We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but such poor service”
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #19 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but such poor service”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel has a quaint cozy feel about it, its well located and the lobby bar is quite good although there are so many negatives. There are only 2 lifts that are incredibly slow, you will wait up to 5 minutes everytime you need to use them, there was a soccer team staying at the hotel at the time and it seems its something that the hotel are not used to and are inexperienced about dealing with international sporting teams and treating the other hotel guests with any respect at the same time. There are no bathrooms in the lobby of the hotel only on level 2 where the soccer team had their meeting rooms and staff were more than reluctant in letting you use them, after asking a member of staff where the toilets where I received a response of "You know where the toilet is its in your room as your a guest" said the lady with an Australian accent.

The valets drive very dangerously, I witnessed the valet almost hit a family sitting near the driveway when reversing at speed then proceed to scrape the mirror of the black SUV without a care in the world, it could be the guests rental car in the previous review although I would think that damage to the cars is a regular occurance, I was also surprised in some of the upper managements casual dress sense of jeans.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am so sorry that we fell so incredibly short of your expectations. Our team worked hard to minimize the impact of the sports team, however we clearly missed the mark for you and your experience at my hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss further as this is not the lasting impression I wish for any guest to have. My direct email is matt.tronsdal@westin.com. I do hope that you will reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    308
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
150
339
50
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel choices in Portland are rather limited. Most of the options are older properties that have been resurrected. The Westin Portland is a more contemporary structure, circa 1980. It’s a well a kept, centrally located, civilized hotel. We’ve stayed here twice.

Parking is by valet only and very expensive. But you won’t need a car as you can access Pioneer Square (two blocks away) by Tri-Met light rail from the airport in 25 minutes. Once in town, you can use the Tri-Met, or better yet, rent a bicycle and get riding. Portland is America’s bike-riding capitol. There are several really good bike-shops and bike lanes everywhere. Drivers are incredibly courteous and deferential to bikers. Promenades on either side of the river, and eight bridges offer many great bike-routes. You can even take your bike on the train and hang it up. It’s a joy to ride in Portland.

Right outside the hotel there’s a food-truck parking lot. Food-trucks are a Portland institution, but the quality of the fare at the various trucks is hit or miss. Some are great; others are mediocre. Check the latest reviews or take your chances . You may have better luck if you just walk a few blocks north on 9th Avenue into the Pearl district, where there are lots of appealing, interesting places to eat.

Desk staff at the Westin are smart and professional. But the hotel is often fully booked or hosting special events. So the staff’s ability to offer special accommodation may be constrained.

The lobby lounge is small but not a bad place to wait for somebody . There are some nice art pieces around the common areas and in the guest-rooms. There are only two elevators and they are over-used.

Guest-rooms are a bit cramped and even the studio suites are less than 350 sq ft. It will take a bit of furniture re-arranging in the suite just to make room for two suitcases. The bathrooms, however, are quite spacious, and pleasantly decorated, with two sinks, and separate shower and tub. Higher floors have decent views and the windows do open. As usual, the Westin beds are incredibly comfortable.

Overall, the hotel is serviceable, adequate, but nothing special. Still, it’s a bit of a challenge to find something better in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a great review. I would like to connect directly to see how we might better meet your needs and move from good to great. We strive to make memorable experiences and deliver personalized service. I would welcome the chance to discuss further how we can better connect and exceed your expecations. My contact information is matt.tronsdal@westin.com. Again thank you for a great review and some wonderful tips on accessing all that my great city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashton, md
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Had one night to spend in Portland and wanted to stay downtown using my Starwood points, so chose the Westin. The location is within walking distance of many cool things in downtown Portland, that was great.

However, not only is the parking ridiculously expensive but the parking attendants damaged our rental car but claimed it was damaged before we got there - even though no one ever said a word to us or indicated on our parking stub.

The room was tiny, the exercise room was tiny as well with badly maintained equipment. The elevators were slow, the staff weren't very friendly, etc. Not much to recommend about this place, other than location - they did have a nice choice of free newspapers, to give them some credit.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpescatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am sorry to learn that your stay was less than satifactory. Please contact me to discuss further at matt.tronsdal@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived at the Westin in Portland, Oregon and were told our room would not be ready until 5 PM after being guaranteed a 3 PM check-in time. We were not given our room until about 6:45 PM. There was a soccer game in town, and the team staying at the Westin was given late checkout - 100 rooms were affected. This decision by the management at this particular Westin affected many people - not just us. We asked for some sort of compensation, and thankfully, Nicole, one of the Westin concierge staff gave us drink and appetizer vouchers. Once in our room, we realized our air conditioning didn't work correctly. We requested it be fixed about three times - never really got fixed. We requested turndown service - didn't get it. Very disappointing stay and we will not stay here again - probably will not stay in another Westin Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
8 Thank lovetotravel123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I am so sorry that we did not deliver on the promises we make as a brand. I would delighted to discuss further with you in person at matt.tronsdal@westin.com. Our desire was that the Soccer team would not impact our other guests in a meaningful way as their schedule changed late in the game. I am so sorry that we did not deliver a renewing experience and again would love to discuss with you further as we made a conscious decision to work with our Soccer Team guests and to try and balance the needs of our remaining guests. I realize we fell short of expectations and hope to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, WA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Downtown Portland location is close to everything. Park your car and walk wherever you might like. Everyone's service is top quality. The people at the front desk really care and are full of restaurant suggestions as well as sightseeing ideas.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. I will be sure to share with my team. Thank you for choosing The Westin Portland, and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed here a few weeks ago for the second time and will be back. Great location. Very quiet rooms. I love that it is pet friendly. The front desk staff was very helpful when suggesting dining. Go to the Farmers Market within a few blocks on Saturday for breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at Westin Portland with my husband and our baby for four nights. We got a standard room (I think). The room was rather small, but the bathroom was spacious and I liked that. The shower was nice and clean, I wish they had a separate tub though. Their Heavenly Bed was comfortable as always.

We requested a crib in advance but we didn't see it in our room upon arrival. We called the service desk and they brought us one quickly.

The location of this hotel is great! It's close to shopping, lots of restaurants and food carts. There are Target and Rite Aid within a couple of blocks so that was very convenient. I saw many buses and trains stations nearby.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwanLake123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing