We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2009

we stayed in the motel and had no problems during our stay. the room was basic and clean. there was a mini-fridge, t.v., and free wi-fi. when we checked in, lisa was working at the front desk was so friendly and helpful. she was able to recommend hikes, restaurants, and places to visit in the area. we had dinner at the hotel. the food was okay and a little overpriced, but the staff was friendly. on the property, there is a trout pond and they have food that you can feed the trout, two horses (don't think you can ride them), a picnic gazebo with a grill and the front porch of the hotel is a great place to hang out. the motel/hotel is also conveniently located to crater lake. we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 268 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2009

We stayed at the motel portion of this hotel. It was advertised as having been built in 1991 and that it had modern conveniences. It may have been built in 1991 but it was built with 1960 furnishings. The shower head was installed by a vertically challenged plumber. I stand 5'7" and the shower head was at the bottom of my head. I had to stoop to wash my hair. The bathroom had no window nor a fan, it was claustrophobic. The kitchen had ants and the beds were dismal. It is, however, the ONLY place available closer to Crater Lake than Klamath Falls or Grants Pass. The hotel staff was extremely pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

The Inn has a great history and a good location--it's about 30 miles to Crater Lake, but that is "close" by Oregon's standards! The inn itself is well kept if a little "cutesy" and the proprietors went out of their way to make us comfortable. But at $200/night, I expected a great stay--we had small children screaming on check-in, multiple small children screaming through our sit-down (and not cheap) dinner at the restaurant, and the walls of the place are very (!) thin--people walking on the balcony within a foot of our door, calling to each other. And let's just say..."noises" throughout the night! The proprietor apologized about the small children, nothing she could do (except maybe make it adults only??), but those things did detract from what otherwise might have been a lovely stay. Worth the try, if you are ok with these things.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erm4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at this inn on our trip to Crater Lake. The exterior of the inn is very pretty. There is a very small sitting room downstairs. Our room was very small, the bed was terrible and there was a lot of noise from other rooms. Skip the option of dining there. The food was absolutely common and they have no bartender, so the waitresses look up how to make drinks. NOT worth the money at all. The breakfast was less than impressive. Just down the road on the way to Crater is a cute cafe that is much better. I would pass on this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishiron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

The Prospect is available as either a hotel or a B&B and has a restaurant on the first floor. We spent two nights as B&B guests. We made reservations late and ended up with the smallest room on the third floor (Muir). The room was quite small but it was comfortable enough, with its own A/C unit. We peeked into a couple of the other rooms whose doors were open and would certainly have found them much larger and more comfortable. In addition to the excellent breakfasts, we had reservations for dinner in the restaurant one night. The meal was very good. As we frequently do, we asked at the desk about local sights. The lady was very helpful, explaining what we should see and do at Crater Lake and then that we needed to stop at the nearby overlooks of the Rogue River rapids and falls.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gates274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2009

Great Inn, great location - would LOVE to go back some day. Comfy rooms, yummy food, super relaxing - lots of beautiful things to see in the area!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bixbyjeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Myself and some friends were out on our annual motorcycle trip around No Cal/So OR, typically 1100-1400 miles. We stayed at the Prospect Inn as a staging point for a morning ride up to Crater Lake the next morning. It was terrific! We have stayed in all sorts of places in The-Middle-of-Nowhere and this place is truly a gem. It started before we arrived as I made reservations - as Fred is a fellow motorcycle rider, he offered advice on what to expect in weather and roads. When we arrived, after a day of thunderstorms and hail, we were quite late for our dinner reservation but no problem. Fred told us to get a hot shower (more than plenty of very hot water by the way!), and come on over for dinner when we were ready. And what a dinner it was - great food, great beer, and a great wine list. I live in the Sonoma/Napa area and am a member of 5 wine clubs and I can say that Fred has assembled a fine wine list at very reasonable prices. All done in a very well appointed, but not stuffy, dining room. Breakfast the next morning was great too. Fred's wife is a chef and clearly a very accomplished one.

We stayed in the motel section, which was very clean and plenty roomy, so that we could have the bike's right out front for loading and unloading (another suggestion of Fred's). As an added attraction, there is a low-key neighborhood pub a few minutes walk away to drink a beer and tell some lies about the day's adventures.

Prospect isn't much more than a wide spot in the woods about 30-40 minutes from Crater Lake. But between the Inn and the pub, it has everything you could need for a short stay. We will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twistandsh0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
19.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#2 of 3 in Shady Cove
152 reviews
11.1 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
539 reviews
19.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
954 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Address: 391 Mill Creek Dr, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536-9756
Region: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range: £90 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing