We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay near the Strawberry Mountains”
Review of Hotel Prairie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Prairie City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Prairie
Ranked #1 of 3 Prairie City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was my second visit to Hotel Prairie - and it was consistent with the first - excellent! This beautifully restored historical hotel is immaculate. The staff is friendly and helpful. There is a partial kitchen that is available to all guests, as well as an enclosed patio and a lovely parlor where you can sit quietly with a book.
They have just completed a restoration of a bar/catering area. The bar is beautiful and uniquely styled. They also had a wine & beer happy hour from 4 - 8.
If you are headed to the eastern part of Oregon, this quaint small town of Prairie City has spectacular views of the Strawberry Mountains, and the Hotel Prairie is the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The first floor, even right across from the office/reception area was very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

For our last night - and my birthday - we treated ourselves to the Suite!! And it was sweet. We each had our own room - my granddaughter's was a former closet so you can imagine the size of the entire suite. A full-on kitchen, views of Main Street from two windows (opening, with screens), and very comfortable furniture and beds. Thanks to the friendly staff, we had no problem when we had to turn around after 20 minutes on the road home, to get back into 'our' suite and retrieve my granddaughter's cell phone. My only suggestion would be to the head housekeeper: do a final check of the kitchen (coffee pot moldy & dirty cups in the cupboard) and bathroom (floor & counter sticky) before next guest arrival.

Room Tip: The Suite is the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were so tired when we arrived that we took a room on the main floor. It was quiet. The bed was comfortable. Got a great sleep. Enjoyed sitting in the comfy chairs in the lobby in the early morning with a cup of coffee. Would have taken advantage of the outside area but was too chilly that morning. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerron-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I enjoyed my one night stay very much. The staff was friendly and helpful. Nice kitchen area and common area. It looked like they were getting ready to open their new wine bar in the near future. I hope I can get back to check it out. It is also a bicycle friendly hotel (as per the sign in front).

Room Tip: They let me store my bicycle in a storage room inside the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Day 7 of a 12 day road trip. What a great find. Decided to stay for 2 days and enjoy the area. Quaint and great place to stay. Love the kitchen area and the back patio space. The room was comfy and well worth the price we paid. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Would for sure visit again

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank NStashak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

It was a very pleasant stay with a comfortable atmosphere and historic accents. The staff was helpful and the accommodations clean. It is located right on the main street, which the city has done a good job of keeping with its historical look.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

There aren't many room choices around John Day so we were delighted that our overnight stay at the Historic Hotel Prairie City was so nice. It is a modest hotel, but our room worked well, and the spacious bathroom was recently redone. A refrigerator is available in the kitchen down the hall. The local establishments serve nice food, and everyone was friendly. We were pleasantly surprised by the freshness of the town. The locals really care about their town and community.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDXSW2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Prairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Prairie

Address: 112 Front Street, PO Box 820, Prairie City, OR 97869
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Prairie City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Prairie City
Price Range: £57 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel Prairie is a non-smoking hotel offering nine rooms, including a spacious one-bedroom suite. All have private, tile baths.While relaxing in the history inspired ambiance, you can watch cable television or monitor email using the wireless internet provided by the hotel. A masseuse operates from the hotel; what a better reward after a busy day than enjoying a massage!Hotel Prairie is the place to stay while enjoying the recreational opportunities of John Day. Situated about mid-way on the Oregon Scenic Byway 'Journey through time', Prairie City offers many scenic and recreational opportunities.Nearby you can explore the John Day River and Valley, the Strawberry Mountain Wilderness with lakes and waterfalls, the Kam Wah Chung Museum, and the John Day Fossil Beds and Thomas Condon Interpretive Center should not be missed.With such a wide variety of outdoor activities, all cyclists and sportsmen and women are invited to spend thier nights in a comfortable hotel after long days of enjoying the beautiful area.The hotel is located on Front Street in Prairie City; a location that makes eateries, antique stores, gift shops, drug and hardware store, and fishing and hunting information all within two blocks.The hotel features two ADA rooms on the first level and an outdoor garden sitting areas for gatherings or peacful reading. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing