We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay Food and Good Service”

Prospect Cafe & Trophy Room
Ranked #5 of 8 Restaurants in Prospect
Price range: US$9 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 75 year old historical American Cafe with a friendly and unique feeling. Specialty is local grass fed beef for hamburgers and meat pies. OPEN for SPRING/SUMMER/FALL of 2017!
Seaside, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Okay Food and Good Service”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The food was average but the service was good. The trophies are pretty amazing. Overall, the cafe had a very sad aura about it and the property is up for sale.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David O, Owner at Prospect Cafe & Trophy Room, responded to this review, 10 September 2016
Hi SuzC; well we bought the place and it is not sad anymore. Come back when you can!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
127 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Funny Old Biker Bar”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great selection of tap beers juke box loaded well waitress perfect AND animal heads galore. Fries cheap good and hot.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1goodcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Lost in Time Cafe”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This café is one of the few food places in Prospect. It serves old style pub food in the café while providing beers to thirsty travellers and local ranchers. High Cuisine it isn't, but the animal trophies on the walls are definitely worth a look, especially if you are not familiar with North American wildlife.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank portland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food, good people”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I just wish we had found Prospect Cafe sooner during our short stay in Prospect. The food and hospitality were excellent. Over the years I have grown tired of the vanilla offerings from national chains and finding an independent restaurant of such quality was a real treat. The hospitality in the Trophy Rooms on that Saturday night was second to non, with live music and friendly locals. I hope to visit again one day.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinTunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Southern Oregon Charm & Homemade Goodness!!!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

If you're looking for a rustic greasy spoon with full flavored home made goodness, then the Prospect Cafe is your best choice! This little town is small on the map, but big in their hearts! Bikers, Hunters, and Road Trippers all mingle with the locals in this delightfully charming yet raw cafe! I've been going to this restaurant since 1985, a couple of sweet little sisters used to cook & waitress there! Some days were real exciting when they had a disagreement about how to make the pie crust or mix up the rue for gravy, but always a great meal and good service!

Honest and practical. The food is dependent upon the cook of the day because they make everything from scratch (or at least they used to).

We were there in September 2012 (it had been 3 years since our previous visit). The food was as good as I remember and it's wonderful that I can now bring my kids there to share it!

The Trophy Room is the bar and I haven't been in there since 1986, but I recall it had pool tables and great drinks! There was a fun gang of bikers who stopped in for a quick bite while we were there... They ate in the Trophy Room and we ate in the Cafe' but that didn't stop them from sharing a photo op with us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MommaHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prospect Cafe & Trophy Room also viewed

Been to Prospect Cafe & Trophy Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing