We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for Bicyclists”
Review of Hotel Prairie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prairie City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Prairie
Ranked #1 of 3 Prairie City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for Bicyclists”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is a very nice restored historic hotel. The lobby is great and the rooms have good air conditioning and heat. This is an historic hotel so it does't have the sound-proofing of modern ones, but that pales in comparison to the atmosphere, value, cleanliness, and friendly staff of the Hotel.They had no problem with me taking my bicycle through the lobby and into my room. That counts for a lot! This is a great place, you need to go there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at Hotel Prairie, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
As our sign out front says, "Two Wheels Spoken Here"!! We try to anticipate our cyclists' needs and are pleased you enjoyed our facilities. We hope to see you again. Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    18
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
40
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We spent two nights in this restored old hotel. If you like Bed & Breakfasts, you'll probably like this place (except you don't get a breakfast). At a B & B you want ambiance, special decor, a unique setting. There may not be all the amenities of a chain hotel, like air conditioning. I can recommend this place for its decor, history and uniqueness, it's location in scenic rural Oregon.

The Prairie is tastefully decorated with antiques, old photographs, leather furniture. The guest kitchen has microwave, fridge, table and chairs, and a coffee maker filled to brew in the morning. A gathering room downstairs holds a gas stove for winter nights. The town is small, but the few businesses near the hotel looked inviting and well stocked. Breakfast can be had at Chuck's Diner, and we had a lovely lunch there. The surrounding mountains and countryside are a scenic delight.

Now the problems. Unfortunately, if you want breakfast on Monday, Chuck's is closed, and just about every business on the street is closed, as well. Some won't be open till Wednesday.

If you book a room upstairs, be prepared to climb 28 steps. No lift. Our Queen beds were comfortable but very high. We had no table, no chair, only small bedside tables. An antique dresser was topped with the TV, so little space for our things. The drawers didn't feel smooth enough to risk putting clothing in. The dresser drawers in the bathroom were not clean. No hangers and no closet, only some wall hooks. Our stuff ended up jumbled on the carpet.

We were surprised to find our beds unmade when we came back the first day. This policy was not mentioned when we checked in.

Finally, the place is noisy, not because there is noise on the street, but because of its construction. All the doors are solid fire doors, designed to close by themselves with a resounding thump. You hear anyone going in or out, no matter how quiet they try to be. The hinges on our door also squealed. And the walls between rooms are thin. The first night, I could hear the cadences of a normal conversation between two women going on in the room next to ours and was unable to sleep for hours. The second night we turned on the bathroom fan for some white noise, and had no other guests on our floor.

I really wanted to recommend this place, but I wouldn't want to be here without very good ear plugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justducky13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at Hotel Prairie, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your review; we are happy that you enjoyed our ambiance, guest kitchen, and lobby space. As you say, construction in old buildings (1910 in our case) is not noise-proof. We are sorry you did not sleep well your first night. We take guest concerns seriously and are looking into resolving issues you mentioned. You may have noticed remodel work next door? You will be happy to know that upon completion, we will be serving breakfast and dinner when others are closed. We hope you visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John Day, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We won the Grantski Auction package that included a night at the Hotel Prairie, breakfast or lunch at a nearby diner, and a certificate to spend across the street at the antique/jewelry store. The night we spent at the Hotel Prairie was so relaxing and enjoyable. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The people are very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryZ5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I've stayed at the Hotel Prairie a number of times over the past 2 years. It is always clean and welcoming. The hotel has a lot of charm and character. Rooms and beds are very comfortable. Staff are terrific and very friendly and helpful. The hotel has a small kitchen with a fridge and microwave which is a great asset for frequent travelers. The hotel offers a Massage service- the massage therapist is phenomenal! I highly recommend this as a place to stay. Prairie City and nearby John Day, Oregon are very charming and a relaxing get away off the beaten path.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meredith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

A stay at the Hotel Prairie is like stepping back in time to the rural old west, but with the comforts of a modern hotel. This beautifully restored historic hotel has very comfy beds, nicely appointed and simple decor, and a lovely lobby/living room with leather counches that are perfect for sharing some wine with friends after a long day of driving or sightseeing in the area. I drove 6 hours from Portland on scenic winding roads through grasslands, canyons and high desert sagebrush to Prairie City, located between the Strawberry Mountains and several roadless areas just east of John Day. There is amazing wildlife viewing, birding and fishing within an hour of Prairie City in the Malheur National Forest. I enjoyed the friendly staff at the hotel, and the owners, Greg and Donna, created many special touches that truly made guests feel at home and showcased the history of the town and the region. It is worth the long drive to get there!.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private baths and some have shared baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Krystyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We visited Prairie City to do some genealogy and visit the John Day Fossil Beds.
We found the Hotel to be relaxing and comfortable, a generously roomy room, all with a sense of history. Historical pictures line the walls, and local craft products are to be found in the welcoming lobby. My husband and I remarked several times how happy we were to be returning to the Hotel Prairie each evening. So uplifting compared to staying in a chain motel. We stayed three nights in the suite with kitchen.

Room Tip: We liked the suite with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OregonTopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We booked the suite last year and were certainly not disappointed by it's size. However the level of cleaning in the suite was disappointing. The fridge had crumbs and food left over from the previous occupants and the oven was so dirty it could not have been cleaned in months.
There is lots of storage space in the kitchen but most of the cupboards are bare.
The bedroom was reasonable but there were no drawers nor any hanging space. The robes and toiletries were nice.
Jenny the manager though made up for it all. She was very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Room Tip: The suite is upstairs and there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pengor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna M, Owner at Hotel Prairie, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Your comment was the first negative comment on cleanliness at the Hotel since we have been in business over the past five years. We take our cleaning very seriously and consider it to be one of our key attributes. We have been leaving some creamer in the refrigerator for our guests in the suite but given your reaction we will no longer continue that practice. There may appear to be an abundance of storage in our well-stocked kitchen, but those guests who stay longer periods of time use it to store their groceries.As to your comment regarding space for clothing, we appreciate your thoughts as no one had commented on this before. Should you return, you will find a lovely chest of drawers for your belongings! Thank you (and your spouse who wrote a couple of days earlier) again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prairie

Property: Hotel Prairie
Address: 112 Front Street, PO Box 820, Prairie City, OR 97869
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Prairie City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prairie City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel Prairie is a non-smoking hotel offering nine rooms, including a spacious one-bedroom suite. All have private, tile baths.While relaxing in the history inspired ambiance, you can watch cable television or monitor email using the wireless internet provided by the hotel. A masseuse operates from the hotel; what a better reward after a busy day than enjoying a massage!Hotel Prairie is the place to stay while enjoying the recreational opportunities of John Day. Situated about mid-way on the Oregon Scenic Byway 'Journey through time', Prairie City offers many scenic and recreational opportunities.Nearby you can explore the John Day River and Valley, the Strawberry Mountain Wilderness with lakes and waterfalls, the Kam Wah Chung Museum, and the John Day Fossil Beds and Thomas Condon Interpretive Center should not be missed.With such a wide variety of outdoor activities, all cyclists and sportsmen and women are invited to spend thier nights in a comfortable hotel after long days of enjoying the beautiful area.The hotel is located on Front Street in Prairie City; a location that makes eateries, antique stores, gift shops, drug and hardware store, and fishing and hunting information all within two blocks.The hotel features two ADA rooms on the first level and an outdoor garden sitting areas for gatherings or peacful reading. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing