We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great overnight stay”
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
oahu
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great overnight stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

great overnight stay.
hotel is right in the middle of downtown, next to shopping, food, and seemed to be a lot of clubs and such.
I got in late, so the place was packed with cars and people j-walking.
checkin was smooth, issue that they didn't code correctly either of my keys and had to go back to the desk to fix.
Parking is 37$ to valet, with self parking a block down for 26$.
check the metered parking, for certain times you don't have to pay. I got in about 10pm until 1pm the next day and didn't have to pay a thing.
room was incredible, spacious with a tub and shower.
only other thing I can think of is that the elevators, there are only 2. but like 15-20 floors with about 20-25 rooms per floor...so you do the math on waiting for the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    308
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
150
339
50
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2014

1. The front desk lady who checked me in was very friendly and very respectful even though my appearance was shabby. Kudos to her.
2. The room was very clean and comfortable. I stayed for two days.
3. Great location.
4. I probably stayed at hundred different hotels in the last 10 years and this ranks near the top.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I hold SPG Gold status and used my points to stay at the Westin Portland for the weekend of my 50th birthday. This weekend reminded me why I am loyal to the SPG brand.

We checked in very late, around 12:30 am. The night front desk agent, Steven was beyond friendly and helpful, making our check-in easy. We received an upgrade to a suite on the Penthouse Floor with an amazing view. During our stay, we were comp'd a bottle of champagne and a bottle of Pinot Noir in honor of my milestone birthday.

The room and the hotel facility were outstanding. We have stayed at many Westins around the world and this was the best we've experienced. It is a smaller 19 story building. The view from the top was great. Our room had 2 huge windows over looking the city, a sitting area, a plush kind bed and a large bathroom with a tub and separate shower. The decor was typical Westin along with the signature Westin scent and toiletries.

Getting to the hotel is easy from the airport using the Tri-met MAX Red line. It is about a block from the Pioneer Square stop. Portland is such a great walking city and we found almost everything to be walking distance from the hotel.

We originally wanted to use our points to stay at The Nines. I am so glad it was not available because I cannot imagine having a better experience than we had at the Westin!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
381 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located: across the street from 40+ food trucks, short walk to river, steps from the pearl district. We were thrilled. Service was excellent. Clean, nice decor, relaxing lounge for drinks. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Hotel is centrally located to restaurants, theater, Pearl District, business offices, and food trucks. Has a boutique feel with full Westin services and resources.
Hotel staff is unsurpassed in friendliness, knowledge, and willingness to help.
Convenient and attractive privately managed bar and restaurant within hotel.
Definitely recommended for business or pleasure.
My wife and I recently stayed here for a week and enjoyed every minute with the
hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos Hills, California
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful stay! My husband is a frequent traveller and a Starwood Platinum member and set up a surprise anniversary weekend stay here! I couldn't be more impressed with the service and the suite! We received a fabulous bottle of champagne and a thoughtful card from Nic! Great recommendations from Nicole for wonderful outings and restaurants in the Portland area! Thanks for making this an anniversary to remember!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Westin Portland is a nice but not outstanding Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland. I stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip in late June.
Location: The hotel itself is well located in downtown Portland. Unfortunately the conference I was attending was across the river at the convention center. While this wasn't awful and only a 15 minute trip by light rail, it was not terribly convenient. I thought about walking but was advised against this by the hotel staff. Also I was a little creeped out by the amount of homeless ppl and pan handlers in the city. I have lived in Chicago, NYC and Washington DC and only DC comes close.
Room: I was initially placed in a corner room on the 4th floor. Unfortunately there was a whistling coming from a broken window that I knew would drive me crazy. Thankfully the front desk staff was able to find me another room. The room was relatively large, well appointed (although not fancy) and quiet. Standard flat screen TV with the usual SPG channels. The bathroom was quite large although there was no tub only a walk in shower. The shower had a tiny amount of mold around the lower edges but nothing terrible (I'm not a big mold person, but if it grosses you out, this could be a big deal). Weirdly the shower was very dated, framed with metal instead of a modern "frame-less" design, even though the rest of the fixtures looked very up to date.
Service: I thought the daily maid service was perfectly acceptable, no nighttime turn down (this isn't a St Regis). The front desk was friendly and as mentioned moved my initial room without issues.
Food: There is free coffee in the lobby in the mornings. I did not use the restaurant or room service at any time.
Overall this was a perfectly serviceable hotel but I thought it was somewhat expensive (even for the "reduced" conference price) and lacking compared to really nice Westins I've stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoosyNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing