We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #19 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Westin is a clean and modern hotel that's well-located in the city. Our room size was very comfortable. Some of the amenities were a little lacking (the gym was underwhelming by Westin standards, and there was no pool or hot tub). The room rate was quite steep considering that it's a second-tier city (sorry, Portland), but I'd stay here again if the rates were reasonable.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank yankee_traveler_212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    310
    71
    31
    18
See reviews for
151
341
50
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance of downtown and all the great restaurants that Portland has to offer... the room was clean and comfortable even when our son was there for the 1st night before heading to college. It was great to have a separate bath and shower although the shower tended to leak, we had to report damp carpeting in the adjoining closet after a couple of days. The valet service was great, a phone call downstairs meant that the car was in front when you got down. Only negative was that there was a lack of lighting for the 2 beds if you wanted to read.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to share your stay. I am so sorry to learn of your shower issue, and I do hope that the team took care of the carpeting for you. This is a great suggestion on the lighting for the guestrooms. We are quite proud of our Westin bones and the unique boutique feel that is so very Portland. If your son is attending school locally we will hope to welcome you back for a visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had a junior suite for a family of three. The room had a classic design with warm colours and we felt immediately at home. The hotel is ideally located to discover Portland. The hotel staff was very attentive. The hotel combined high quality hotel chain standards with family style hospitality. We will come back when we are in the area. A tip for travellers who don´t want to use valet parking: After 7 p.m. parking is free in the neighbourhood. Alternatively a public parking garage is within walking distance - the saving to valet parking though is limited.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
I am thrilled that you were able to take advantage of our great location and discover all that Portland has to offer. What a great tip with the parking, as I am sure you found public transportation is amazing and quite affordable and quick access from the property. Thank you for offering some insight into your stay and a great traveler tip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I stay in a hotel over all brand and this is far one of my best hotels i have stayed in quite some time. It is new and beautiful decor and furnishing.I had a bathroom suite with a firplace and it is gorgeous with a good view.The bed are very comfortable pillow are soft love this place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salem p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We spent a week travelling up the coast from LA to portland staying predominantly in Hyatt brand hotels.

The Westin portland was a beautiful older style hotel, rooms while a little small have real windows that open, beautiful views from everywhere including the shower/bathroom.

The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly.

We will be back to Portland in the future and will most likely look no further than the Westin for a room.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel has a quaint cozy feel about it, its well located and the lobby bar is quite good although there are so many negatives. There are only 2 lifts that are incredibly slow, you will wait up to 5 minutes everytime you need to use them, there was a soccer team staying at the hotel at the time and it seems its something that the hotel are not used to and are inexperienced about dealing with international sporting teams and treating the other hotel guests with any respect at the same time. There are no bathrooms in the lobby of the hotel only on level 2 where the soccer team had their meeting rooms and staff were more than reluctant in letting you use them, after asking a member of staff where the toilets where I received a response of "You know where the toilet is its in your room as your a guest" said the lady with an Australian accent.

The valets drive very dangerously, I witnessed the valet almost hit a family sitting near the driveway when reversing at speed then proceed to scrape the mirror of the black SUV without a care in the world, it could be the guests rental car in the previous review although I would think that damage to the cars is a regular occurance, I was also surprised in some of the upper managements casual dress sense of jeans.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am so sorry that we fell so incredibly short of your expectations. Our team worked hard to minimize the impact of the sports team, however we clearly missed the mark for you and your experience at my hotel. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss further as this is not the lasting impression I wish for any guest to have. My direct email is matt.tronsdal@westin.com. I do hope that you will reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel choices in Portland are rather limited. Most of the options are older properties that have been resurrected. The Westin Portland is a more contemporary structure, circa 1980. It’s a well a kept, centrally located, civilized hotel. We’ve stayed here twice.

Parking is by valet only and very expensive. But you won’t need a car as you can access Pioneer Square (two blocks away) by Tri-Met light rail from the airport in 25 minutes. Once in town, you can use the Tri-Met, or better yet, rent a bicycle and get riding. Portland is America’s bike-riding capitol. There are several really good bike-shops and bike lanes everywhere. Drivers are incredibly courteous and deferential to bikers. Promenades on either side of the river, and eight bridges offer many great bike-routes. You can even take your bike on the train and hang it up. It’s a joy to ride in Portland.

Right outside the hotel there’s a food-truck parking lot. Food-trucks are a Portland institution, but the quality of the fare at the various trucks is hit or miss. Some are great; others are mediocre. Check the latest reviews or take your chances . You may have better luck if you just walk a few blocks north on 9th Avenue into the Pearl district, where there are lots of appealing, interesting places to eat.

Desk staff at the Westin are smart and professional. But the hotel is often fully booked or hosting special events. So the staff’s ability to offer special accommodation may be constrained.

The lobby lounge is small but not a bad place to wait for somebody . There are some nice art pieces around the common areas and in the guest-rooms. There are only two elevators and they are over-used.

Guest-rooms are a bit cramped and even the studio suites are less than 350 sq ft. It will take a bit of furniture re-arranging in the suite just to make room for two suitcases. The bathrooms, however, are quite spacious, and pleasantly decorated, with two sinks, and separate shower and tub. Higher floors have decent views and the windows do open. As usual, the Westin beds are incredibly comfortable.

Overall, the hotel is serviceable, adequate, but nothing special. Still, it’s a bit of a challenge to find something better in Portland.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing such a great review. I would like to connect directly to see how we might better meet your needs and move from good to great. We strive to make memorable experiences and deliver personalized service. I would welcome the chance to discuss further how we can better connect and exceed your expecations. My contact information is matt.tronsdal@westin.com. Again thank you for a great review and some wonderful tips on accessing all that my great city has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 141 in Portland
2,002 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3412
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing