We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good motel, for what it is”

City Center Motel Prineville
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Prineville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
City Center Motel Prineville
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Prineville
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The City Center Motel in Prineville is an older motel, courtyard style. We parked directly in front of our room.

I'm giving the motel four stars, but it is four stars within its category---older motels, locally owned, in small towns. It's not the same as four stars at a Best Western or other large chain.

I give it a good rating because, while the motel is older, it is very clean. The bathroom was tiny, with a small shower stall, but it was spotless. There were plenty of good, quality towels, and they even supplied soap and shampoo. The bed was comfortable. Check-in was easy and pleasant.

My only quibble was that we had a non-smoking room. But because it was next door to a smoking room, the smoke had penetrated the walls and gave our room just the slightest residue of smoke. If you're sensitive, request a room that's sandwiched between two non-smoking rooms.

We paid $55, including tax, for a night that they were totally sold out.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElmiraOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
There are newer reviews for City Center Motel Prineville
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I broke up a long day's drive by staying a night in Prineville. We were "bargain hunting" when we reserved our room at the City Center and weren't disappointed with our choice.

When we arrived, Kristie (and later Beth) were small-town friendly, which set the tone for our short visit.

Our room was clean and comfortable. Though the motel sits on the main highway through Prineville we didn't notice traffic noise and enjoyed a restful night's sleep. In the morning the hot water arrived quickly for showers, and the towels were thicker than most chain motels provide. There was a small fridge, along with TWO comfortable chairs (how many chain rooms have only one?). Of course, the obligatory TV rounded out the furnishings.

Prineville is a smallish town, 10K population, and the City Center Motel is a great fit, close-by to restaurants and downtown. We'll certainly stay again when our plans have us going that direction.

Room Tip: Rooms farthest from the highway may be quieter. Non-smoking rooms are available.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Ward and June and the boys certainly must have stayed here.

It's a nice place straight out of retro TV, and it's in a great location. It's clean, it's fun, and it's cheap enough (less than sixty bucks including taxes and such) and has everything we needed. Bed, bath, TV, refrigerator, and internet connection. Add coffee and something to eat in the morning and what's not to like?

There are several good places to eat within walking distance (we like a martini before dinner) so that you don't have to drive, and we chose a "steakhouse" right around the corner which will be the subject of another review. At any rate, you can find plenty to eat.

The staff was nice and there was no traffic noise despite being on the main drag of Prineville.

If you are traveling US 97, save some $$$ and avoid staying in Bend or Redmond. Mostly what you'll find there are chain and cookie cutter motels. Prineville is a 20 mile drive on a great road. Nice town, nice people, and a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the far end of the building.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tominseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Great staff. Had lots of good information about the area. We were on a motorcycle ride through the area and the staff called ahead to check out some other areas to see if food etc. was available. Clean rooms well taken care of although I suspect the motel was built in the 40-50's. Great location for those of us that walk to eats and drinks. Best food in Prineville across the street at the Tastee Treet. (Outstanding breakfasts also.) We were much happier here then the last chain motel we stayed with rates double what we paid at City Center Motel. Parked motorcycles in front of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gwwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

From the outside the motel looks like the genuine default version of an American motel from decades gone by. The office is small and the people are nice. The office is also the place to get a muffin in the morning. There is enough space to park your vehicle and you can do so just out front of your room, which in any case is a ground floor accomodation. The rooms are nice if old-fashioned but the electric appliances are fairly new - possibly 90s. Our room sported a big tv, microwave, fridge and phone. Shower and toilet were usable but not exactly state-of-the-art. Bathroom window and curtains have seen better days and were partially ripped and torn. Overall the rooms could use a new make-over but the price of 57$ per night is unbeatable. So if you are a fan of nostalgic establishments that show their wear and tear with a kind of dignity plus you are an economically aware traveller, this might be just the place for you!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBS3300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2009

The City Center Motel is located in the center of the small city of Prineville approximately 1/2 hour drive north of Bend, Oregon. The room was dated but clean. The bed was comfortable, and the TV, Fridge, and microwave all worked. The motel is located right in the center of town, which was particularly convenient for me as I was able to walk to wherever I had to go.

My one complaint is the low flow shower heads. They send more of a blast of air with some water mixed in than an actual stream of water. Very difficult to properly rinse your hair, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lumbergh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2009

Friendly staff. The motel was what I would have expected in the mid 1950s; nevertheless it was good. And it was also cheap . . . so it had value.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thales29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prineville
0.5 mi away
Best Western Prineville Inn
0.8 mi away
Stafford Inn
Stafford Inn
#4 of 6 in Prineville
79 reviews
17.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Rama Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Brasada Ranch
Brasada Ranch
#1 of 1 in Powell Butte
721 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Prineville
Econo Lodge Prineville
#6 of 6 in Prineville
70 reviews
17.2 mi away
Motel 6 Redmond
Motel 6 Redmond
#7 of 8 in Redmond
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Motel Prineville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Motel Prineville

Address: 509 East Third Street, Prineville, OR 97754
Region: United States > Oregon > Central Oregon > Prineville
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Prineville
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
City Center Hotel Prineville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing