We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cabin getaway, suitable for the whole family!”
Review of Union Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Union Creek Resort
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cute little cabin getaway, suitable for the whole family!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Really enjoyed our cabin experience. Location was fantastic, right in the middle of the forest and just perfect for a retreat from hustle of the city. The cabin itself had a few minor issues. The stove did not light and we were not provided with any matches or lighter so we had to go ask for one. The main heater in the cabin didn't seem to work and the small space heater didn't hear up very well so it was a tad cold. Otherwise, the cabin was quaint and cosy! The grounds had small fire pits and fire starter kits so we enjoyed delicious marshmallows on a brisk starry evening. I would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephiemaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Hi Stephaniemaree,
Thank you for your recent stay, and we apologize for the issues you had with the stove and heat. Our goal is to always ensure our guests are comfortable, and it sounds like we fell short on a few things. We really appreciate your valuable feedback and will ensure that all appliances and heating systems are in great working order. We’re happy you enjoyed your overall stay and that Union Creek provided a great retreat from the City.

We look forward to seeing you soon – we’re open year-round!
—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    191
    78
    38
    47
See reviews for
181
193
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband and I, and friends and I have stayed at Union Creek Resort several times over the years, both in the lodge's upstairs rooms and in a cabin. If you want luxury and being catered to, this is not for you. But those of us who like cozy down home comfort and don't mind having the bathroom down the hall in the lodge, love reading a book or sipping wine next to a roaring fire in a rustic knotty pine room, with furniture made of small logs and heavy bent sticks, playing pool and others games in the game room, and eating wonderful food at Becky's Café across the road, the Union Creek Resort is perfect.
And there are so many outdoor adventures and natural features to enjoy. The Rogue Gorge, a fenced-for-safety chasm with interpretive signs is right across the road, about a city block away. The Natural Bridge is a mile southwest, a trail to a lovely waterfall is right across Union Creek, an amphitheater with summertime programs is at the campground across the street, the many-mile Rogue River trail runs along the river behind the campground to the natural bridge and beyond, Diamond Lake and Crater Lake National Park are about 30 -45 minutes away and many other hiking trails are just as close. Family and friend groups that are divided with some wanting to camp and others wanting a bed to sleep in are in luck here because of the campground across the road and two others within a mile or two.
Union Creek Lodge is also wonderful in off-season months for larger groups because you can have the entire lodge to yourselves, including the kitchen for making your own food. We just had 16 hikers, x-country skiers and snowshoers filling all the rooms. The kitchen is well appointed with 30' gas stove and oven, large refrigerator/freezer, ample nice dinnerware, pots and pans and cooking utensils. And firewood is provided for the fireplace.

Room Tip: I want my favorites to be available when I want them, so I won't comment here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoellaEwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful description of Union Creek Resort! We take great pride in offering a genuinely comfortable, cozy, rustic experience in a fantastic natural setting. Yes, there are so many great outdoors experiences in every direction – it’s a great retreat to get away from it all. It sounds like you’ve experienced several different cabins and lodge rooms, and hopefully you can stay in one of our newly remodeled rooms on your next visit. Our latest remodel was in cabin 18 and we have at least 4 more planned for this year.

We look forward to seeing you again!

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I wasn't sure what to think when I first pulled into the parking lot, but the wonderful folks at Union Creek Resort and at Beckie's Restaurant across the Hwy. made our stay really enjoyable. We received great service and were given helpful advice on where to hike and where to find the natural beauty in the area. One of our favorite hikes was accessible right behind the property. By the time I checked out on Sunday morning, I was certain that I will find my way back to this quaint, hidden gem. Some folks on this site were complaining about the size and age of the cabins, I found ours to be quaint and warm.

Room Tip: We were three friends and found that cabin 20 (3 double beds) suited us perfectly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcastro48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thanks for the great comments and we’re so happy you enjoyed your stay and we were able to win you over. Yes, there are some wonderful hikes and sights close by to the property and we are glad you were able to experience them. We have an abundance of natural beauty here for sure.

Thank you for your stay, and hopefully we see you again soon! Each cabin has its own distinct layout and charm, and we’re continuing to renovate cabins, so the next time you stay ask to see some of the other options.

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Pine, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you are looking for a place with all the modern amenities of home or a big resort keep looking, If on the other hand you are looking for a place to disconnect and unwind from the day to day stress of your life, stop looking, this is the place for you. beautiful scenery, no cell service, miles from shopping. WE LOVED IT!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Kristopher – you summed up our sentiments perfectly! Union Creek Resort takes pride in offering a stay similar to what it was like during the 1920s when it was first built, but with modern comforts and amenities. We don’t have golf courses and massage parlors, but we do have a stress-free atmosphere in a beautiful, natural setting of the Rogue River National Forest. We are so happy you loved your experience –that is our goal with every guest’s stay!

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My family of 3 stayed in Union Creek Resort for 2 nights. We had a purchased a group on deal for the stay. When I called up for reservation, the lady mentioned that I cannot have a bigger cabin as group on was only for for smaller cabins. I do not remember this being mentioned in the Groupon offer.

Anyways, the cabin #2 where we stayed was really 'small' and felt cramped. It has everything in it (except a TV), but not enough space to move around / keep our luggage (we travel heavy as we have a 10 month old son).

The wifi was a big disappointment; but that is fine as I wanted to be away for everything. Feel secluded.

The restaurant across the road (beckie's) serves reasonably good food. If you feel like watching a movie in the night; (my wife didn't have anything else to do - Facebook was blocked she said !!!) can rent a movie from the souvenir shop.

It is definitely value for money if you are looking for a break away from the city life.
I will give it a generous 3 for the old and rustic charm this place promises and it has.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Hi Akhill,
We apologize that Union Creek Resort held some disappointments for you. We really do work hard to make every guest’s stay comfortable and memorable, as well as a nice break away from it all. We’re glad you enjoyed the rustic charm. As a historic location, our goal is to preserve the 1920’s spirit of Union Creek Resort, but with modern comforts and amenities. As you discovered, Wi-Fi is available but not always reliable due to circumstances beyond our control. We’re limited because of our remote location deep in the Rogue River National Forest, potential for inclement weather (rain, snow, wind, etc.), bandwidth capabilities, and number of satellite dishes we can install as an historic site.
Thanks for staying with us and hopefully we will see you again. We have several cabins that offer more spacious opportunities.

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We spent two nights, three days in early March 2014. Though we were disappointed there was no snow on the ground, we thoroughly enjoyed out stay. Cabin was adequate & cozy, the bed was comfortable, people were friendly and helpful! The water levels were high which made for beautiful hikes along the nearby river and creek trails, full of waterfalls and churning water. Plus this location is only a 30 min. drive to Crater Lake. We also enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Beckie's Restaurant across the street. Great place to get away from the TV, computer, and cell phone!

Room Tip: Cabin 21 is right beside the creek! Plus it is dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
It sounds like you had the ideal Union Creek Resort stay, complete with dinner at our Beckie’s Restaurant! Thank you for your great comments and yes, it’s disappointing we didn’t much any snow this year which is always fun for the nearby sledding hill, cross country skiing, snow shoeing, snowmobiling and more. It’s interesting because while we’ve had a lack of snow, at the same time we’ve had some new opportunities like better waterfalls (as you discovered), great winter fishing, and clear hiking trails.

By the way, Cabin 21 is one of our favorites right next to Union Creek! There’s nothing like the familiar, comforting sound of running water right outside your door.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon!

—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Purchased a weekend via Groupon. The owners were great to deal with when booking our dates. Upon arrival (early) our cabin was ready so we were able to check in and move in. Kent was very helpful when I asked what activities we might want to plan to do besides seeing "the lake". We had booked a remodeled cabin without a kitchen. It did have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The bed was very comfy and the cabin was well heated. My only complaint was that our bed came with a flat bottom sheet that was too small for the bed so untucked quickly. We fixed that by putting a blanket over the sheet that tucked in securely. I let the owners know and hopefully they can get that issue resolved. We are already working on dates to return for a summer trip.
Beckie's restaurant, just a walk across the highway, has good food at good prices. It's the only restaurant within 10 miles but ends up being all you'll need for every meal.

Room Tip: Some cabins have been recently remodeled. Different cabins have different floorplans and features. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed-Idaho-USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrell25, Owner at Union Creek Resort, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Hi Ed,
Thanks for the comments and we’re happy you had a great winter get-away! You bring up a good point in that there really are so many other things to do up here besides seeing Crater Lake (which is definitely a must-see). This winter has been different in that we haven’t had that much snow for our snow sports, but activities such as hiking, waterfall viewing, and fishing have been outstanding. Also, thanks for pointing out the too-small sheet. We appreciate the honest feedback and that issue has already been resolved.

We can’t wait to see you again this summer – but you should hurry and make a reservation soon as we’re already filling up!

Thanks,
—Kent & Sandy Watson, Union Creek Resort owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
15.3 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
51.2 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
11.1 mi away
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Creek Resort

Property: Union Creek Resort
Address: 56484 Ore. 62, Prospect, OR 97536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a resort that hearkens back to a simpler era. We call it rustic comfort; similar to what you would find in the 1920s when it was first built, but now with modern conveniences and charm. You won’t find golf courses, spa services, or salons. But you will find a well-appointed, authentic lodge set amongst towering Douglas Firs in the Rogue River National Forest. It’s an ideal location to experience Oregon’s great outdoors in a simple, yet comfortably updated resort.All around is the smell of pine needles and the sounds of birds and rushing creek waters. The stunning natural setting includes distinctive Union Creek and the Wild & Scenic Rogue River, hiking trails amongst spectacular 700-year-old Douglas Firs in old growth forests, and nearby Crater Lake National Park – truly a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Union Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Creek Hotel Prospect

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing