We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Surfside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surfside Resort
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great location!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Its in a great location. Easy beach access and very friendly employees! The indoor pool is decent. Be nicer if they had a hot tub. Rooms need updated! A little expensive for the over quality of the room but not horrible. Over all its a decent hotel with amazing views!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malia0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    330
    93
    31
    35
See reviews for
316
287
55
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My boyfriend and I went for the weekend to stay here. It was $99 a night for a basic sleeper room which included a bed, tv, and bathroom/shower area which was a non oceanview room. We were also able to bring our husky mix because they allow dogs in certain rooms and that was a ten dollar a night extra charge. They were very friendly, the property was clean, and it was right on the beach. We feel like the value we got for what we paid was excellent. The only suggestion I would make for the hotel is to have a mini fridge in the the sleeper rooms or offer a small breakfast because we had to pack a cooler just to pack a couple sandwiches and milk.

Room Tip: If you don't care about having an ocean view and want to pay a little less then choose the regul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014

A great place to stay. Staff is friendly and helpful. Stayed in the 2 room, kitchen with partial ocean view. It was just beautiful. Would highly recommend. Clean and comfortable. Had a fire on the beach! So fun!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The room was spacious, clean and we loved having a small kitchen in the unit. There are usually no more than 10 people on the beach out front at one time, which was a nice change from beaches in urban areas. We will stay here next time we travel to Rockaway.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IllCatchDaShawwk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eatonville, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

We just stayed here for two nights and it was wonderful! The staff was very friendly. The rooms were great with a fully stocked kitchen, gas fireplace, bed in main area with tv, plus a bedroom with its own tv. The beds were comfortable and the bedding was nice. We were fortunate enough to have an oceanfront room! The bathroom/appliances/room is very dated, however, everything was very clean and eveRything functions as its supposed to and for the fantastic price of having an ocean front room, I can overlook the out dated things in the room. I will also say that eventhough the shower is outdated, the water pressure is great and is one of the best showers you will have:-)! One other minor thing I didn't like is that you still enter using an old key. There is a deadbolt that locks while you're in the room, but the key doesn't work for it when you're not in the room so it's just tbe doorknob that's locked. ThEre's also a pool on site which was great! We took advantage of this amenity both nights:-). It seemed to be very clean as well. The only thing I would add here is more chairs. There were only 4 in there and at times there were more than 10 people in the pool area. Overall this place was wonderful and we would definitely stay here again:-)!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nic080373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spur-of-the-moment overnight stay with our two small dogs--it turned out to be a lucky find. Older property seems quite well maintained with some evidently recent updates. Like the updated carpet in our huge, pet-friendly, second-level king suite. The kitchenette and both bathrooms' fixtures (sinks, toilets, etc.), weren't chipped, stained, or rusted like some older oceanfront motels. Staff was friendly and everything went smoothly. Close, easy access to the smooth, uncluttered and uncrowded beach--even though the facility was full that night. Our dogs kept us on the run so we never figured out the TV controls. If your dogs need to be carried up stairs, ask for a first floor room in Building E to maximize use of the ramp from the parking lot to the first floor.

Room Tip: If your dogs need to be carried up stairs, ask for a first floor room in Building E to maximize use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here for two nights in August. First of all, you cannot beat the location. The beach is just steps away and we enjoyed hearing the waves all night. We had a family suite so my son had the bed in the front and my husband and I had the bedroom. The bedroom overlooks the parking lot and is on the walkway that leads to the other rooms. For two nights, we had to listen to late arriving guests dragging their luggage up the stairs (at 11:30!), people talking loudly out in the parking lot and cars revving their engines. Also, the walls are pretty thin so we heard a lot of what was going on in the room next store. And a bonus was that room had smokers so we couldn't enjoy the deck that much because of the smoke. The room itself was okay but it was clean. I don't think we'll be staying here again just because of the noise issue.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBinSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.9 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
16.9 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,940 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#4 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Resort

Property: Surfside Resort
Address: 101 NW 11th Ave, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9525 (Formerly Surfside Motel)
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfside Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a beautiful oceanfront view, heated pool, gas fireplace, and balcony as well as a a variety of accommodations to meet your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Motel Rockaway Beach
Surfside Resort Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing