We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Peaceful Retreat In The Woods”
Review of Union Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Union Creek Resort
Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Retreat In The Woods”
Reviewed 25 September 2008

While having stopped at the Union Creek many times to eat at Beckies or picnic on the grounds, we had never stayed in a cabin till recently. The resort is under new ownership, and they do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable. We loved the quaint cabins, and even the small ones without kitchens met our needs, as they come with fridges and a micro. The housekeepers do a fantastic job as the cabins were immaculate. I want to point out that there are two agencies who determine what can be done to Union Creek Resort, The National Forest Service, and the Historic Society. Some have stated the resort is run down, these agencies are the reason, as they prohibit improvement or refurbishing, insisting the place be left alone and natural. Despite the fact that some refreshing of the buildings would be nice, the place has more charm and natural beauty in the area than most any place I know. We enjoyed walks to the Gorge and Farewell Bend, and the Natural Bridge. And ,as everyone knows, Beckies food can't be beat. The resort is one of my favorite places, don't miss out on a clean, simple, charming cabin in the beautiful Rogue River National Forest.

  • Liked — The charm and woodsy feel of the cabins
  • Disliked — the carpets needed to be replaced
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Makelifefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    191
    78
    38
    47
See reviews for
181
193
24
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

Union creek resort is a nice place for a family or friends reunion. It is situated in a nice natural setup and a walk in morning is so refreshing. A small stream flows from the property and that adds to its charm. We stayed with couple of friends in a family housekeeping cabin (cabin 13). It was a nice 3 bedroom accommodation. The kitchen was well equipped though I wish they had dish washer. The bathrooms were clean with sufficient supplies but for such a big cabin 1.5 bathrooms were less. It was indeed a big fight to get ready in the morning with 10 people in cabin. I stayed in bedroom with king bed, which was ok but my friends who stayed in other rooms didn’t find beds very comfortable.
The good part was that the cabins are at a distance, so there was complete privacy and at night camp-fire was fun. Also every cabin had lots of parking. The restaurant and country shop are nice places. You can get some basic things in country shop. But if you plan to prepare some food, you should get that before reaching here as there is no good grocery place nearby.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narya77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2008

If you are the type of person likes to have money taken from your account with no services received and lied to please make a reservation here.
My wife and I arrived at Union Creek Resort at 10:20 pm on Thursday evening 8-14-08 on our honeymoon. The shop was closed and the after hour number at the pay phone was not answered any of the 5 times that I called it. Because of this, we had to drive more than an hour back down the road to the nearest open hotel in Shady Grove. The next morning we drove back to Union Creek on the way to Eugene. We stopped in to ask what happened and we were told that the key was left in the cabin along with a receipt and that "this information was given to us in a letter". Since then I have located the letter and there was NOTHING mentioned about a closing time, calling ahead, or the key being left in the cabin. It is interesting that I would be told this even though it is NOT true. No one bothered calling my cell phone or sending an e-mail before closing up shop for the night.
After returning home the charge appeared on my card the next week. I called the resort 5 different time, to speak to the owner of the resort but was never able to reach them. I left a message requesting a call and never received it. I sent an e-mail and there was no response.
Because of the remote location of this place, it is difficult to find a different place to stay if you are taken advantage of like this and your reservation is not honored.
If you want to get screwed out of money I would recommend making a reservation here!! Good luck with your reservations if you decide to stay here. If I ever go to OR again I would stay at Crater Lake instead of the this place.

  • Disliked — The lack of accommodations
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Aholmbe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prospect hotels

Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2008

stayed here for a night in room 2 of the lodge, one of two rooms in the lodge that has a view of the creek.....really nice homey room with pictures of the area waterfalls on the walls. You share a bathroom with the rest of the rooms, but there are men's and women's restrooms and there weren't too many people staying, so sharing the bathroom wasn't a problem.

The lodge is old, but it is very clean and nice, one of the nicest motel rooms I've stayed in. I was suprised at how nice it was and will definitely stay here again

Really liked the affordability of the place and the nice wooded setting with union creek right outside the lodge. Enjoyed sitting on the swinging bench and watching the creek. Nice to have a Beckie's right across the road where the food was okay, but you get your money's worth.

close to crater lake, several great waterfalls, the rogue river gorge
lots of stuff to do in the area...recommend going to national creek falls, rogue gorge, natural bridge and definitely go to pearsony falls and avenue of the boulders......if you do one thing, go see avenue of the boulders...it is well worth the walk

there wasn't a phone or tv in the room, no cell phone reception, only a pay phone outside the lodge, but if somebody wants to check if you made it there, the staff will tell them that you've checked in. it was a hot day and there wasn't any air conditioning, just a fan but we did get the room cooled down

  • Liked — great location close to a lot to see and do and a very nice wooded setting
  • Disliked — no air conditioning and no phone in the room
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, GA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We spent the day at Crater Lake National Park and came down the "hill" to Union Creek Resort (about 17 miles toward Prospect). We reserved cabin #8 with two double beds. It was clean and neat with a small bathroom. This place is not fancy, but if you like the outdoors but don't own a camper or tent, this is the place. Union Creek runs near the property and can be heard when the windows are open. A very short drive takes you to the Rogue River Gorge. We got to see the spring/summer melt from Crater Lake roar down this awesome gorge. Our cabin didn't have a kitchen so we went across the road to Beckies Restaurant. Good food, nice wait staff and delicious pie!! There is a store to buy some essentials if you want to cook. We really liked this place but it is not the Ritz. My husband is a nature-boy and this was far and away his favorite stop on our three week Oregon/North CA/Washington trip. I would imagine snowmobilers would find Union Creek a convenient place to spend the night since there is a Sno-Park nearby.

  • Liked — Being in the forest.
  • Disliked — It is very rustic - like 4-H camp but with regular beds!
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
15.3 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
51.2 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
11.1 mi away
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Creek Resort

Property: Union Creek Resort
Address: 56484 Ore. 62, Prospect, OR 97536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a resort that hearkens back to a simpler era. We call it rustic comfort; similar to what you would find in the 1920s when it was first built, but now with modern conveniences and charm. You won’t find golf courses, spa services, or salons. But you will find a well-appointed, authentic lodge set amongst towering Douglas Firs in the Rogue River National Forest. It’s an ideal location to experience Oregon’s great outdoors in a simple, yet comfortably updated resort.All around is the smell of pine needles and the sounds of birds and rushing creek waters. The stunning natural setting includes distinctive Union Creek and the Wild & Scenic Rogue River, hiking trails amongst spectacular 700-year-old Douglas Firs in old growth forests, and nearby Crater Lake National Park – truly a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Union Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Creek Hotel Prospect

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing