We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly view”
Review of Tradewinds Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tradewinds Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Heavenly view”
Reviewed 30 July 2012 via mobile

This is a nice, clean if dated motel with large rooms some with fireplaces.  There is a nicely equipped kitchen if you would like to stay over a long weekend.  There are also grills to use.  But the standout amenity is the view, right on the beach with awesome sunsets!  And going to sleep with the surf in your ears.  Heaven.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jdana130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    31
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
27
56
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2012

I enjoyed my short stay at this hotel. Friendly staff, awesome views, right on a gorgeous sand beach, away from the busiest part of the beach and town, large and comfortable room. Not a luxury motel, but comfortable. More like a true old-style cottage.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are not walkout but have the oceanside rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockaway Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The sunsets were wonderful on the outside decks. the owner very gracious. Rooms are very nice. I highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sugar-143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My husband and I used to bring our daughters here when they were little back in the 1980's and 1990's. It isn't like a city hotel so if you are expecting that kind of luxury you wouldn't be happy but it is a nice beachy place to come to. This hotel is always clean and a good home base for your little day trips. We were shocked to see how far the beach had eroded away. The beach is so close now. Love the beach in Rockaway. It is quiet and clean. I agree that we should keep Rockaway and Tradewinds a secret. The manager was great to work with. We would come here again.

Room Tip: If you want to walk out to the beach get a lower level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OneCentF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The Tradewinds is the best--great location, friendly manager & staff, always kind & considerate, always on top of things. The rooms are comfortable, quiet & very clean, the oceanfront ones have spectacular views. The Tradewinds is a treasured get-away that I wish all prosperity & hope there's always a room for me & my.

Room Tip: it's a secret, but ask Neil
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Helens Or
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The motel is on a nice beach. We have been there many times. Neil Patel and his family are great hosts. We will be back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillamook, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My family and I have been staying at Tradewinds Motel for years, and we absolutely love it. It has always been clean, peaceful and the staff has always been very kind and helpful. Not once have we been treated rude or experienced anything but the best service. I read on one of the reviews about there being roaches, bed bugs and rude staff this is absolutley rediculous. Shame on you, while I myself and obviously others that have stayed at Tradewinds they have had a great experience and if you do chose to stay at Tradewinds Motel again maybe you should contact managment with any issues and hopefully they can address the problems. So with that said my famiy and I have been very pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and kindness of their staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoastGirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway Beach
4.3 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
17.5 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
17.9 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surfside Resort
Surfside Resort
#1 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
Silver Sands Oceanfront Motel
#3 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Haven Motel
Sea Haven Motel
#2 of 8 in Rockaway Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Motel

Property: Tradewinds Motel
Address: 523 N Pacific St, Rockaway Beach, OR 97136-9923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Rockaway Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rockaway Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tradewinds Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tradewinds Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Hotel Rockaway Beach
Tradewinds Motel Rockaway Beach, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing