We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and miss”

One Street Down Cafe
Ranked #5 of 135 Restaurants in Redmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Redmond, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

One Street Down could be terrific, but is only so-so. the main problem is consistency and quality control. I used to eat there frequently, but grew tired of the inconsistency. i always ordered one of three favorites. One time it would be great, the next time barely edible. same with service, sometimes great and sometimes nonexistent. their biggest draw is that there is no similar restaurant in town. Hopefully one will open soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alteridem2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    33
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“needs improvement”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The cafe is in a pleasantly renovated old house. Fresh flowers on the table are a nice touch. In summer, there is shady outside seating. My husband and I split breakfast, which they do in the kitchen with no additional charge which is a definite plus. For lunch, there is a good selection of beer. However, the service was very slow and worst of all, the food was cold. There were several servers, so lack of staff was not a problem. We have eaten there before with a better experience. I hope they were just having an "off" day."

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Soup, but work needed to improve”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Looking for a breakfast place for Sunday dining and this Cafe was open and busy. Service slow due to the crowd and noisy! Our waitress was friendly and did well. Crying baby did not help to ease the wait. Ordered he Harvest breakfast, which was good except the bacon which was beyond crisp. My pal odered the turkey vegetable soup and said it was good. Not sure when would be a good time to dine here, maybe summer when there is outside dining. Would enjoy a more relaxed and delicious experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtwotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Soup and sandwich....good.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Learned of One Street Down Cafe via Trip Advisor and stopped in for a quick lunch. What a cute place! We were greater immediately by the folks in the kitchen and found our own table to sit at. The rest of the service was only so-so - not the super friendly staff we've come to know in Central Oregon! Courteous but just not oozing with the Central Oregon happy-friendly we love about this part of the country. My cheese soup was okay, but I picked poorly with the Brie sandwich. Not good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Third Time the Charm?”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our third visit and brought along guests, as our first two visits were great. The place was extremely busy, but we found a table fairly quickly (it's a seat yourself situation). As I observed the controlled chaos, I was amazed had how cool and collected the staff seemed to be. It took awhile to acquire coffee, etc. Once we ordered, the food came out quickly. Everything was ok except the pancakes. I didn’t know a pancake could be black on the outside and uncooked on the inside. Mentioned this to the waitress and she remained unscathed. This seems to be a hit or miss place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FishyBendOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Street Down Cafe also viewed

Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to One Street Down Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing