We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rustic seclusion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Union Creek Resort
La Pine, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rustic seclusion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you are looking for a place with all the modern amenities of home or a big resort keep looking, If on the other hand you are looking for a place to disconnect and unwind from the day to day stress of your life, stop looking, this is the place for you. beautiful scenery, no cell service, miles from shopping. WE LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Kristopher – you summed up our sentiments perfectly! Union Creek Resort takes pride in offering a stay similar to what it was like during the 1920s when it was first built, but with modern comforts and amenities. We don’t have golf courses and massage parlors, but we do have a stress-free atmosphere in a beautiful, natural setting of the Rogue River National Forest. We are so happy you loved your experience –that is our goal with every guest’s stay!

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    189
    78
    36
    46
See reviews for
180
188
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family of 3 stayed in Union Creek Resort for 2 nights. We had a purchased a group on deal for the stay. When I called up for reservation, the lady mentioned that I cannot have a bigger cabin as group on was only for for smaller cabins. I do not remember this being mentioned in the Groupon offer.

Anyways, the cabin #2 where we stayed was really 'small' and felt cramped. It has everything in it (except a TV), but not enough space to move around / keep our luggage (we travel heavy as we have a 10 month old son).

The wifi was a big disappointment; but that is fine as I wanted to be away for everything. Feel secluded.

The restaurant across the road (beckie's) serves reasonably good food. If you feel like watching a movie in the night; (my wife didn't have anything else to do - Facebook was blocked she said !!!) can rent a movie from the souvenir shop.

It is definitely value for money if you are looking for a break away from the city life.
I will give it a generous 3 for the old and rustic charm this place promises and it has.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hi Akhill,
We apologize that Union Creek Resort held some disappointments for you. We really do work hard to make every guest’s stay comfortable and memorable, as well as a nice break away from it all. We’re glad you enjoyed the rustic charm. As a historic location, our goal is to preserve the 1920’s spirit of Union Creek Resort, but with modern comforts and amenities. As you discovered, Wi-Fi is available but not always reliable due to circumstances beyond our control. We’re limited because of our remote location deep in the Rogue River National Forest, potential for inclement weather (rain, snow, wind, etc.), bandwidth capabilities, and number of satellite dishes we can install as an historic site.
Thanks for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again. We have several cabins that offer more spacious opportunities.

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent two nights, three days in early March 2014. Though we were disappointed there was no snow on the ground, we thoroughly enjoyed out stay. Cabin was adequate & cozy, the bed was comfortable, people were friendly and helpful! The water levels were high which made for beautiful hikes along the nearby river and creek trails, full of waterfalls and churning water. Plus this location is only a 30 min. drive to Crater Lake. We also enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Beckie's Restaurant across the street. Great place to get away from the TV, computer, and cell phone!

Room Tip: Cabin 21 is right beside the creek! Plus it is dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It sounds like you had the ideal Union Creek Resort stay, complete with dinner at our Beckie’s Restaurant! Thank you for your great comments and yes, it’s disappointing we didn’t much any snow this year which is always fun for the nearby sledding hill, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, snowmobiling and more. It’s interesting because while we’ve had a lack of snow, at the same time we’ve had some new opportunities like better waterfalls (as you discovered), great winter fishing, and clear hiking trails.

By the way, Cabin 21 is one of our favorites right next to Union Creek! There’s nothing like the familiar, comforting sound of running water right outside your door.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Purchased a weekend via Groupon. The owners were great to deal with when booking our dates. Upon arrival (early) our cabin was ready so we were able to check in and move in. Kent was very helpful when I asked what activities we might want to plan to do besides seeing "the lake". We had booked a remodeled cabin without a kitchen. It did have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bed was very comfy and the cabin was well heated. My only complaint was that our bed came with a flat bottom sheet that was too small for the bed so untucked quickly. We fixed that by putting a blanket over the sheet that tucked in securely. I let the owners know and hopefully they can get that issue resolved. We are already working on dates to return for a summer trip.
Beckie's restaurant, just a walk across the highway, has good food at good prices. It's the only restaurant within 10 miles but ends up being all you'll need for every meal.

Room Tip: Some cabins have been recently remodeled. Different cabins have different floorplans and features. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed-Idaho-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Ed,
Thanks for the comments and we’re happy you had a great winter get-away! You bring up a good point in that there really are so many other things to do up here besides seeing Crater Lake (which is definitely a must-see). This winter has been different in that we haven’t had that much snow for our snow sports, but activities such as hiking, waterfall viewing, and fishing have been outstanding. Also, thanks for pointing out the too-small sheet. We appreciate the honest feedback and that issue has already been resolved.

We can’t wait to see you again this summer – but you should hurry and make a reservation soon as we’re already filling up!

Thanks,
—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

We discovered this place on the way back from Crater Lake and promptly booked a lodge and it was the best night of our stay in the USA. Lovely little hideaway in the woods with a great cafe/restaurant for dinner and breakfast, and welcoming staff. If you want a night away in the forest this is the place to go!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Wow - thank you Louise for the great comments. We are proud that our stop was the best on your trip. We definitely work hard to make it great, and it's nice to hear it from one of our valued guests. We really enjoyed having you stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in cabin 15 (although I wish cabin 21 had been available as it is directly on the river) for a couple of nights right before Valentine's Day. As part of a groupon deal, we even received a free bottle of wine when we checked in. The Resort is literally steps away from the Rogue (which was running like a ferocious beast while we were there) and is a 20 min drive from Crater Lake. In addition, it's a short drive into Prospect where there are several short hikes to some top notch waterfalls! We weren't exactly sure where the trail started, so we stopped in at the general store and asked the cashier. She walked us out the door and said, "Right there. Just leave your truck parked here, walk down off the road and keep going!". Sure enough, as strange as it sounds, you can pretty much walk off the side of the road and onto the trail. There was a great little pizza place in Prospect, too. The cheesy bread is delicious and the pizza is as good as any I've had in Chicago or New York! (Honestly!) At the resort itself, the cabins are all fairly close to the road, but there was very little road noise. Since we were there in February and it was rainy and cold, I'd prepared myself for a damp, chilly cabin. Not the case at all. The cabin was toasty and warm. As a matter of fact, it was so warm, we turned off the heat and cracked a window at one point. The one and only drawback to the cabin was the mattress. It was bad. Really bad. (I considered sleeping on the floor.) Other that that, I'd give the little rustic nook an A. My boyfriend and I have AT&T and had no service while we were there. The resort has wifi, but it doesn't have streaming capabilities (no Netflix, facebook, etc.) This wasn't a drawback for us, it was actually quite pleasant to be unplugged for a while. The front desk does have a variety of DVD's for rent if you happen to have your laptop with you. All in all, Union Creek is a great little getaway spot. Definitely recommended!

P.S. Don't forget to stop at Beckie's for a meal or two. The food is delicious and the staff is absolutely delightful!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APEinOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
APEInOR – thanks for the great comments, and yes, cabin 21 is pretty special being right on Union Creek. There’s nothing quite like the comforting sound of a river right outside your door. This winter has been unique in that we haven’t had much snow, but the rivers, as you mention, are running higher than usual and provide for impressive sights (and sounds). We’re glad you were able to see the great natural beauty we’re blessed to be surrounded by, including lots of great waterfalls and wonderful hiking opportunities, which really are “just out the door.”

We work hard to make sure all of our accommodations are comfortable and warm, and it sounds like we got 1 out of 2 of those right for you. We apologize that the mattress was uncomfortable; we work to continually update amenities in each of the cabins and rooms to make sure they make for a perfect stay – rustic, yet comfortable. This year alone we are planning on renovating four of our cabins.

As you point out, Wi-Fi service is available but not always reliable due to circumstances beyond our control. We are limited because of our remote location, potential for inclement weather (rain, snow, wind, etc.), bandwidth capabilities, and number of satellite dishes we can install as an historic site.

Thanks again for the great comments – and also for mentioning our Beckie’s Café. You should come back during the summer and enjoy Beckie’s Chuck Wagon (outdoor barbecue) and the Ice Cream Shop!

—Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Amazing! We stayed at Union Creek Resort, Cabin 19, last weekend. I highly recommend staying in the cabins instead of the main lodge. It's a unique, cozy, and more private experience. Cabin 19 was recently renovated and we had a full kitchen, dining area, bathroom, and a bedroom. It's magical and romantic, and perfectly rustic. Like the other commentators said, you don't get cell service or WiFi, but that's okay if it works for your travel needs. You should be sure to try and check in by 8 pm, as that is when the Lodge/country store closes, as does Beckie's Cafe across the street (the very berry pie is out of this world). The area is simply stunning and in winter, only about a 35-40 minute drive from Crater Lake. Much closer than Prospect in my opinion and better lodging than the ones available in Prospect. The rivers, creeks, and trees - it's all just so beautiful. Quite frankly, I enjoyed the fact that there weren't that many people around because it's winter. It made it all that much more charming. The only minor downside is the pipes had frozen over so we couldn't get water in our cabin, but we were able to shower and take care of business in the main lodge. This wasn't a big deal at all, but just wanted to warn any winter travelers, especially folks with special needs. The lodge was super accommodating and helpful to us. Also, we stayed at a weekend that was uniquely cold and I don't think it's like that all the time. I miss Union Creek lodge! Wish we had more time there!

Room Tip: Cabin 19 is awesome! I highly recommend staying in the cabins instead of the main lodge. It's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wavypearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
wavypearl,
You described Union Creek Resort “perfectly” by saying “it’s magical and romantic, and perfectly rustic” – we love that description! Rustic and comfortable is what we strive to provide at this historic setting, and it sounds like we succeeded for you. We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay here and hope you are able to make it back, possibly during the summer months where there is a whole new set of outdoor activities to do. Also – you won’t be dealing with any frozen pipes which we again apologize for; that was unfortunate and a situation that we worked hard to resolve quickly. By the way, we are renovating four more cabins this year so the next time you come, you should try a different one. Each cabin has its own, unique layout and personality.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying at Union Creek Resort!

—Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
15.4 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
11.0 mi away
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Creek Resort

Property: Union Creek Resort
Address: 56484 Ore. 62, Prospect, OR 97536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a resort that hearkens back to a simpler era. We call it rustic comfort; similar to what you would find in the 1920s when it was first built, but now with modern conveniences and charm. You won’t find golf courses, spa services, or salons. But you will find a well-appointed, authentic lodge set amongst towering Douglas Firs in the Rogue River National Forest. It’s an ideal location to experience Oregon’s great outdoors in a simple, yet comfortably updated resort.All around is the smell of pine needles and the sounds of birds and rushing creek waters. The stunning natural setting includes distinctive Union Creek and the Wild & Scenic Rogue River, hiking trails amongst spectacular 700-year-old Douglas Firs in old growth forests, and nearby Crater Lake National Park – truly a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Union Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Creek Hotel Prospect

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing