We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smith Rock really rocks!”

Smith Rock State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$685.00*
and up
Crater Lake 3-Day Tour from Portland
Ranked #1 of 26 things to do in Redmond
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Smith Rock really rocks!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

What a beautiful park and lots of great trails from easy to moderate. Saw several folks rock climbing and even someone walking a tight rope across two peaks. Very enjoyable and lots of opportunities for some great picture taking. We are from Colorado Springs and it reminded us a lot of the Garden of the Gods Park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DALA57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    95
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“WE LOVE SMITH ROCK”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Smith Rock is great, whether you want to spend 15 minutes there, sitting in your car looking at the beauty, or if you want to spend all day hiking! The park is fairly safe, there obviously are steep cliffs and loose gravel, and a river at the bottom, but there are fences and wide trails. Great Photo Ops any time of year!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jenllewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Geological Wonder with Brave Rock Climbers”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

According to the Visitor Center, people have been climbing the steep cliffs of Smith Rock since 1935. It appears that much of modern rock climbing technology has been developed at Smith Rock, and people come from all over the world to scale the various cliffs. We were fascinated to see the climbers. The visitor center also has a great video about Bald Eagles that shows the weekly progression of the chicks after hatching.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 367Jerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great. Views and lots of hiking, check out the monkey face rock”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This is a great park to hike at so many trails and climbing and just a great park to be at. Bathroom facilities are available and bring your water bottles there is even palace to keep filling up your supply. Great picnic area and just the quiet and relaxing area to be at. No stress and plenty of bird watching also. Will come back someday to this area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wisconsin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, OR
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Place”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My husband and I spent a little time there this last weekend. We walked along the river but didn't have much time so we didn't get to go as far as we would've liked. We're looking forward to returning next year. It's just beautiful there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmartin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smith Rock State Park also viewed

 
Redmond, Central Oregon
 

Been to Smith Rock State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing