We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flavor? What flavor???”

One Street Down Cafe
Ranked #7 of 135 Restaurants in Redmond
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Flavor? What flavor???”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Me, my wife, and child went in for breakfast after hearing so many positive things about this place. We were very dissatisfied with the food. I ordered the "Lumberjack Stack" (I think that was the name") and the pancakes were very mushy and battery in the middle. I let the waitress know and she only questioned my knowledge of food. She told me that since they were buttermilk pancakes, they are a bit soft. I know what a buttermilk pancake tastes and feels like; this was just an under-cooked batch of pancakes. She did not comp anything and brushed off my concern.

My wife ordered the banana french toast. Again, nothing special here. Lightly dusted in cinnamon and powdered sugar, fresh bananas, and whipped cream; I was expecting a sugar overload. Instead, it left me wanting more sweet. I returned to my own mushy pancakes and forced myself to choke it down, since after all, I was going to pay for it.

The coffee is bland and almost tasted like watered down dirt. Save your money and bring in a cup from McDonald's or even 7-11.

On a good note, the bacon is thick and delicious.

Overall, the food was just lackluster and I was not impressed AT ALL. It sure looked pretty, but when it hit my palate, I was searching long and hard for any flavor at all. The lady at the register was not very polite either... She had shoulder length brown hair and bright red lipstick (for those willing to give the place a try.) One Street Down has some potential, but it sure is not blossoming yet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CSBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    28
    16
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hit and miss”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

One Street Down could be terrific, but is only so-so. the main problem is consistency and quality control. I used to eat there frequently, but grew tired of the inconsistency. i always ordered one of three favorites. One time it would be great, the next time barely edible. same with service, sometimes great and sometimes nonexistent. their biggest draw is that there is no similar restaurant in town. Hopefully one will open soon.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alteridem2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redmond, Oregon
Level Contributor
82 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“needs improvement”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The cafe is in a pleasantly renovated old house. Fresh flowers on the table are a nice touch. In summer, there is shady outside seating. My husband and I split breakfast, which they do in the kitchen with no additional charge which is a definite plus. For lunch, there is a good selection of beer. However, the service was very slow and worst of all, the food was cold. There were several servers, so lack of staff was not a problem. We have eaten there before with a better experience. I hope they were just having an "off" day."

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Soup, but work needed to improve”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Looking for a breakfast place for Sunday dining and this Cafe was open and busy. Service slow due to the crowd and noisy! Our waitress was friendly and did well. Crying baby did not help to ease the wait. Ordered he Harvest breakfast, which was good except the bacon which was beyond crisp. My pal odered the turkey vegetable soup and said it was good. Not sure when would be a good time to dine here, maybe summer when there is outside dining. Would enjoy a more relaxed and delicious experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingtwotoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
398 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Soup and sandwich....good.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Learned of One Street Down Cafe via Trip Advisor and stopped in for a quick lunch. What a cute place! We were greater immediately by the folks in the kitchen and found our own table to sit at. The rest of the service was only so-so - not the super friendly staff we've come to know in Central Oregon! Courteous but just not oozing with the Central Oregon happy-friendly we love about this part of the country. My cheese soup was okay, but I picked poorly with the Brie sandwich. Not good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank BlueEyeTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Street Down Cafe also viewed

Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 
Redmond, Central Oregon
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to One Street Down Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing