We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing stay with TONS of fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Union Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Union Creek Resort
Central point
1 review
“An amazing stay with TONS of fun!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

We took a family trip to Union Creek Resort with our extended family. We stayed 2 nights. There were 5 families total so we rented both cabins 17 and 18. All of us had a great time. With 7 kids ages 9 and under sometimes its a bit tricky to find a good place to stay that is safe and entertaining but this place was great! The kids were lucky enough to sled out front of the cabins, they played tons in the snow right outside while the adults watched from the warmth of inside, they enjoyed sleeping with their cousins in the bonus room upstairs in the cabin, and none of them were ready to go home. We took a day trip right up the hwy to our favorite place to cut down our Christmas tree and then a quick drive back to the cabin for hot chocolate and fun!! The staff was helpful and friendly. The cupboards were stocked with linens and towels. The kitchen was well stocked with pans, untensils, and what we needed to cook and serve for all of our meals. The lodge was open long hours(8-8) to provide us with what we forgot. The cabins were clean. There were plenty of beds and sleeping space for everybody! Laundry facilities in the basement. Unfortunatly its the largest cabin they have and has only one bathroom, but that would be the only downfall. These are old cabins as a part of history so I would not want them to be modernized, and we had 14 people sharing one bathroom all weekend and we really did just fine with it!! No complaints!! What a great time!! We look forward to returning here real soon!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mominor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    190
    78
    36
    46
See reviews for
180
190
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shady Cove, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2010

The cabin was cold and uncomfortable. The bathroom was not fit for a human being with a post right between your legs when you sat on the toilet. We spent one night and were charged for two when we had to depart a day early. Wish we had read the reviews first. As local people we will spread the word and it won't be good. Don't waste your money there. Shady Cove and Prospect have great motels. Sadder, poorer and wiser

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHawk1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Prospect hotels

Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

We stayed Nov 26,2010. This place was a dump. Dirty and unkept are the two words that come to mind when writing this. Beds were in horrible shape. Blinds were torn so we had NO privacy...really how much are new blinds???
-Showers were filthy and towels were stained-
-Dishes were crusty with old food and utensils were bent and warped.
This was so bad we left after the first night and would have left the night we arrived but they already charged us BEFORE we arrived and it was snowing. - NO REFUNDS-
-When dealing with the staff, we were disrespected -
-DO NOT STAY HERE -
It is worth the drive to stay in Medford where at least you will have a clean room.
Oh,....and we were told BEFORE we paid that they had a DVD player in each room...but when we got there they denied this saying that they would charge us $10.00 a night for the use of a player.
-SAVE YOURSELF THE HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE-

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msdiederich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

we stayed one night at one of the lodge rooms. The shared bathroom is very clean. The two beds are too soft. There are microwave and mini fridge in the room. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gg9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2010

The only real thing this "resort" has going for it, is location. The other options in the area of Crater Lake were booked up, so we decided to stay here for five nights in spite of the reviews. At least we had an idea of what to expect, or we would have been shocked.

We stayed in cabin 3. Its queen-sized bed was uncomfortable, and sagged on one side. The thin window coverings let light in from the bright lights outside that remained on all night; we ended up using towels and blankets to cover the windows. The toilet was small, and wobbly to the point that we were afraid it would fall over if we didn't perch on it just right, and it was located in such a cramped space in the bathroom that you almost had to be a contortionist to use it. In fact, the whole cabin was cramped.

The electrical system was original, from the 1920's, I believe, and there warnings about using more than one appliance at a time (ie. no hair-dryer (if you brought one) and microwave simultaneously). Yes, there was a microwave, and a small fridge, but no TV, which was okay. The heater worked, but crackled and popped each time it turned off. There was a small window A/C unit which we didn't use. The floor, especially in the bathroom, was uneven and didn't feel solid. The shower head wouldn't aim higher than chest-level unless you were vertically-challenged. At least the water was hot. The towels were thin, small and rough. The front door had a large space at the bottom, and felt flimsy and unsecure, even when locked. All this for only $100 a night! My wife was of the opinion that the place should have been condemned as being unfit for habitation. "Rustic" is one thing, this was something else. Luckily, we didn't spend any time inside except for sleeping. Thank goodness the weather was nice enough to spend all day outside!

Good things:
- As stated, location; thirty minutes from Crater Lake, and a myriad of trails and waterfalls within 10 miles. The forest was beautiful.
- Fire-pits (rings of large rocks) outside, along with picnic tables. We took advantage of both.
- Fairly well-stocked little country store on the property.
- Decent small restaurant across the road.
- It made me appreciate my own home.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasMoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

I reviewed this beautiful property 2 years ago and thought it was time for an update. Sandy and Kent are in their third season as owners, and they combine vision with action in their approach to renewing the resort. Union Creek Resort consists of 23 cabins nestled in the woods, a lodge with more rooms upstairs, and a store, gift shop, rec room and sitting room downstairs; a great little cafe across the street called Beckies; (see separate review) and a fun little ice cream shop, all situated on 17 acres of forest service land. Reviewers who say the resort needs an update don't realize the challenge it is to run this property. Two agencies, the historical society and the forest service, barely allow the owners to breathe without permission, let alone make improvements. For instance, the historical society didn't even want to allow them to put up hanging baskets of flowers, or have a lawn out front. Kent and Sandy fortunatly located an old hisorical photo of the resort with a lawn, so they were finally granted permission to water so the front area could look nice again! The original owners of this resort certainly would have wanted needed updates and beautifications to continue through the years, but try telling that to the historical society! So after finally receiving certain permissions from the aforementioned agencies, and waiting intermittable lengths of time for permits to go through, the owners are finally able to proceed with some remodelling of the interiors of the cabins. It will take money and a few years to complete them all, but the first is ready now, and it is indeed gorgeus! Kent untilized tile showers in the bath, granite-look counters in the kitchen, new log furniture, and a cozy wood burning fireplace in this very attractive cabin. The cabins range from cute and tiny studios without kitchens (but they still come complete with fridges and micros) to large 3 bedroom, 2 bath former forest service homes. These are not cookie-cutter cabins- each is unique in floorplan and decor. The lodge rooms have very attractive shared baths- enough for everybody. The resort is rustic and charming. So if you like classy- remember this place is rustic. If you like shiny and new with reproduction antiques, remember this place is listed on the National Historic Registry. This place is for folks who appreciate the rustic charm of historic cabins in the woods. There is much to do in the area- Crater and Diamond Lakes are only 23 miles away. And right across the highway is the Rogue River Gorge, where you can walk along paved trails and watch the turbulence of the river as it is forced through the narrow gorge. And just a hop, skip and a jump down the highway, is the Natural Bridge, where you can take a nature walk along a path with interpretive signs explaining what you are seeing as the river disappears into an underground tunnel before reappearing again. Picnic area makes for a nice stop. After an active day af exploring, enjoy a meal at Beckies. (YUM!) It rained on our final day at the resort, but that in no way dampened our fun. (No pun intended!) After browsing the gift shop, we snuggled into the most cushy, comfy chairs in the sittingroom downstairs in the lodge, where waiting for you is complimentary coffee, lots of board games and shelves of books, as well as a pool table and foos ball in the next room. So while we listened to the rain pattering on the roof, my teens and I enjoyed Battleship and reading. None of us wanted to leave. So come and enjoy Sandy and Kents place, and Cheryls' hospitality at the front desk, where she can answer any questions and point you in the direction of a fun and relaxing trip! Check out their very attractive website at unioncreekoregon.com, where you can take virtual tours of all the cabins. I've also posted several pics of the resort, including a couple of the newly remodelled cabin. This is the best place in the world for recharging and detoxing from city life!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makelifefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
612 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

POSITIVES:
Creek and waterfall right outside (10 feet) the front door (Cabin #21). Beautiful walking trail along the creek. 1/2 hour to Crater Lake National Park, Beckies Cafe (across the street). Kitchen. Rustic experience.

ON THE DOWN SIDE:
Price ($130/night!). Unexplained large wet spot on carpet inside the front entry (we got really tired of changing socks after stepping on it!). Poor heating system, was way too hot in the bedroom and too cold in living area. Wasn't really clean inside cabin. Not too comfy bed or futon. Zero cell phone/internet reception... pay phone is available.

I will only recommend this cabin if you don't mind paying $130/night for a Motel 6 type room set in a beautiful forest near a STUNNING National Park. We won't be back though.

If you are on your way to Crater Lake NP from the west stop in at Beckies cafe for some very good food and yummy pies.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp4301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
15.3 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
51.2 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
11.1 mi away
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Creek Resort

Property: Union Creek Resort
Address: 56484 Ore. 62, Prospect, OR 97536
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a resort that hearkens back to a simpler era. We call it rustic comfort; similar to what you would find in the 1920s when it was first built, but now with modern conveniences and charm. You won’t find golf courses, spa services, or salons. But you will find a well-appointed, authentic lodge set amongst towering Douglas Firs in the Rogue River National Forest. It’s an ideal location to experience Oregon’s great outdoors in a simple, yet comfortably updated resort.All around is the smell of pine needles and the sounds of birds and rushing creek waters. The stunning natural setting includes distinctive Union Creek and the Wild & Scenic Rogue River, hiking trails amongst spectacular 700-year-old Douglas Firs in old growth forests, and nearby Crater Lake National Park – truly a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Union Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Creek Hotel Prospect

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing