We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recapture the elegance of the Old West”
Review of Hotel Prairie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prairie City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Prairie
Ranked #1 of 3 Prairie City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Recapture the elegance of the Old West”
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We came to Prairie City as a base for bicycle day trips and general exploration of gorgeous Grant County with its Strawberry Mountains, rural valleys, rivers, rock formations and fossils. This historical hotel exceeded our every expectation. The classy and authentic downstairs lobby overlooking Front Street, with period furniture and pressed tin ceiling was a quiet conversation gathering place for guests. The common kitchen was a surprise find with large shared fridge, microwave, china, cutlery and coffee machine ready to go every morning. One warm evening we elected to have a picnic dinner in the back garden. Our room was clean with comfortable mattresses and commodious private bath. The staff was cheerful and helpful...obtaining a bike map for us in advance of our arrival! Highly recommended for couples, singles and families!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have good lighting. Steep stairs, no elevator...if that's a problem get a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PortlandJeanette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
40
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We've stayed at this quaint and historical hotel a few times and absolutely love it! Very clean, spacious bathrooms, cozy beds and exceptionally accommodating staff! 'Tis a great vantage point from which we can explore our awe inspiring Eastern Oregon!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DottieandKirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed here on a recent trip through the area in the dead of winter. I was very skeptical but without need - the room, while smallish, was very nice and comfortable. Just a couple of points for prospective lodgers: (1) make sure to reserve a room with a private bathroom, not all rooms come so equipped and I was surprised when they asked me for a preference; (2) if you expect a late arrival, call the hotel and let them know your ETA because the "office" closes at dark.

Overall: Sure, I'd recommend it - particularly considering the next nearest hotel is 20 miles away in John Day and from what we saw driving by it was nothing to crow about. We'd stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotoMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colbee H, Employee at Hotel Prairie, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you MotoMoose for staying us! We have re-done those rooms that share a bathroom; so now all of our rooms have private bathrooms. We thank you so much for your candid comments and we hope you will stay with us again.

Thank you

Historic Hotel Prairie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

The people in Prairie City, OR were wonderful, including the staff at this hotel. It is updated & close to everything in this special town. I was working in John Day for a short while & this provided a nice, restful environment for me. Definitely recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nab800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is an old restored hotel. The room was smaller than a normal hotel but very clean and comfortable. This location is a nice quiet town with mountains surrounding. The price was very reasonable. Ate at the Oxbow Restaurant & Saloon next door. The food was outstanding for a small town. Everyone in the restaurant was very friendly. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDLVKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We've stayed here a couple of times and really enjoyed it. The building has been renovated carefully with tin ceilings etc: Kind of a McMenamins feel without the murals and marauding boozers. The staff (Jen and Colby) are great--they remembered us from our previous visit 2 years ago. Rooms are small but thoughtful and appropriate. Lobby is calm and relaxing. Free wifi. Communal kitchen/braekfast area. Great dog-safe patio. Blows all the hotels in John Day out of the water

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nosnittap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

This hotel is an updated historical building and offers a clean and comfortable stay. We had originally booked room 1 because we were told it had it's own bathroom (not all do) but when we arrived we discovered that the hotel offered suites (at a higher price) after viewing both we felt that the suite which must have been 500 sq ft, included a kitchen, and was on the 2nd floor would be a welcome upgrade compared to the small 120 sq ft 1 bedroom right across from the front desk.

The hotel is pet friendly which was another reason for staying. The hotel staff was very nice and friendly at all times.

Our sheets and bedding were very clean and fresh, the kitchen was great except the coffee maker could use some stain cleaning. The room was clean, maybe not white glove treatment clean but still nice.

I would stay again and would recommend this hotel. After driving through the larger town of John Day I think you'll find the hotel setting in Prairie City quieter and more relaxing.

Like many smaller towns, the hotel and restarurants close early so arrive by 7-8 if you want to check in and still get dinner!

Room Tip: Get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank travellogger411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prairie

Property: Hotel Prairie
Address: 112 Front Street, PO Box 820, Prairie City, OR 97869
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Prairie City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prairie City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel Prairie is a non-smoking hotel offering nine rooms, including a spacious one-bedroom suite. All have private, tile baths.While relaxing in the history inspired ambiance, you can watch cable television or monitor email using the wireless internet provided by the hotel. A masseuse operates from the hotel; what a better reward after a busy day than enjoying a massage!Hotel Prairie is the place to stay while enjoying the recreational opportunities of John Day. Situated about mid-way on the Oregon Scenic Byway 'Journey through time', Prairie City offers many scenic and recreational opportunities.Nearby you can explore the John Day River and Valley, the Strawberry Mountain Wilderness with lakes and waterfalls, the Kam Wah Chung Museum, and the John Day Fossil Beds and Thomas Condon Interpretive Center should not be missed.With such a wide variety of outdoor activities, all cyclists and sportsmen and women are invited to spend thier nights in a comfortable hotel after long days of enjoying the beautiful area.The hotel is located on Front Street in Prairie City; a location that makes eateries, antique stores, gift shops, drug and hardware store, and fishing and hunting information all within two blocks.The hotel features two ADA rooms on the first level and an outdoor garden sitting areas for gatherings or peacful reading. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing