient and very helpful. It is right downtown and is an easy walk to Powell books, the Pearl district and shopping. Close to Voo Doo donuts too. The only complaint is that there is no pool and a small workout facility You can't go wrong with this choice

Room Tip: Being a gold member helps. They usually upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverBCDrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your loyalty and for taking the time to offer some insight into your most recent stay. Our central location is great, and I am thrilled to hear that you took advantage of all that Portland has to offer. We are fortunate to be close to both Powell’s and the pearl, however being this close to Voo Doo can be dangerous as their doughnuts are fantastic. Our goal is to have our guest leave with a sense of renewal feeling better than when they arrived. I am pleased to hear that our team helped you to achieve this goal. Again, thank you for sharing your experience at The Westin Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The staff at the Portland Westin were extremely accommodating, friendly and professional. As a gold SPG member we were offered a complementary room upgrade, wireless and a couple of drinks in the their lounge, all without even asking. What a great way to take care of their regular guests. The guest room was also clean, comfortable and extremely relaxing.

If you want to relax even more, and your a guy, visit Marty at The Art of Shaving for a royal shave and haircut. It is located on the back side of the same block as the Westin. Just a 3 minute walk, you will find it hard not to doze-off while reclined under a hot towel and listening to jazz.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
I am delighted to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and found The Art of Shaving to be a great experience. Even better to hear that the team recognized your Gold status and demonstrated our appreciation of your loyalty with the upgrade and amenities. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Portland, and we will hope to welcome you back when your travels next bring you back to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed for two nights at The Westin Portland (SW Alder Street) in early November 2013 with a family member. Our visit to Portland was greeted with rain, clouds, and fog – not surprising for that time of year in Portland. The hotel itself is located downtown Portland, approximately 7 blocks west of the Willamette River. I advise travelers to get their bearings before driving in the city. Portland is split by the Willamette River which runs north/south. Interstate 405 runs along the western side of river, and Interstate 5 runs along the eastern side of the river. The hotel is situated along the right side of one-way SW Alder Street. Drive in the right hand lane of SW Alder in order to pull over for the valet parking.

The lobby of the hotel is small but tastefully decorated with interesting art on the walls. Take the elevators to the right of the reception desk up to the guest rooms. The rooms are nicely furnished but pretty unremarkable. The Westin beds were comfortable (as expected). The views from our room were enjoyable – see attached photo of a photo taken at night from the hotel window. You can see a Portland food cart area below, and the bright lights of the city. Our room was a double, but it was not particularly large. The exceptional bathroom, however, was enormous. The bathroom is tiled with a wide granite-topped vanity, brightly lit mirrors, a glass enclosed rain shower, and a deep tub.

The hotel staff is friendly and helpful – smiles all around. The valets were about as good as I have ever experienced. We have no complaints on how we were treated as guests.

The hotel restaurant is the Daily Grill. We didn’t eat in the restaurant, but one night we ordered dessert in the hotel bar and the treats came from the Daily Grill. My strawberry shortcake was very tasty. The bar was really empty and quiet, so we found it relaxing.

Environs: There are abundant shops and restaurants near the hotel. I wish we had done some prior research about the best places to eat because there are so many places to choose from. I did look at reviews of some of the food carts, and I am glad I did. Many of the food carts look less than desirable from the outside. One of the carts where we ordered food was DC Vegetarian - the veggie burger was delicious. We did a lot of walking in the city and did not use the public transportation. We drove to the Japanese gardens that were not too far away from the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank April T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#8 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Starwood, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing