We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Time Diner”

Jana's Tastee Treet
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Prineville
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone: 541-447-4165
Restaurant details
Description: Phone: 541-447-4165
Prineville, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Old Time Diner”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This is one of the oldest restaurants in town and is popular with a wide range of audiences. Upgrades to the kitchen have not detracted from the old diner charm, where the old curved counter still sits in front of the swivel stools. Regulars meet here to quench their appetite with great burgers and catch up on local gossip. Also available is a take-out window if you want to grab a quick shake. Covered outdoor seating is provided. Located on the main drag with a large neon sign, you can't (and shouldn't) miss it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Desert_Searcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    7
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Great fries”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed at City Center, we had reunion in park so had plenty to eat, but I decided to go next door for a snack, first got a small milk shake, which was fine but should have paid extra to get real ice cream. but saw an order with fries put out. Fresh cut they called them. They looked quite good, so for $2.75 ordered a basket. Verry good. up among top in my list. I did not finish so took back to room and wife enjoyed them also.

big slices and not overcooked and not greasy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank phirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Local beef used, great shakes, good, old fashioned hamburger joint. Across from the park on the main drag with lots of parking.

Helpful?
Thank AK_journey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turlock, California
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Excellent food and large portions”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stopped here for a late lunch and was impressed with how well the teenaged staff worked together to handle a busy counter, drive through, patio, and walk in business. They are well trained, professional and courteous. The management and their parents should be proud of them.

My husband had a bacon cheeseburger with fries that he loved and it stuffed him. Nonetheless, he still managed to have a double scoop of vanilla ice cream in a waffle cone.

Did I mention that the portions are large? Ask about the ice cream prior to ordering it. One scoop is really three scoops. Once I realized that, I had a single scoop of Rocky Road in a bowl. It was more than enough ice cream for two people. Still it was good and had walnuts instead of almonds in it. Both are fine, but I am partial to almonds.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rocklvr03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Old School, But Could Be Better”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I appreciate the fact that this place has been around since the 50's, but the food could use an upgrade. I had shrimp and fries. The shrimp wasn't too bad, but the fries were a bit on the greasy side. I also ordered a huckleberry shake and that came out OK. There is outdoor seating for nice days which we did not take advantage of. Nice selection of menu items for a hamburger style place. Service got better when more employees showed up. It wasn't too busy for a Monday night. Always great to see these places still around. Just needs a slight improvement with the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainier72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jana's Tastee Treet also viewed

Prineville, Central Oregon
Prineville, Central Oregon
 
Prineville, Central Oregon
 

Been to Jana's Tastee Treet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing